We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #3 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

The hotel organised a Private Transfer from the airport at our request and it was worth the cost as hotel is tucked away next to the castle. We were greeted nicely and given lots of advice on what to do in Lisbon. The hotel is real class, room excellent and magnificent courtyard where you could sit and drink under the summer sun. Hotel had an honesty bar which was fairly priced. If your want class in a perfect location try this one. I now know why the sister hotels in the chain also feature in the Top 10 reviewed hotels in Lisbon.
Be prepared to walk up and down the hill to the centre or jump on the tram or bus with your Lisbon Card. The card allows use of the trains to Cascais and Sintra both worth a visit.
Hotel recommended places to eat, we went to Doca6 and experienced our best meal during our stay.
They know how to look after guests, worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    151
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
604
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We loved this place! It was our first trip to Portugal and we are so glad we booked this hotel. While our room was a little small (which we expected) the service and common areas more than made up for that! The staff was so helpful and we loved the courtyard. The peacocks can be annoying, but it added to the charm. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaSagradaFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Hard to find but well worth it. So central but not in the city. So handy to everything - being in the old castle grounds. Great room, really good brekky (try those Portuguese tarts!) and the ambience is first class. Very pleasant courtyard for brekky or evening drinks too.
Staff - tops. Room maintenance - tops. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Just come back from three wonderful days at this hotel they make you so welcome
the setting is superb in the castle grounds an oasis in a city
Breakfast in the courtyard was a delight the reception staff were marvellous recommending places to go and restaurants
Would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horaceHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

A superb experience--who can beat the ambiance of a hotel built in the former servants' quarters of a castle built in 700BC? The intimate spaces, resident peacocks, cobbled streets, beautiful marble and tile, continental breakfast, well-appointed rooms, and exceptional service combined to make this hotel an excellent choice.

We extend special thanks to Sonia, Lisette, Miguel, and Marianna for their hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

My partner and I have just returned from 3 wonderful days at the Solar da Castelo - and we wanted to praise this great hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for the helpful reception staff - be it ordering us taxis, recommending sites to see (and importantly, how to get there!) or booking restaurants for us.

The hotel's location is superb, right next to the castle, and only 5kms from the airport (but beware of unscrupulous taxi drivers who may try to overcharge you - we paid double!)

Our room was slightly small, but perfectly formed, and the bathroom came stocked with fab Molton Brown products.
Whilst there is no restaurant, there is an honesty bar in the spacious lounge and breakfast is a help yourself arrangement, with fresh coffee, pastries etc which you can have in the sunny courtyard when the weather permits.

All in all this hotel exceeded our expectations, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other trippers!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We spent our one night in Lisboa at the Solar do Castelo, and were delighted with the hotel, the staff, and the location/views. We had dinner at the nearby restaurant in the castle San Jorge. We enjoyed the peacocks in the courtyard.
Advice re arrival: if you take the airport bus to the city center, you will need a taxi up to the hotel, as Bus 37 does not allow baggage. Taxi is 20 euro from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,330 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 251 in Lisbon
917 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing