We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
811
171
34
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
171
34
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle wallshonesty barblue doorcobbled streetscastle areahonor baralfama districtsteep climbcomplimentary portsao jorgejorge castlebeautiful hotelboutique hotelup hillsmall hotelwe loved our stayport wine
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Upmarket and unique B&B. A retreat from the tourists all around the castle area with a beautiful tranquil courtyard with loungers (and where breakfast is served when weather permits). And a lovely lounge area with an honesty bar. Rooms are small but comfortable and stylishly decorated. We were provided with a complimentary litre decanter of port to last us two nights- had to make sure my mother didnt finish it! Great breakfast and helpful staff.
Good tip for Lisbon is to buy a 24 hour travel card. It is around 4 euros and you can jump on and off trams (including the elevator ones which charge tourists quite a bit), buses, and the metro. Very handy if you are struggling with the unavoidable precipitous slopes all around Lisbon. You need to go to the metro station to buy the card but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJT12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My recommendation is to stay where you want to visit/eat or eat near where you stay. This hotel is not convenient to going to the central part of town. Taxi ride up or down is about 6 euros each way. The taxi's are not air conditioned and they will not take you directly to the hotel. You would think that a Heritage Hotel would have the rooms air conditioned before arrival but this one did not. When temperatures are in the upper 90's, they should do that. The lobby is also not air conditioned and the Wifi is spotty at best. We were also driving a car to the hotel and could not find it by GPS or smart phone since the hotel is in a no drive zone (residents/employees only). It took us about 30 minutes to get to the hotel after arriving on the hilltop. They said they sent a map with the hotel reservations but they did not. At least there was free hotel parking near by. There is no pool but you can use a sister's hotel pool down the hill in the central part of town. My recommendation, stay in central Lisbon where you can walk to everything easily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JenJen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
The Solar Do Castelo is located inside St. Jorge Castle’s walls, on the top of Alfama which is Lisbon’s oldest quarter. As you refer traffic is restricted which makes this hotel a serene refuge in the birthplace of the city of Lisbon. At the door step of the Castle you can find several little restaurants and bars and enjoy great views walking down Alfama to the river Tagus or to Baixa.
We do have air conditioned and free Wi-Fi throughout our premises and we apologize for any malfunction during your stay.
Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had previously been to one of the sister Heritage hotels in Lisbon Avenida Liberdade as part of a work visit. I thought that that was very good. I came to the Solar on a holiday and some ways it was even better.

The Solar is very much a boutique hotel with a small number of rooms (I think 14) set in an old building in a back street, right up by the moorish castle which overlooks the city. It is in some ways a great location right at the top of the hill in the heart of the Alfama district, though it would be a hike if you did it every time on foot (see hints below)

The room was, in our case, small but quirkily charming and comfortable - and well furnished with lots of storage space a good bathroom. The staff are friendly, helpful and all seem to have exceptionally good English. There is no bar, but drinks are available in the lounge in the evening trusting guests to sign for anything they have.

Five tips:-

- the 737 bus takes you to the top of the sizeable hill from the North of Figuera Square (near the Rossi square and subway station): the 12 tram takes you most of the way and uses splendid small old wooden vehicles.
- The wifi works well and kept us going with BBC radio over iplayer
- Go to Claras em Castelo just round the corner at the castle entrance. Its a lovely little restaurant
- Go to the castle - its fantastic
- We liked the peacocks

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were staying only four days there, but I felt like being at home.
Very nice staff, really quiet in the evenings. The rooms are a bit small, but we are in a former kitchen! One plus: a little bottle of Port in the room.
Wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 20th anniversary trip. The hotel is stunning. Clean, modern and cosy. The staff helpful. Slippers and Molton Brown toiletries on hand. The only downside which is also an upside is its location as the climb up the hill is very steep on slippery stones. We got round this by catching the 737 bus to the castle entrance which then left a much easier climb to the hotel. Breakfast was good and available until 12 if you wanted a nice long lay in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if possible it overlooked a car parking area which also had a bench in it that locals would sit at which meant the curtains had to be closed when changing clothes and nets could never be opened.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews