We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Ranked #92 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Highland, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a very nice place. The decor is very dark but tasteful. The staff is outstanding especially Chia. My wallet had fallen out of my pocket while sitting on a coach in the bar. She found it and had it put in a safe place. It could have been a horrible moment if not for her honesty. The front desk staff were always pleasant. The only issue was when we checked in. We were told the breakfast was 10 euros each. When I went down and ate, was charged 20 euros for just mine.

The location is awesome. The street outside is tree lined and just really nice.

Room Tip: We were orginally set to be in a room with double beds but had called a couple days earlier to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MichiganMark1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    239
    93
    34
    21
See reviews for
101
292
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My husband always stays in Marriott properties. We knew the hotel was eclectic, but this is to much. It's not horrible. It just lacks a lot. So dark, all halls are black, no clocks in room,only 1 tv channel, 1 towel when we arrived,4 hangers & no dresser, no storage, no do not disturb sign,and more. So glad we don't have kids with us. The lobby decor would lead to a lot of questions. Staff not very friendly or helpful. If you are expecting Marriott quality this isn't it. It does have a great location if you need something downtown.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina V, General Manager at Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Madam ,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your aopinion and experience with the Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection®.

You indicated in your response that, your stay at The Fontecruz Autograph Collection, was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own, expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
CRISTINA VALVERDE
General Manager
Fontecruz Autograph Collection
cvalverde@fontecruzlisboa.com
00 351 21 041 00 00
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have just returned from 3 nights here and apart from the location I don't have too many positive things to say. It seems that by being a boutique (cool & trendy) hotel you don't have to worry about service. Apart from the receptionist who checked us in we found the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful. The rooms are "boutiqueish" which unfortunately means not all that practical, only small things but they make a difference, not enough space to put your toiletries in the bathroom, no soap tray for the soap, instead of providing us with an extra bathrobe they removed the one that was there! They really need to sort out the springs on the doors because we spend the first night being woken up by doors banging shut. The second night we got a phone call at 01.30 to tell us our taxi was downstairs....we had booked it for 13h30! OK mistakes can happen but then they called a second time to remind us!!
The breakfast was basic and not what I would expect from a 5* property.

So in short I would be very slow to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondeylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just spent three nights at this hotel in Lisbon, with several families, including our family of young children. After reading reviews prior to booking, I knew to expect some funky interior design, so I wasn't surprised by the dark interior. It was helpful in getting our kids to sleep a little later! Anyway, our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The first two floors of the hotel have very high ceilings, which gave the room an airy feel. We had adjoining rooms for our family of 5 and we were very comfortable. The hotel was quieter than I expected (in terms of nighttime noise) so we all slept very well. Staff was friendly and helpful. For the price, we were very pleased with the value. Again, the location is fantastic being walking distance to so much of what Lisbon has to offer, as well as being right at the subway. We felt very safe and welcome. One additional note, I can't say enough about the helpful housekeeping staff AND the sitting service that the front desk recommended was amazing. I highly recommend Catarina if anyone is traveling with kids and wants an adult night out. My kids are still talking about her.

Room Tip: High ceilings on second floor were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in Lisbon for a couple of days during our recent Portugal vacation. The Fontecruz is ideally located in central Lisbon. It’s an easy walk to the Baixa, and there is a metro station literally across the street; I recommend buying a 24 hour metro pass for 6 euros. It’s good for the metro, bus, trams and Santa Justa Elevator.
The decor is a bit too trendy for my taste, but we were not in Lisbon to hang around the hotel lobby. The rooms are clean, the service excellent. The restaurant serves a very good buffet breakfast. We will stay here again on our next trip to Lisbon.

Room Tip: No bottle opener in room? No problem, use the drawer handle. It works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here twice within the week with a trip to Porto in between. Within walking distance to great restaurants & shopping. However, the shopping in this part of town is VERY upscale. The staff was remarkable, accommodating our every request. The down side of our last night's stay was the air conditioning could not keep up. Was a bit warm the entire night. This hotel is about a 13 euro taxi ride from the airport and within 100 feet of the metro.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We try to stay only at Marriotts and Hiltons, and as we use points, we usually splurge on JW, Ritz, or Waldorf. Lisbon is definitely lacking in variety when it comes to Hilton and Marriott, so we were a little apprehensive about the Fontecruz. We shouldn't have been!

First, it was very easy to get there from the airport by a shiny new subway. Subway goes right from the airport to the hotel, with a stop directly in front of the hotel. Lobby is nice, lots of sitting areas and places for a 3 year old to run around and hide on/ in/ below. Our first room had a view of the main street (Avenida Liberdade), but the view was partially blocked by trees. They quickly and easily switched to a room on the other side of the hotel. This had a giant terrace, and a great view of the old city. The room itself was very clean, good size, nice bathroom, comfy furniture.

Service was very good, they were helpful with anything we asked. Bar and restaurant both with good food and decent prices. Breakfast had a good selection of local foods.

The location of the hotel is the best part. Its in a very upscale area of the main avenue, but is an easy walk to the river, and several of the other areas of the old city. We walked almost everywhere easily. There are a couple of funiculars hidden just behind the hotel, which are fun to ride. Tons of restaurants nearby, and on the weekend the avenue turns into a big flea market, which is fun.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. When we go back, this is absolutely where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank enicideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection

Property: Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 138 142, Lisbon 1250-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection is a luxury boutique hotel in Lisbon, in the city center, offering a premier location on Avenida da Liberdade. Our hotel is one of the top luxury hotels in Lisbon, Portugal featuring 72 beautiful rooms and suites decorated in a fashionable and chic style. Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection boasts an open lounge terrace offering panoramic views of Lisbon's city center, as well as a chill atmosphere for relaxing and socializing. Our hotel restaurant takes pride in its modern, light, and fresh cuisine, and in its Gin Tonics. Come stay with us in Lisbon, Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing