We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ok hotel”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #104 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spend 3 nights in this nice hotel but were slightly disappointed with the 2nd floor room that was stinky and dated and swapped to non smoking on the 6th floor overlooking the square, helpful staff and generally a good experience. Perfect location and walking distance from shops, Belem and major sights. Nice summer terrace on the 9th floor what a shame was closed some perfect evening to enjoy the sunset. Restaurant veranda overlooking the night city is good but not the greatest

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lena812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 3,576 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Central location, near the underground. Breakfast OK. free wi-fi only in the lobby. some rooms are far-far away from the elevator and it may take 3-4 minutes to get to your room. Unfortunately not everybody from the Hotel staff speaks English

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here feb 2014. The hotel was fine, best thing was the location: close to everything, Alfama with the castel just to the left, and two metros (Rossio and Maxim something) 2 min. walk away.
We had to change rooms two times while here, but the staff was fine about it, and even gave us some complimentary water and fruit for the trouble :-) First time we changed was our own fault since we forgot to write in advance and request a doublebed, and not two singles. Second time the reason was a broken window, and a very hot night to follow.
The included breakfast is just fine - realtively wide variety, but as my knowledge of southern european food goes this too is quite suckery and fat (I prefer wholewheat foods and more healthy breakfast). But what the heck, we were on vacation :-)
The personel is fine, but busy/formal, so dont try small talk with them.
We were happy with our stay, and I would say that this hotel is above medium and just fine as a base for exploring Lisbon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mmiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Well-appointed modern hotel in a good central Baixa position in town. Comfortable, well-kept room, with firm beds (not to everyone's taste), but an unfathomable and uncooperative air conditioning control (with no instructions) that seemed always to blow out freezing air, until the hotel sent someone to set it. Bar comfy, with nibbles, and free wifi (otherwise +Euros 15 for 2 days' connection in your room). Staff usually polite and helpful, like most Portuguese, except for Buster Keaton on reception ... probably the Sales Prevention Officer. Didn't use the restaurant, but well rated in Trip Advisor. And LISBON'S A DELIGHTFUL CITY!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I bid on price line and got this hotel. What a gem! The room they gave me was HUUUUUGE and comfortable. The decor was a little outdated but I loved that about this hotel. It had a little bit of a throwback feel. The bar served great virgin fresh squeezed drinks and I imagine great non-virgin drinks. The location could not be beaten. I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spyro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is centrally located and has some interesting views but there is so much wrong with this place that we would never come back.
We booked a room with a double bed and we got a room with two twin beds. The bathroom sink would not drain. The toilet water ran constantly. Moulding coming off the wall in the stuffy little room and to add insult to injury they expect you to pay for Wi-Fi in you room. What a joke!
Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Enjoyed five nights here in January 2014. Clean spacious room , easy to find and happy staff. Breakfast very well organised with plenty of staff and readily refilled. Room cleaned daily. Heating in room excellent with everything you could need for a few days away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
1,003 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,634 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 255 in Lisbon
1,491 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#64 of 255 in Lisbon
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#81 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing