We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel but location is daunting”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #5 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is lovely with a helpful staff, good breakfasts, clean and cosy. But is at the top of one of LIsbon's highest hills with no view unless you venture out to the nearby "castle" and pay a fee. Also, because it's an "attraction" the crowds of visitors during the day are overwhelming. It's expensive, particularly because the rooms are relatively small and cramped. It has a lovely courtyard and you can spy peacocks from the nearby castle grounds--a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My new husband loved our stay at this beautiful little oasis. We did not find the peacocks to be obnoxious, in fact we found they addedd a touch of whimsy to an already whimsical, little place. Our room was adorable and very clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and so warm and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and places to eat. The location is perfect. Just be sure to take a taxi and provide the address; the trek up the hotel would be a challenge with luggage. I do wish that the breakfast was included in the booking price as it was a but expensive for what it served (17 euro per person, per day). We felt is was worth purchasing the breakfast for the week upon check in though in order to get the 14 euro price instead. But if you don't mind eating at one of the local cafes (5-10 minute walk) then you will definitely save some money. Also, they don;t have a conventional bar, but they do have an "honestly bar" where you help yourself and inform the staff what would drank with the help of a provided form. They do not have a restaurant but they have coffee, tea and little things to nibble on at any point in time. With all this said, we would definitely go back for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the court yard for a better view, however that is where the peacocks hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeSusanna83113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is fantastic! Mariana was great as well as the other staff. Coffee was to die for! Our room was brilliant! Very clean and I would like to thank Luisa for keeping it clean and tidy. I love my stay in Lisbon and it wouldn't have been as fantabulous as it was if not for the wonderful hotel that we stayed in.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dimple R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very good located, centrally in the city, and still have the peaceful spot. The receptionists are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and cozy, and look out to the courtyard. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEKEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked this hotel for five days in September and sorry we did not stay longer. Clean, peaceful, lovely breakfast in the beautiful courtyard, helpful cheery staff. Lovely walk into the centre of town, we got the bus back up or a taxi, both obtainable minutes from the hotel. The area where the hotel is situated is full of character and interest. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again if in the area. Lisbon also a beautiful and interesting city.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the courtyard, I assume most people would think this a disadvantage, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice People, silent Rooms, delicious Breakfast! The Hotel is near to the Castello, just view Minutes from the City Centre away. Attention: Only small cars (Taxis) can drive directly to the Hotel! The Courtyard of the Hotel is a Place of Relaxation! Great!!

Room Tip: 1st Floor are the best Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Excellent place to stay within the walls of the castle. Has its own archaeological museum of finds discovered during its renovation - thought to occupy a site once used by castle kitchens. Good quality breakfasts and room service. Lovely location away from tourist crowds. Spacious public areas. very helpful staff. When you book ask for directions for taxi drivers as it can be hard to find

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivJ443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £115 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing