We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Different"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Ranked #89 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“"Different"”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location which is fabulous. The decor however is very avant garde. We stayed on the 5th floor where the walls are all painted black. Our room was also very dark, which takes a bit getting use to. Aside from the decorating, little things such as tissues were missing from our room. This may seem trite, but not when one of you has a cold! We also noticed a foul odor in the hallway which never went away. It was always there, morning through late at night.
The hotel restaurant was fair. We ate 2-3 meals there and finally decided to walk across the street to the Sofitel Hotel when the food was 10x better and had a more interesting bar. Next time in Lisbon, we'll stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    238
    93
    34
    21
See reviews for
101
291
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Luv it, luv it - perfect location, near luxury shops & very good restaurants. The Fontecruz Lisboa is a beautiful design hotel with good rooms & amazing staff. This visit was all business, but can't wait to visit again and enjoy the sights of Lisbon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Catt720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

All in all, the hotel is "good" to "very good," in all categories.
Which means it wasn't "excellent" in any.

Room - on a smaller side, even with an upgrade. I understand standard rooms are even smaller.
Not tiny, especially by European standards, but deluxe rooms in 5-stars are typically bigger and better appointed.

Breakfast - OK, not too much variety. Again, no one went hungry...but I'd expect more.

Front desk staff very helpful, but very overworked.

But the value was good. I think we paid around $150/nt - plus the Marriott Gold upgrades, so we definitely got our money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This trip was the first time for using Marriott Autograph Collection (here and Santiago de Compostella, Spain) so weren't quite sure what to expect. We arrived a bit early and told room was not ready, but that we had been assigned "an interesting room". It was indeed - the room was pretty much all white with a separate sitting area from the bedroom, so it was quite spacious. All seemed quite new - bathroom well appointed with fancy toiletries. The hotel is very contemporary and trendy, located right on Liberdade within walking distance of many sights, Alfama, Baixa, riverfront, etc. Our room was located in the back building, away from Liberdade - there is a lovely cocktail/dining courtyard between the main front building and the back one - very pleasant for a relaxing drink.

All in all, it's a hard hotel to adequately describe as it is an unusual design, but we did enjoy the stay. A full buffet breakfast was provided. Front desk staff was quite helpful in directions and advice. Plus they made arrangements for cab back to airport at 15 euros and included that on our room bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only stayed for one night but were so impressed by the front desk service, especially Claudia. You didn't have to ask for anything, it was offered - maps, directions, printing of boarding passes. Rooms were spacious and updated. And it is in a great location for walking

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The design was second to none, the staff friendly, food great - but most of all, I loved the design of the hotel and the rooms. So creative! I'd definitely stay here again. Be sure to have a meal (besides breakfast) in the hotel restaurant - the food is top class. The only thing that was a bit annoying was that there was no hot water cooker in the room. So, you had to go down to the restaurant every time you wanted a cup of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

All agree that the location is superb, the breakfast is great, the beds are great and the rooms and lobby are trendy. But I think that this hotel needs to upgrade its housekeeping staff and perhaps its front desk. All were pleasant, to be sure. But there was uncertainty whether we were Marriott Gold or not, there were difficulties in obtaining additional tissues, there was confusion about whether we had reserved a car for a sintra tour for thursday or for saturday, some days we had a floor mat for the bath and some days we did not, all of which would not happen in a first rate hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 886886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection

Property: Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 138 142, Lisbon 1250-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection is a luxury boutique hotel in Lisbon, in the city center, offering a premier location on Avenida da Liberdade. Our hotel is one of the top luxury hotels in Lisbon, Portugal featuring 72 beautiful rooms and suites decorated in a fashionable and chic style. Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection boasts an open lounge terrace offering panoramic views of Lisbon's city center, as well as a chill atmosphere for relaxing and socializing. Our hotel restaurant takes pride in its modern, light, and fresh cuisine, and in its Gin Tonics. Come stay with us in Lisbon, Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing