We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-notch hotel in beautiful setting”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top-notch hotel in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just returned from 4 nights at the Solar do Castelo, and it was an absolutely wonderful hotel for our first visit to Lisbon. The situation, built in to the walls of the old castle is beautiful and romantic, with the windows looking into the castle grounds or the lovely courtyard or both, and from our room also big view of city lights and river. (We were in room 21, a "mansard" room at the 2nd floor up of the hotel with vaulted wood-beamed ceiling.) The furnishings were at the high standard you would expect at a luxury hotel: modern spacious shower enclosure, bath/spa products provided, robes, a large assortment of towels, very comfortable bed. The location is at the top of the hill near some shops and restaurants, easy access to the city, but a very quiet neighborhood at night. You can walk down to the center of the city in about 10 minutes, or walk a few minutes less to a tram stop, or just take a taxi (everything in central Lisbon is between 5-10 euros taxi fare from here, and taxis are easy to find in the city). The breakfast was a very nice buffet of American (eggs, bacon, sausage) and European (ham, cheese, fish) offerings, cereals and breads (including the famous pastel de nata!), fresh fruits and juices, and even a basket of oranges and a juicer if you wanted to make your own as-fresh-as-possible juice. They also provided a nice offering of gluten-free breads for my husband who needs them. You can take breakfast in the nicely furnished dining room or in the courtyard, and I think there is an afternoon tea offering there as well although we were never around at that time. Finally, there was someone at the desk at all times of day and night who was always extremely helpful with restaurant and tour advice, making bookings, calling taxis, and in our case helping us resolve the retrieval of a mobile phone that we left in a taxi and was found but after we had returned home. If I could, I would give them a 6th star for the service, which was truly exceptional. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Lisbon.

Other miscellaneous features:
- wifi strong, reliable, fast in our room and in common areas
- plenty of outlets in room for us to plug in our devices (including a multi-national / multi-current plug in bathroom for rasers)
- blow drier provided, iron provided on request
- decanter of port with two wine glasses provided complimentary in room - nice touch!
- two sets of curtains plus shutters can make the room very dark when desired
- there are peacocks roaming the castle grounds and sometimes the hotel courtyard. they are beautiful and exotic to see, and on occasion they make a loud squawk, but with the window shut it is muted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    140
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
563
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely little hotel. It is in our favourite part of Lisbon and only a short walk down to, and even up from the main part of the town. Staff were really friendly and helpful, rooms beautifully appointed, lovely patio area and lounge for R&R. Only drawback was the steep but short cobbled street to reach the hotel which added to its charm but was not kind to high heels. The hotel recommendations for restaurants nearby were super. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Simply spectacular - the property, the staff, the localtion - you are not going to find a better hotel for a holiday in Lisbon. Solar do Castelo is a very small and intimate hotel (only 14 rooms) that was exactly right for our 4 day city break. If you are prepared to get to grips with the bus service (737 from just outside the castle entrance ) down to the Praca Figueira you can go from there to literally anywhere in Lisbon (or further !). The staff went out of their way to make this one of the best short breaks we have had.

We had room 3 which overlooked the courtyard and it was perfect in every way. Lovely comfy bed and efficient air con were much appreciated. The en suite had Moulton and Brown Toileteries, big fluffy towels and complimentary bathrobe and slippers which made it feel quite luxurious.
Breakfast was served in the courtyard and there was a good choice with some of the best scrambled eggs that I have had. Lots of fruit, cheese and cold meats and the opportunity to squeeze your own orange juice! The different types of bread were especially good.

The location and the Peacocks add that special something and made this hotel perfect for us. I didnt want to leave and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

this is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, and although we were in Lisbon on business it was complete bliss to have breakfast in the beautiful terrace and in the evening a sip of wind. The staff were exceptional and most of them I recognized from my previous stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is ideally located by the castle and lots of restaurants and little shops and cafes all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Solar do Castelo is an ancient building inside the castle walls. It has been beautifully developed and is stylish and immaculate. Access is via steep and narrow cobbled streets - taxis are permitted (but don't hire a wider-than-average taxi). We slept well (the windows were shuttered) although there was occasional noise from the peacocks who live in the adjacent Jardim Romântico. The breakfast buffet was superb. We were made so welcome - it felt like we were guests in a club or private home, not a hotel. When I'm next in Lisboa, I will stay at the Solar de Castelo if I possibly can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This review is based on just one night at the hotel. I will start with the negatives and end on a positive note.

Cons:
-Location: Hotel is within castle walls, no buses or trams allowed up. Only walk all the way to the top or take a taxi.
- VERY BUSY area during the day; swamped with toursist and high prices. EXTREMELY quiet at night; no restaurants open after 8pm; no bars or nightlife in castelo district.
-Breakfast is 14euro more per person per day.
Pros:
-Absolutely beautiful and serene hotel
-Professional staff 24/7 reception able to help with suggestions, taxis, etc.
-Coffee & Tea station, reading section and desserts available along with self service bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much sharing your feedback following your short stay with us and for your kind comments about our premises and our staff.
Maybe it was for the fact of staying just one night with us that prevent you from knowing a little better our neighborhood and the accessibility to the Castle.
The Solar Do Castelo is located in the medieval village inside St. Jorge Castle’s walls. It is mainly a residential area with some small shops and cafes that are open during the day. After sunset you can presence and live the ambiance of a small Portuguese village: calm and relaxing. Just outside the Castle’s walls you can choose from several little restaurants and bars, some of them with real nice views. You don’t have to walk more than 5 minutes to reach some of them.
Concerning public transportation, bus number 737 will take you up to the Castle entrance and tram 28 stops at Santa Luzia Belvedere which is quite near the Castle.
We look forward welcoming you again to the Solar do Castelo with a bit more time to enjoy our neighborhood.
Your sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Beautiful hotel right next to the castle. Very busy tourist area during the day, but the hotel is always peaceful. The area shuts down at night with not too many restaurants or shops open. The front desk was super helpful and I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing