We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Solar Do Castelo has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The setting is fantastic - right in the castle and about a 20-30 minute walk down the hill into the town. I have read in some other reviews that the hill might be a problem. I can understand this if you have mobility problems but honestly for anyone of average fitness it is no trouble at all.

The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and kept clean. You will never be stuck for something to eat or drink - tea and coffee are available all day and there is an honesty bar in the lobby, even complimentary port in the room! Breakfast lasts much later than in many other hotels - buffet until 12:00 and continental breakfast at any time. As well as this, if the weather is good you get to eat in the beautiful courtyard with the castle's resident peacocks walking around. The breakfast selection is not huge but covers all the standard things you would want - fruit, cold meats, cheese, pastries, cereal and cooked bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs.

We would not hesitate to go back again. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a memorable location and don't mind a little bit of walking then you won't find any better than this!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    139
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
551
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is so much fun. You're staying inside the castle walls, in a historic and restored building. Views on the south side look out to the river and over the patio - complete with royal peacocks! The rooms are so light and airy (not large, but not small) and you can open your windows all around to let in the sea breezes.

The check-in and desk service are excellent - beyond excellent. Everyone is fluent in English. The recommendations to restaurants that we received during our stay were spot on - perfection and an amazing addition to our beautiful room.

Breakfast was varied (meats, cheeses, salmon, breads, cereal, bacon, scrambled eggs, etc.) and 14E per person. Take it to the patio and watch the peacocks while you eat!

Even with all of these great things about the place - one of the best is the open bar in the lobby. Free for all, all day long, HUGE selection. Just adding to the feel that you live there instead of are visiting.

The only downside - very limited elevator access, so pack light!

You're in the Belem neighborhood and can walk all of it, plus take public transportation to the rest of Lisbon.

Room Tip: Our room was 21 - top of the many stairs but light on two sides and three windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShilohTodorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your experience.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you particularly for your comments about our staff which we were all very satisfied to read.
Being the Solar Do Castelo a very small property (only 20 rooms) we try to give our guests the feeling of a Portuguese friend’s home in Lisbon.
There is a complimentary port wine and tea during the day and also a honesty bar 24h a day.
Concerning the neighborhood I think you wanted to refer to Alfama which is at our doorstep and not to Belem which is a bit outside the center.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you once more in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

The first thing I loved about this hotel was how flexible they were and understanding - we had planned to go last year but due to a family emergency had to postpone and by time we got back this July it was actually over a year later but the lovely team at Solar Do Castelo did not quibble and allowed us to use our pre-paid amount in July. The location is amazing - within the castle walls - and one of the things we loved is that unlike other cities, the area around the hotel was a true neighbourhood with real people living their lives and was not some Disney-fied tourist precinct. Lisbon is a super cool city, albeit slightly shabby (which I think is part of the charm) and this area typifies that. Our room was very nice - not super trendy and slightly outdated decor but comfortable and nice touches like Molton Brown toiletries. I loved having breakfast in the courtyard and I loved the fact that pastel de natas, otherwise known as Portuegese custard tarts, we're part of the buffet. Dangerous! I will def stay here again when I comeback to Lisbon (which I hope is very soon).

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonRobStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Solar do Castelo must rate as one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe. It is hard to believe it is in the middle of a city, the relaxing atmosphere, the quietly efficient staff the luxurious surroundings all added up to a first class visit to Lisbon.
The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, the only disturbance on the first evening we stayed were the sounds of the Fado concert drifting over the castle walls - a lovely way to fall asleep.
The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
We cant fault this hotel, our only concerns are that if it becomes too popular we wont be able to rebook - we are definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is an oasis in the town of Lisbon! We really loved this place on the hill of Castle St. Jorge. Breakfast buffet, service at reception and cleanliness are excellent. The courtyard is a beautiful scenery for having breakfast and for simple recreation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urs and Theresi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fundao, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel has been built in the old kitchen area of Lisbon's castle, and has been delightfully integrated into its surroundings, with tasteful furnishings inside and peaceful outdoor seating areas - a peace occasionally interrupted by the call of the peacocks that nest nearby!
The breakfast was buffet-style, with hot and cold choices; there was a tea-making table in the dining/sitting room, and a lovely extra welcoming touch in the bedroom was a carafe of vinho do porto! A service we didn't use, but which was available, was a bar with an 'honesty' payment-system!
The receptionists were all-smiles and received us as special guests into the hotel, with charm and obvious concern for our welfare during our stay.
The hotel was a little difficult to find by car, but that was probably me, because we were sent explicit instructions by the hotel. We had 'booked' a space in the car park, which is a little distance from the hotel itself, and were ferried back to it with our bags on leaving.
In all, a lovely experience in a hotel full of character - even with its own little museum of artefacts uncovered during excavations and housed in the old cistern.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Cannot compare - we were very comfortable on the ground floor in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boaviagem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

love it. A beautiful hotel with exellent service. Nice location, breakfast, tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 516lanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing