We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, large rooms, great stay.”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #103 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I bid on price line and got this hotel. What a gem! The room they gave me was HUUUUUGE and comfortable. The decor was a little outdated but I loved that about this hotel. It had a little bit of a throwback feel. The bar served great virgin fresh squeezed drinks and I imagine great non-virgin drinks. The location could not be beaten. I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spyro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is centrally located and has some interesting views but there is so much wrong with this place that we would never come back.
We booked a room with a double bed and we got a room with two twin beds. The bathroom sink would not drain. The toilet water ran constantly. Moulding coming off the wall in the stuffy little room and to add insult to injury they expect you to pay for Wi-Fi in you room. What a joke!
Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Enjoyed five nights here in January 2014. Clean spacious room , easy to find and happy staff. Breakfast very well organised with plenty of staff and readily refilled. Room cleaned daily. Heating in room excellent with everything you could need for a few days away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I and two friends stayed at this hotel for the new year, it really is a nice Hotel.
We had a room at the front of the Hotel, and it was noisey from the traffic, also the beds are very hard. The staff were very helpful. It was close to a lot of restaurants,
which had staff outside trying to get us in, they nearly all had the same menu, but the prices were varied. We hired a car for a few days as it was mostly raining, the hotel had there own
facility for car hire, we did not use it because it was too expensive,but the good thing was
you can still park for free in the hotels underground car park who ever you hire a car from. We had our car from a shop just
past the central station and the Funicular rail car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We took a winter break and booked this 4 star hotel because of its central location. The rooms are clean, but a bit small. The rooftop bar is excellent and breakfast offers a great choice. The price was good and it was easy for getting to attractions, restuarants etc, The door staff and concierge people are not very proactive but overall I would be happy to recommend to others

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this hotel because we needed a nice place to stay near the airport the night before our very early return flight to the U.S. They advertise themselves to be "4 stars." What a lie! The room was actually more of a 1 star. They gave us twin beds when we booked a queen room. The only solution they offered was to push the beds together. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and their version of a pillow was a small, 2 in thick piece of foam. The room was very stuffy, and management's solution was "open the window." No air conditioning was available, and the city noise from the open window made sleep nearly impossible. When we requested ice from room service, they brought a small bag of ice, with nothing to hold it.
On the other hand, the lounge area/bar was very nice, and the staff were friendly and service very good.
They also had a surprisingly formal restaurant on the 8th floor with a great view. The food was good, but both our entrees were terribly over-salted.

Room Tip: Don't expect a good night's sleep here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene02_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

OK hotel for short stay. We had rooms with a fantastic view of the castle. Central location adds to attractiveness, but it was hard to find when coming up from the metro. Seems understaffed. Happy to recommend the top floor restaurant, the veal melts in your mouth!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 255 in Lisbon
990 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing