We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #3 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 20th anniversary trip. The hotel is stunning. Clean, modern and cosy. The staff helpful. Slippers and Molton Brown toiletries on hand. The only downside which is also an upside is its location as the climb up the hill is very steep on slippery stones. We got round this by catching the 737 bus to the castle entrance which then left a much easier climb to the hotel. Breakfast was good and available until 12 if you wanted a nice long lay in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if possible it overlooked a car parking area which also had a bench in it that locals w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    151
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
604
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Yes the local peacocks are noisy, yes the peacocks can be up all hours making a racket but I didn't let that detract or spoil our stay at the wonderful Solar Do Castelo.

The decor and layout of the communal areas is superb as was the decor within our room. Breakfast was available from 7:30am - Midday and we even had the chance to have a bite to eat whilst our room was being made up as we arrived early (11am) upon arrival. Breakfast is continental, freshly cooked breads and croissants with decent coffee and juices supplied.

The hotel is very clean, well air conditioned, relaxing and non pretentious. The staff are superb - friendly, helpful, chatty and extremely accommodating. Had a good chat with a member of staff about the fortunes of the local football teams as I was heading off to see Sporting CP play.

Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend although I'd advise earplugs if you have an aversion to peacocks!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumblies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Do not stay here. You will not sleep. Apparently the next door castle bought peacocks for the castle grounds (which overlook the hotel) two years ago. The loud, raucous braying of these birds constantly throughout the night makes sleeping almost impossible. A miserable experience! We stayed here several years ago, before the peacocks, and enjoyed it thoroughly. But until they can get rid of the peacocks, we will not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are terribly sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the peacocks of São Jorge Castle. The peacocks inhabit the Castle for some years now and they are an attraction to all visitors. They are particular active during Spring but usually they don’t get close to the Solar at night. We already asked the Castle management to keep the peacocks on the other side of the castle during the night in this season.
Please accept our apologies for this occurrence.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Checked into this lovely little hotel inside the castle walls in Lisbon, only to realize I had booked it (& paid for it already on my credit card) a month previously. Oops, I had the wrong dates. This was the first night of 2 wks in Portugal. The staff was wonderful....they checked back a month & realized we were a " no show" & credited us for the stay. I could never expect that to happen as it was my mistake.
The hotel is a jewel...cosy & just what we wanted...in the old Alfama district. I can't say enough about the wonderful service!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This Hotel is great set with in the Castle Gounds, very well appointed nice mix of decor, lovley little courtyard for Breakfast and relax in after siteseeing trips. Staff were very very good. We had a great room with very very clean. Comfy bed and very nice sheets super clean. our room had
a Bath with shower inside again super clean. The only fault of this Boutique Hotel is it has not restaurant. Breakfast was the usuall fare of Tea/Coffee Fruit juices Yougarts Crossants and some carva if you fancied nothing hot also a great range off little cakes and breads.
There are no mini bars or tea making in your room but there is an honesty bar and as much Free Tea and Coffee as you can drink instead. which is fine. I think this Hotel is good you are popping on a cruise for a night or two before you join. I liked the location in the very old part of Lisbon. The Peacocks like to walk around and do shriek alot but if you know before you go you
wont be cross they are very beautiful.and jump into the courtyard.
ideal for about 3 nights for city break.DO NOT BRING YOU HIGH HEELS COBBLES AND VERY HILLY TRAINERS ONLY!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This small hotel, tucked away at the top of a hill in Lisbon, is a hidden gem. Well, perhaps not so hidden, since it was full of European high-end tourists. It was formerly the kitchen of the adjoining Castle San Jorge before being transformed into a small boutique hotel. The rooms are small but very efficient, the patio agreeable for breakfast in good weather, the staff friendly and helpful. But note that if you are old or infirm this may not be the place for you, as the climb up is a difficult one and sometimes some larger taxis will refuse to climb the hill and leave you below (though the hotel will send a mini-cab to search for you if you call them). Still, this is the oldest part of Lisbon and very interesting. Note, the hotel is not cheap. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a view. Ground floor rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington NJ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a long layover in Lisbon following a trip to the Costa Del Sol in Spain. I chose this hotel because of its uniqueness and the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. I thought a special hotel stay would be a great end to this trip.

This is a beautiful, modern boutique hotel, somehow located within an old castle. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. We were given a comfortable room with a beautiful bath. The room had a view of a castle promenade with peacocks on the wall. Be aware that tourists of the castle can look into some rooms (from a distance) so you may want to keep the sheer curtains closed. Having said that, privacy was not really an issue and we spent a lovely evening here.

The staff was very helpful with directions, reservations, etc. I wish we had spent more than one night here because it would have been great to explore the grounds in more detail.

Make sure your taxi driver knows the way to the hotel. We were dumped at the castle gate and told to walk "that way." It was a stressful time trying to find the hotel while hauling heavy suitcases up cobblestone streets for about 500 meters or so. Thank you to the police officer who helped ask locals if they knew where the hotel is. Contact the hotel before arrival so you can get a copy of the map they give to cabbies. You will be very glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,328 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,532 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 251 in Lisbon
916 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing