We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
811
171
34
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
171
34
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle wallshonesty barblue doorcobbled streetscastle areahonor baralfama districtsteep climbcomplimentary portsao jorgejorge castlebeautiful hotelboutique hotelup hillsmall hotelwe loved our stayport wine
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Simply spectacular - the property, the staff, the localtion - you are not going to find a better hotel for a holiday in Lisbon. Solar do Castelo is a very small and intimate hotel (only 14 rooms) that was exactly right for our 4 day city break. If you are prepared to get to grips with the bus service (737 from just outside the castle entrance ) down to the Praca Figueira you can go from there to literally anywhere in Lisbon (or further !). The staff went out of their way to make this one of the best short breaks we have had.

We had room 3 which overlooked the courtyard and it was perfect in every way. Lovely comfy bed and efficient air con were much appreciated. The en suite had Moulton and Brown Toileteries, big fluffy towels and complimentary bathrobe and slippers which made it feel quite luxurious.
Breakfast was served in the courtyard and there was a good choice with some of the best scrambled eggs that I have had. Lots of fruit, cheese and cold meats and the opportunity to squeeze your own orange juice! The different types of bread were especially good.

The location and the Peacocks add that special something and made this hotel perfect for us. I didnt want to leave and would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

this is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, and although we were in Lisbon on business it was complete bliss to have breakfast in the beautiful terrace and in the evening a sip of wind. The staff were exceptional and most of them I recognized from my previous stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is ideally located by the castle and lots of restaurants and little shops and cafes all close by.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Solar do Castelo is an ancient building inside the castle walls. It has been beautifully developed and is stylish and immaculate. Access is via steep and narrow cobbled streets - taxis are permitted (but don't hire a wider-than-average taxi). We slept well (the windows were shuttered) although there was occasional noise from the peacocks who live in the adjacent Jardim Romântico. The breakfast buffet was superb. We were made so welcome - it felt like we were guests in a club or private home, not a hotel. When I'm next in Lisboa, I will stay at the Solar de Castelo if I possibly can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This review is based on just one night at the hotel. I will start with the negatives and end on a positive note.

Cons:
-Location: Hotel is within castle walls, no buses or trams allowed up. Only walk all the way to the top or take a taxi.
- VERY BUSY area during the day; swamped with toursist and high prices. EXTREMELY quiet at night; no restaurants open after 8pm; no bars or nightlife in castelo district.
-Breakfast is 14euro more per person per day.
Pros:
-Absolutely beautiful and serene hotel
-Professional staff 24/7 reception able to help with suggestions, taxis, etc.
-Coffee & Tea station, reading section and desserts available along with self service bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much sharing your feedback following your short stay with us and for your kind comments about our premises and our staff.
Maybe it was for the fact of staying just one night with us that prevent you from knowing a little better our neighborhood and the accessibility to the Castle.
The Solar Do Castelo is located in the medieval village inside St. Jorge Castle’s walls. It is mainly a residential area with some small shops and cafes that are open during the day. After sunset you can presence and live the ambiance of a small Portuguese village: calm and relaxing. Just outside the Castle’s walls you can choose from several little restaurants and bars, some of them with real nice views. You don’t have to walk more than 5 minutes to reach some of them.
Concerning public transportation, bus number 737 will take you up to the Castle entrance and tram 28 stops at Santa Luzia Belvedere which is quite near the Castle.
We look forward welcoming you again to the Solar do Castelo with a bit more time to enjoy our neighborhood.
Your sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Beautiful hotel right next to the castle. Very busy tourist area during the day, but the hotel is always peaceful. The area shuts down at night with not too many restaurants or shops open. The front desk was super helpful and I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews