We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I have ever stayed”
Review of ZUZA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ZUZA Guest House
Ranked #13 of 251 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked this guesthouse because the friend I was travelling with had stayed in the Zuza apartments in Lisbon the previous year. Overall I think this guesthouse is one of the best places I have ever stayed, and it is excellent value for money.

The location could not be better, because it is right in the heart of the city, and in the Barrio Alto area by all of the great bars and restaurants. The staff here are great and make sure they get to know you personally and would do anything for you. The breakfast was also amazing, with everything from cereal to yoghurts to cakes to toast to cheese... there was too much! Our room was lovely and extremely clean. There was also a great little kitchen and lovely dining room.

Overall I would not think twice about booking this place again. Thanks Louis!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    86
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
191
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After a week in the Alentejo countryside, we arrived at Zuza for the last segment of our Portugal visit. The inn is on a nice winding, cobblestoned block in the heart of the old city. We stayed on the ground floor which is a railroad apartment. Our bed was very comfortable. Our 11 year old daughter slept on the pull-out couch. The apartment was well equipped with a small kitchen, a dining area and nice bathroom. Plenty of room to stretch out.
João and the staff were extremely helpful in every way. Each morning we would enjoy a delicious breakfast upstairs in the main inn and afterwards discuss our plans for the day. They offered great tips that gave us more than enough to do each day.
The only small drawback to staying in the ground floor apartment in the middle of Summer on a weekend, is the noise from the restaurant across the street. There will be lots of people in front of the apartment door late into the evening. Definitely not a deal breaker for staying in this great place, especially if you're out late anyway, but may be a consideration for a family with small kids.
Overall, highly recommended. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked this guesthouse based on Tripadvisor reviews and it was a good decision. All staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure I was having a good time. Breakfast was excellent with fruit, bread, eggs to your liking, coffee/tea, cheese and ham etc. all served at the table. The breakfast room was a good opportunity to meet other guests too. The only negative thing I have to say is that there was no AC only a dysfunctional fan in the room. It was difficult to sleep at night as there was a lot of noise from the restaurants next door and opening windows meant noise. The room is quite small but does the job. There is a common area with a tv etc so you wouldn't spent much time in your own room anyway. Wifi works well, and there is a small laptop for guests also. It has many restaurants in a walking distance and going out at night is easy. Overall, apart from the AC issue, the friendly staff and the breakfast are the reason I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from the street- the restaurants facing the guesthouse gets noisy till 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownUnderUpOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It's rare to find such a nice little place in an area so close to everything and for such a good price. It's very cozy and clean to the highest standard. The staff are amazing and will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. Lots of laughing and joking to be had also. I'd recommend this place to anyone and I'll definitely be staying again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Zuza guesthouse is an adorable 3 story Lisbonian apartment in one of the best areas in the center of the city. As you step inside the building your eyes indulge in the beauty of the Portuguese tiles and the fun and whimsical decoration of the entire place tickles your soul. And this is not the end as you walk around the building you will find that cutest coffee table book, picture frame and accessories that you just can’t get enough of watching them.
Besides its appealing appearance, the nicest and most helpful staff runs this adorable guesthouse. Lovely Joao and Ze gave us the best insider tips that a tourist can ever ask for and they really helped us experience an authentic Lisbonian experience in our short stay in that city.
Zuza guesthouse is absolutely clean and comfortable. The washrooms are shared but they are cleaned over and over again everyday. Although we did not have an air conditioning system in our room, Zuza people were so nice that they immediately provided us with portable fans. Zuza guesthouse is absolutely safe and each room has its own safe box.
On top of everything else, the breakfast was fresh and tasty and it was served with Zuza team’s jubilant attitude.
Lastly, Zuza lodging is the best place for travelers who are looking for a cheerful and comfortable setting while staying on their budget. Zuzaaaaaaaa’s all the way

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a great time in Lisbon, and Luis and his staff were a big part of that. They were so helpful and our stay at the guesthouse was extremely comfortable. It's a perfect location for exploring Lisbon. We would no doubt stay there again and highly recommend Zuzabed to anyone traveling to Portugal! P.S. the guesthouse breakfast is really good, especially the eggs :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthandChrisNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This guesthouse is a gem set in the most desirable location of Lisbon. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. They provide a stellar breakfast and make sure the place is always clean. We felt very safe at Zuza Guesthouse. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elluhrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 251 in Lisbon
974 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
801 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 470 in Lisbon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZUZA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZUZA Guest House

Property: ZUZA Guest House
Address: Rua do Duque 41 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home ideally located in the heart of Lisbon city-center. Perfect for your budget holidays with ZUZA quality hospitality. Let us introduce you our charming city we love so much. Welcome to ZUZA GUEST HOUSE. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing