We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, warm staff, could use some design improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Ranked #82 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, warm staff, could use some design improvements”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this hotel on the fly at the airport after other arrangements fell through, based solely on price and the Marriott name, given that we had done absolutely no previous research about hotels or Lisbon more generally. We are so lucky we wound up here! As a tourist, one could not ask for a better location -- you are in walking distance to several great areas and multiple transportation options. While the hotel design is trendy and modern, the young, enthusiastic staff was also extremely gracious and kind to my elderly father, who is a bit of a nervous traveler.

If you like a large and leisurely breakfast at your hotel, opt for the bed and breakfast rate when you book -- on the Marriott site, this was approximately 12 euros (possbily per person), whereas the same buffet, or really anything more than toast and coffee a la carte, is going to be 18 euros on site. The tasty buffet included several warm dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc.), breads, cheese and cold cuts; a large selection of fresh fruit; warm pastries; yogurt; cereal, plus coffee/tea/selection of juices. I thought 12 euros was a fair price for the amount of food; however, if you are more of a "grab a croissant on the run" person, there are some other options nearby, just ask at the front desk.

The one unfortunate thing about the hotel is that the interior design team paid much more attention to looks than function in the rooms where we stayed. If you have reached an age where the phrase "good lighting" means something to you, you may wish to think twice, particularly if you plan to do anything more than sleep in your room. There was a lovely arm chair and ottoman that would have been lovely for reading, except that the room was dark and there was not a single lamp in the entire room at the right height or brightness for reading. And even if you don't need a reading light because you read from a laptop or tablet, it's hard to find an outlet to recharge your devices that will work without the nearby lamps being turned on. Similarly, the sleek shower stall had no shelf or ledge where one could put shampoo, etc.

These are all admittedly small, but also relatively basic problems that could be fixed with a couple of small tweaks. I'd be more inclined to overlook them in an older property, but in a newly renovated property like this, it conveys the impression that the property owners are more concerned with looks than guest comfort. They are the only thing keeping me from giving this hotel a five-star recommendation and from automatically booking it for a return visit; instead, I will shop around first to see what I can find in the same neighborhood at a similar price point.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank limoncello07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    246
    98
    34
    21
See reviews for
107
309
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiberias, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

On every corner of the hotel, you can find something surprising and incredible.
The attention to detail at the hotel is Phenomenal. for those of you who think outside of the box, this is the place in Lisbon.
Location is fantastic, on the main avenue, right in the city center.

Room Tip: One white building rooms tend to have view of local neighborhood, which is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ofir_yo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I really liked this place! It's very W-esque: modern/alternative (perhaps too much so for some people), comfortable, great location, and caters to the more savvy travelers (including free and functional wifi - YAY!). The staff speaks good English, and I would definitely stay here next time we visit Lisbon. Do note though: the rooms are DARK: almost entirely black and grey. We really liked it, but it won't be to everyone's taste. There was a chest of toiletries in the bathroom with a reasonable selection (no conditioner), robes, etc, and it fit nicely with the modern vibe of the place.

Couple of minor points on the execution. We got upgraded to a room with a balcony and a "king bed". The balcony was the biggest I've ever seen but was really just dead space, with not much of a view (not that I'm complaining, but I feel Marriott is missing an opportunity here to have some really chic rooms with personal plunge pools or hot tubs, etc). The "king bed" was two twins pushed together, but was otherwise very comfortable. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest I've ever seen (shower screen and sink splash-back could have done with a scrub - and this was really quite poor for a Marriott), and the sheets weren't changed (we accidentally spilled a little bit of wine on the top sheet so it was obvious that it was the same). Glasses weren't replaced from the mini-bar, though when we called they were promptly sent up.

All that said, I really like the direction the Marriott is trying to go with this hotel and hope they carry this modernisation on with other properties. Great concept, great value, but the execution needs just a little bit of work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the Avenida Da Liberdade and close to some exclusive shops, this hotel is well placed for a City break or business trip. The hotel is modern and chic and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The ambient lighting and alluring decor gives a nightclub feel to your stay which could easily bring out your dark side. The staff are extremely friendly and there is a nice outside patio area to enjoy a drink from the bar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel and staff - thanks to them, our room was upgraded without asking for it! Rooms are clean and has a very modern styling. Breakfast was awesome...great spread of eggs, fruits, cold cut meat, and bread. Hotel is very well located - step away from subway and few minutes from most tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staff is a bit stuffy.The food in the restaurant is just poorly prepared. The coffee maker brought out for breakfast is quirky and temperamental. ( The wait staff does not serve the am coffee)
The decor is right on for a kind of art deco/ minimalist modern look. The Black Rooms are nicer than the White Rooms. Comfortable. Bathrooms were cheaply done with shaky faucets and shower stalls that overflowed. Light over sink was burnt out. Was there 4 days and they did not repair it despite a few calls to the front desk. The location is good. The price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a Black Room on one the higher floors with a view out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyagerFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. It is dark, lots of black and white and red. Very modern. The staff are great. Friendly helpful and informative. The bartender loved to talk about different wines, beer and liquors from Portugal. The room was quiet,cool and conducive to sleeping. It is within walking distance of most attractions. The real surprise was the food. Generally hotel food is mediocre. The chef here does a great job. Food is excellent and beautifully presented. I plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 248 in Lisbon
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#52 of 248 in Lisbon
2,602 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
850 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection

Property: Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 138 142, Lisbon 1250-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection is a luxury boutique hotel in Lisbon, in the city center, offering a premier location on Avenida da Liberdade. Our hotel is one of the top luxury hotels in Lisbon, Portugal featuring 72 beautiful rooms and suites decorated in a fashionable and chic style. Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection boasts an open lounge terrace offering panoramic views of Lisbon's city center, as well as a chill atmosphere for relaxing and socializing. Our hotel restaurant takes pride in its modern, light, and fresh cuisine, and in its Gin Tonics. Come stay with us in Lisbon, Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing