We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, comfort and a delightful setting”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #3 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace, comfort and a delightful setting”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a four-night break, and were delighted by the experience. Our room was in the new building, and hence had a delightful view of the older part of the hotel over the courtyard centred on the fountain. The room was pleasant and clean, the bed was gigantic, the bathroom quite large, and there was generous wardrobe space. We both enjoyed the complimentary decanter of port, which was always pleasant to come home to! Breakfast (an excellent buffet) was in an elegant room with a glass wall onto the sunny courtyard - where you can of course breakfast when the weather is suitable. Staff are friendly and helpful, and are ready to suggest good places to eat in the locality. (Try Claras em castella)
And as for the locality - well, you are in the outer ward of the castle, a maze of quaint little streets where people actually live, and which has not yet been completely transformed into a tourist trap. You are a few minutes away from the great cathedral, the Sé. A walk down into the centre of Lisbon is easy, and if you find it too tiring to walk back up the hill, you can take the famous tram 28 or a bus, or even a taxi.
(On taxis: if you want to get right up to the door of the hotel, don't get a giant 'people mover' model which won't manage the narrower streets, but settle for a smaller saloon, otherwise you may have to walk 100m or call the hotel golf cart. From the airport to the hotel should cost no more than 20 euros for two passengers + luggage - make sure the driver uses the meter.)

Room Tip: As noted above, if you want a nice view of the old part of the hotel from your window, get a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youke64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    151
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
598
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We checked on this site before booking so were prepared for the unusually arrival style, taxi from the airport, into the castle itself and dropped off for a golf cart ride for us and the bags the last stretch of the journey.
The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly, like most Portuguese we've met, knowledgeable too.
We arrived to a very comfortable room, hardish bed which we prefer, all modern bathroom requirements, and its huge. The wifi in room a must for me these days so I can keep in touch with sick family. No real view as this is a medieval castle with the other side of the street in touching distant, but well lit. Plenty of space in the room and a very thoughtful carafe of Port in the room for evening snifters. The rooms are cleaned daily by lovely staff, the quality of equipment very high. Decent hair dryer included.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very very good. The hotel arranged all from pickup at the airport to advices where to go and how to get there.

Our Mansarda room was luxurious, clean, quiet and big enough. A plus size bath added to the pleasure.

Friendly and helpfull staff in a historic building/area. The long upphill walk back to the hotel was not so bad, atleast not after alittle red wine :)

I liked this hotel and will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAW2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed here for just two nights in February, following on from a business trip of my husband's near Sintra. I arrived on Friday evening and we took a taxi - the driver was obviously not too familiar with the hotel and dropped us (and luggage) off quite a way from its location, assuring us that it wasn't far. We felt lost and a bit stupid and started walking without much hope, but eventually phoned the hotel, who sent someone out on foot to find us and escort us back - not really too far at all, but very helpful nonetheless.

Once inside this rather hidden little gem, we felt the stresses of the day fall from our shoulders. The decor and lighting are really beautiful - modern simplicity, but with real respect for the building's history. As has been mentioned numerous times, the staff are courteous, knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. Our receptionist seemed to know that we would just want a simple meal that night and directed us to a nearby tiny shop-restaurant run by a lovely couple. Just a few things on the menu, but exactly what we wanted.

Our room (a superior double in the attic) was a little on the small side, as was the bathroom (nowhere to put all the copious stuff I need at my age!). The shower was a bit awkward, with the spray from the showerhead aimed straight at the door which didn't quite close. But it was cosy and clean, and the cooing of the pigeons above probably helped us to sleep! A carafe of port was provided in the room - not my favourite tipple, but such a lovely touch.

Breakfast was not included and seemed perhaps a little steep at 14 euros. However, once I was into my second glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, I began to feel more relaxed about it. If only the weather had been a little warmer, we would have sat outside in the courtyard which would have been wonderful (and will bring us back in the spring) and its all there until noon.

No problem getting around - yes, it is steep and wouldn't suit the elderly or infirm, but we felt it kept us fit and deserving of all the gorgeous culinary delights Lisbon has to offer. The 28 tram is a must, and not too far away at all.

Can't wait to get back there - and thank you, Solar do Castelo for such a great introduction to this beautiful little city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoconutK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you want to taste the old Lisbon this is the place to be. It is built in St. George Castle and everything there is just GREAT. We were very exciting about the breakfast and the room which was very clean and quite big. The staff was there to help you in everything you need. The only negative is that you need a cab to wherever you wanna go 'cause its a bit away from all things...even though we were very satisfied!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debo_Hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us.
We were very pleased to know that you appreciated our hotel and our staff.
As you refer Solar Do Castelo is located within St. George Castle walls, on the top of Alfama which is Lisbon’s oldest quarter. This special location makes this hotel a serene refuge in the birthplace of the city of Lisbon. You can have a nice walk down Alfama and reach Baixa in approximately 15 minutes.
You can also use the public transports to reach downtown and other historic quarters of Lisbon. At the entrance of the Castle there is a bus stop and the tram 28 passes very near (Santa Luzia Belvedere).
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcoming again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this amazing boutique hotel which is just beside the castle in Lisboa. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room is beautifully decorated. There is a beautiful courtyard with 3 peacocks walking around. Not to forget the daily delicious breakfast that serves until 12 noon. Also there are nice afternoon tea and coffee. Yes, it is a steep walk up to the castle and back to the hotel after exploring the city. But there are buses and taxi that can take you up to the castle area and lots of nice restaurants with great views over the city and coastline near the hotel. Will definitely recommend this hotel who wishes to have a romantic escape in Lisboa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights to visit Lisbon. Perfect location, a bit difficult to find and extremely difficult for cab drivers to drop you right in front of the entrance. Inside you feel it from the first moment, lovely surrounding, right next to the castle. Some rooms are a bit small with less space for baggage, but the rest including breakfast was perfect...

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Muha0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing