We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #3 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

The first thing I loved about this hotel was how flexible they were and understanding - we had planned to go last year but due to a family emergency had to postpone and by time we got back this July it was actually over a year later but the lovely team at Solar Do Castelo did not quibble and allowed us to use our pre-paid amount in July. The location is amazing - within the castle walls - and one of the things we loved is that unlike other cities, the area around the hotel was a true neighbourhood with real people living their lives and was not some Disney-fied tourist precinct. Lisbon is a super cool city, albeit slightly shabby (which I think is part of the charm) and this area typifies that. Our room was very nice - not super trendy and slightly outdated decor but comfortable and nice touches like Molton Brown toiletries. I loved having breakfast in the courtyard and I loved the fact that pastel de natas, otherwise known as Portuegese custard tarts, we're part of the buffet. Dangerous! I will def stay here again when I comeback to Lisbon (which I hope is very soon).

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonRobStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    140
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
562
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Solar do Castelo must rate as one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe. It is hard to believe it is in the middle of a city, the relaxing atmosphere, the quietly efficient staff the luxurious surroundings all added up to a first class visit to Lisbon.
The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, the only disturbance on the first evening we stayed were the sounds of the Fado concert drifting over the castle walls - a lovely way to fall asleep.
The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
We cant fault this hotel, our only concerns are that if it becomes too popular we wont be able to rebook - we are definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is an oasis in the town of Lisbon! We really loved this place on the hill of Castle St. Jorge. Breakfast buffet, service at reception and cleanliness are excellent. The courtyard is a beautiful scenery for having breakfast and for simple recreation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urs and Theresi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fundao, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel has been built in the old kitchen area of Lisbon's castle, and has been delightfully integrated into its surroundings, with tasteful furnishings inside and peaceful outdoor seating areas - a peace occasionally interrupted by the call of the peacocks that nest nearby!
The breakfast was buffet-style, with hot and cold choices; there was a tea-making table in the dining/sitting room, and a lovely extra welcoming touch in the bedroom was a carafe of vinho do porto! A service we didn't use, but which was available, was a bar with an 'honesty' payment-system!
The receptionists were all-smiles and received us as special guests into the hotel, with charm and obvious concern for our welfare during our stay.
The hotel was a little difficult to find by car, but that was probably me, because we were sent explicit instructions by the hotel. We had 'booked' a space in the car park, which is a little distance from the hotel itself, and were ferried back to it with our bags on leaving.
In all, a lovely experience in a hotel full of character - even with its own little museum of artefacts uncovered during excavations and housed in the old cistern.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Cannot compare - we were very comfortable on the ground floor in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boaviagem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

love it. A beautiful hotel with exellent service. Nice location, breakfast, tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 516lanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We loved this place! The location is gorgeous, right inside the walls of Castle St. Jorge. The open courtyard makes for a wonderful place for breakfast, with the beautiful scenery and the resident peacocks. The breakfast buffet was fantastic: all sorts of fresh pastries, eggs, meats, an amazing fresh fruit salad, etc. The rooms are good sized, comfy beds, all you could ask for.

One thing to keep in mind: this is located at the top of a very long hill, up steep cobbled streets. The 737 bus goes almost all the way from the main square to the castle, but it stops running at 9 pm. The 28 tram goes part of the way up, but it stops by 11 pm. So you may want to consider a taxi if you're not up for the big walk.

The staff is very helpful - they were able to sell us the hop on/hop off ticket (cash only) without having to trek down to the square. And this ticket gets you on the public buses and trams as well (the HO HO stops relatively early in Lisbon; some of the lines stop around 6 pm). They called a cab for us for an early departure to the airport, and even printed out our boarding passes. The free wifi worked great, and they even have a selection of books in various languages.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room, but the rooms with a balcony right over the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mzhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Gorgeous boutique hotel inside the walls of St Georges castle. This wonderful place is a heritage hotel that is just beautiful & welcoming. Interior is a mix of the original structure & beautiful modern renovations. Rooms are welcoming, warm & beautiful. A great place to call home for our stay. Planned for 1 night, stayed for 3.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel_rmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing