We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My first trip to Lisbon and I chose solar do Castelo to stay.
Very charming hotel and the crew is amazing!
It's near Castelo de Sao Jorge which is one of the most visited places in Lisbon.
Absolutely loved it.
No doubt a great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    140
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
563
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We reserved what turned out to be the "penthouse" room with a lovely view of the Tagus (Tejo) River for a two night stay. We arrived on a crack of dawn flight from Newark, but fortuitously our room was ready and we were able to check in immediately. Be forewarned, many taxis won't drive up the narrow steep cobblestone street to the hotel entrance, so unless you alert the hotel to your arrival time (they have a golf cart for luggage), you may have to roll your luggage uphill for a few blocks. We weren't overloaded, so for us it was just part of the adventure. The rooms tend to be a bit dark and rustic, but we were there during a sunny time, so it didn't matter. Shower water pressure strength and internet strength were strong - impressive in a Heritage Hotel. The common areas are lovely (lots of Peacocks and fountains). The breakfast for 12 Euros is a must do - they had Nespresso cappucinos, fresh squeezed juices (and Cava if one wants to indulge in a Mimosa at breakfast), and the usual European assortment of cheeses, meats, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. Plus sardines! The dining area is in a large yet cozy setting, with good light and garden view. The other guests were a variety of nationalities -- everyone in a good mood. The staff could not have been nicer. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Solar do Castelo was a random pick among the so-called Heritage Hotels of Lisbon. The hotel's public spaces were beautiful, combining antique and modern art and decor. The room was equally beautiful and comfortable. For committed city walkers like ourselves, the Solar was convenient to sites we wanted to visit. The staff was friendly and professional. For our October visit the peacocks were well-mannered and appropriately ornamental.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Québec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 2 nights in this very pretty hotel, located next to St George’s castle, in the Alfama neighbourhood. Even though we had instructions, the taxi driver could not find the way to the hotel and left us on the street, where the staff picked us up in a golf cart. Our room was fairly large and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious and quite varied. As the weather was unfortunately not very good, we ate in the lounge area, but the terrace would have been pleasant in the sun. There is a small honesty bar where you can buy drinks and snacks. The staff was quite helpful and booked a table for us at Casa de Leao, a very good restaurant located within the castle walls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Myself and my girl friend stayed here on our trip to Lisbon. It sits inside the castle walls up some tiny side streets and is an oasis of calm in a busy tourist city. The rooms were huge and nicely done and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a bit of a walk uphill to the castle but there is also a bus that takes you all the way if you don't feel up to the challenge. We loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRtooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel truly made my trip to Lisbon special. Although I read numerous reviews of the steep climb up to the castle area and the hotel, I was still blown away by the arduous trek. But I love a challenge (and it meant I could eat and drink all I wanted!) The hotel is charming beyond belief, with a cozy, welcoming aura - and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the beginning. They were starting some renovations before the end of my stay, so added the breakfast free of charge and sent me in a taxi to another of their properties, As Janelas Verdes, for my last two nights. That hotel was lovely as well, absolutely - but the neighborhood had none of the charm of the Castelo area. I loved the peacocks sunning in the courtyard (although I'm told they do make a racket at night during mating season.) And the quaint narrow streets of the area are lovely. I was in room #5, a ground floor double bed. Not overly spacious, but plenty of room, and wonderfully quiet at night, with a huge bathroom. There's a FANTASTIC wine bar (Wine Bar do Castelo) down the street, and some restaurants nearby, but I kept finding myself wandering down to Baixa/Chiado or Bairro Alto for dinner; it became an easy 15 minute walk that never felt too much for me. I certainly would caution people who have mobility issues, because the climb is part of the package. But I was incredibly sad to leave, and would recommend the Solar do Castelo to anyone who wants a very special, unique and lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanannieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is in the castle area, reached by some very narrow streets (our incoming taxi stopped as the street narrowed, and a nearby restaurateur phoned the hotel who came and collected us and our luggage in a little golf cart); on our departure, the taxi was brave enough to come up the narrow streets right to the hotel door!
As others have noted, the surrounding area is quite busy with tourists during the day, but very quiet at night when the castle is shut.
Our room was right at the top of the hotel in the old building, with a very good view.
Neither the room nor bathroom were particularly large, but they were comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. The décor was traditional and very pleasant.
The breakfast buffet offered a very good selection considering the small size of the hotel.
There is no restaurant, but reception staff were very helpful and made suggestions for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing