We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn on the air-conditioning - this is NOT a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Ranked #79 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My work took me on a quick turn around to Lisbon, Portugal for two nights. As usual, I looked up a Marriott property as I am a lifetime Platinum and they are always dependable and easy to maneuver, even in an other country. The Fontecruz Autograph Collection hotel came up as a Marriott property.

I was pleasantly surprised at the boutique feel of the place, great location and nice service but they have a rule from the "big man" (I assume general manager) that the air conditioning cannot be below 20 degrees Celsius. On a humid summer day that is not cool and I spend two nights sweating with no way to sleep. I tried opening the windows but there was a concert going on with a huge market and the noise was worse than the heat.

As a very frequent traveler, something as routine as a nice cool room is not to much to ask for. I really hate when hotels do things and say it is for the environment when it is for cash savings for them. There are many other things a hotel can do to go green without jeopardizing the comfort of the guests.

This hotel in no way lives up to the Marriott standards and I would never return unless they put new standards in place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganjimMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina V, General Manager at Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good day dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection®.

You indicated in your response that your stay at Hotel Fontecruz Autograph Collection was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your,or our own, expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
CRISTINA VALVERDE
General Manager
Fontecruz Autograph Collection
cvalverde@fontecruzlisboa.com
00 351 21 041 00 00

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We looked forward to staying at this hotel in downtown Lisbon, but our initial reception was very troubled, and contradicted many of the reports we had read about hotel services. Because I am a regular business client of the Marriott, which partners with this hotel, I was surprised. We drove into LIsbon in early morning during heavy traffic and were told by the desk clerk there was no valet service and we would be heavily fined if we left our car in front of the hotel. Fortunately, the hotel does have a parking garage on a street near the hotel, which we found, and where we parked our car for the duration of our stay in Lisbon. We asked about laundry service, which we also read about in a positive review of the hotel, but none existed except for the expensive drycleaning service routinely offered by hotels. The Marriott often offers laundry rooms in both its hotels and courtyards--so this was a disappointment. We were too early for our room, so ended up leaving our luggage at the front desk and walking about Lisbon for almost three hours. As it turned out, the tendency of the front desk staff to respond negatively to requests for service seemed limited to one clerk, and only for the day we checked in. There were several other staff who helped us with our luggage, welcomed us to the free and expansive breakfast buffet each morning, chatted with us about living in Lisbon while serving drinks at the hotel bar, and helped us secure tickets to a fado club. While the hotel lobby decor did not work for me, the rooms were pristine and comfortable. But with the many choices of excellent hotels in a city the size of Lisbon, I doubt whether we will ever stay at the Fontecruz again because of the cold service that made our first trip to Lisbon begin on a negative note.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms overlook a public outdoor area for hotel guests, who can be quite noisey at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina V, General Manager at Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Janet C

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection®.

You indicated in your response that your stay at Hotel Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
CRISTINA VALVERDE
General Manager
Fontecruz Autograph Collection
cvalverde@fontecruzlisboa.com
00 351 21 041 00 00

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is very eclectic! The decor is very modern - our room was all white with a black bathroom. It was comfortable. The location is very convenient for exploring Lisbon. The staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a good selection of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationLover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is very well located, the staff was very helpful and friendly, however when you walk in the first time you are shocked and overwhelmed by the domminating black colour that controls the hotel.
We came late night and it is not a warm welcome to say the least.....
The black room made me want to walk out instantly! The designer does not understand anything about the human needs or had a very bad childhood.....
Design is made for people but in this hotel it seems that the hotel is made for the designer......
Its too bad because evrything else was satisfying.
The other morning they showed us a white room in the back annex. The room itself has all the needed amneties. I will probably add lightings and a dimmer if sombody wants it darker. The window to the main green anenue is almost everything but again sombody misplaced the causy armchair to face the black wall instead of the french-style window.
The breakfast is excellent and as said the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: rooms number 01-08 are facing the avenue; rooms 12-14 are facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A hotel trying to have a funky and interesting decor, but failing. The lobby, restaurant and half the hotel are painted black, meaning that everything is dark and weird (also loud,not connected necessarily to the paint scheme, but true nevertheless). The rooms in the black half are depressing and poorly lit . The white part of the hotel is OK, but you need to pass through the dark part to get there. Did the designers do their market homework before coming up with this concept? It didn't work for us. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: ask to be in the white part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina V, General Manager at Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Steg B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection®.

You indicated in your response that your stay at Hotel Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
CRISTINA VALVERDE
General Manager
Fontecruz Autograph Collection
cvalverde@fontecruzlisboa.com
00 351 21 041 00 00

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location for restaurants, shopping, metro station and tour bus stops. Convenient valet parking. The rooms are spacious and very deco in design. We had a great view of the boulevard. Breakfast buffet was good. The staff was incredible and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stilaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a short weekend stay in Lisbon in a rush without doing too much research and I have to say it was a very good suprise. The room was very spacious, very clean and the bed was large and confortable. Bathroom was large and clean as well. Breakfast was diversified as one can expect.
The hotel is well located, just 3 minutes walk to the historical center of Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolasRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,271 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 138 - 142, Lisbon 1250-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £126 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection is a luxury boutique hotel in Lisbon, in the city center, offering a premier location on Avenida da Liberdade. Our hotel is one of the top luxury hotels in Lisbon, Portugal featuring 72 beautiful rooms and suites decorated in a fashionable and chic style. Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection boasts an open lounge terrace offering panoramic views of Lisbon's city center, as well as a chill atmosphere for relaxing and socializing. Our hotel restaurant takes pride in its modern, light, and fresh cuisine, and in its Gin Tonics. Come stay with us in Lisbon, Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing