We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but insulting prices for extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Ranked #43 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but insulting prices for extras”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I’ll start off by saying that we DID thoroughly enjoy our stay at the Corinthia hotel. There are only really two reasons for negativity, so I’ll get them out of the way before I move onto the good bits.

Firstly, anyone who has stayed in “high-end” hotels knows about the added extras that often make the bill escalate, but it has to be said that the Corinthia takes this to laughable levels, which make you feel rather robbed. Examples: 200ml of fruit juice from the mini bar is 4.50€, a small beer at the bar (which usually costs between 80cents and 1.50€ in Portugal) is also 4.50€. Car parking is 18€ per day and the worst Internet service I have experienced in a hotel in many years is 18€ per 24 hour period (though, to be fair, this was removed from our bill after complaining).

Now, I’ve stayed in plenty of hotels, and happily paid 3€ for a mini-bar soft drink for the convenience and luxury of simply having to remove it from a fridge in the room……but 4.50€? Really? No wonder we couldn’t find a mini bar price list in our room!

The other negative was the reception service on check-in, which although not bad, was rather indifferent and not of 5* hotel standard. The service was very good, however, in the spa and in the outside bar, which also provided decent entertainment on a couple of the nights we were there, as well as the novel addition of free shisha pipes. Sadly, on the first night, the cocktails we had were rather poorly put together, and paying 8€ for a capirinha which wasn’t up to the standard of those readily available in the Barrio Alto for 3€ stung a little.

Other things were much better. The room, though compact, was very comfortable, with a great bed and excellent water pressure in the bathroom.

The location is great if you are willing to take the metro, which is cheap, fast, reliable, and felt safe to us (although we are both ex-Londoners and used to such things).

The spa, although charged separately at 20€ each, was a wonderful oasis of calm, and, in our view, well worth the money when compared to similar facilities. The spa has a Jacuzzi, thalassotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, ice fountain and plunge pool. The spa helped us to avoid the main pool, which was packed with people, including dozens of kids jumping repeatedly into the pool – not a place to relax. It is also important to note that although some sites list the Corinthia as having an outdoor pool, this is in fact an indoor pool where a tiny part of the roof is retracted.

We didn’t really eat at the hotel, barring a Greek mezze platter at the bar, which was quite pleasant.

The final thing that warrants a mention is the lifts. Four lifts to service 20+ floors proved to be insufficient almost every time, meaning getting up and down from the room became a bit of a chore.

Although this review sounds fairly critical, I am inclined to repeat that we did thoroughly enjoy our break, but the exploitative pricing for extras would put us off returning – and I’m sure we are not the only people who would feel this way. It seems a bit of a short-termist strategy, and a bit insulting to guests who are, for example, sure to see the far lower prices offered at other hotel parking facilities.

The Corinthia could do with reviewing this, and, if they decide to continue with the high prices, they should at least make sure everything works properly. An Internet connection which drops for ten minutes every two minutes is not fit for purpose in a 5* hotel in 2011…..

Room Tip: High floor for better views of Lisbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.
I also want to thank you for your comments regarding the price of the minibar and of drinks in the Bar. The minibar price list and as well the price of the owner bar is located next to the ownerbar. We are continuously monitoring the prices within hotels in the city and believe our prices to be very competitive. However we will take on board your comments for our next pricing review during the course of this year.

We want to share with you that we will be shortly implementing a project to improve the service of the elevators.

I would like to also apologize for the problems with the internet connection. Please accept our apologies for the shortfall in our internet service. We have followed up this issue with our IT department to avoid any further problems caused to our guests. The anomaly is fully solved. We are always eager to make our guests’ stay enjoyable and special and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in all areas, please be assure that we will work on the areas you mentioned.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,130
    1,810
    403
    98
    48
See reviews for
1,207
2,368
190
839
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

That's a lovely hotel, surrounded by good cafes and restaurants and really close to a subway station.
The prices, though, may be quite unpleasant, especially for the internet access.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideocriminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and as always we very much appreciate it. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to provide our guests a memorable stay with us.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in.

If you can get the special offer avail of the upgrade for executive room. Gives you access to the executive suite and free newspaper every morning.

Restaurant is very good but expensive for Lisbon

Tube station down the road (turn right when you leave hotel and walk for fivve minutes).

Overall brilliant hotel. stayed twice last two months will def be back.

On the staff they can seem a bit cold but they are being super professional! still found them very helpful.
M

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we greatly appreciate your comments.
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed a positive experience with us. Please be assured that I will share your comments with the staff and keep them helpful and as well warmer.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I do not often stay at 5-star hotels, so here are my thoughts:
Check-in: If you arrive before 2 pm and want to check-in, there is a supplementary fee of 50 euros per room. It was now stated on the website (or maybe I did not notice)
Room: great room with a huge bed and city view!
Location: a bit way off from the city center, but there's a metro station nearby
Price: in July 2011 a double room was USD 80 incl. delicious breakfast!
Internet: wi-fi in the room is EUR 9 per hour, which in my opinion is a ridiculously high price. It's EUR 5 if you use it the lobby.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment about your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are always eager to make our guests’ stay enjoyable and special and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in all areas, namely regarding the supplementary fee per room before 2 p.m..

We are please that you found the breakfast delicious.

We also thank you for your comments with regards to the internet and take this opportunity to share that we are currently working in an internet project to improve it for the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here in July for one week and all in all it was ok but there are a few issues with this hotel. The superior room was very small. When we got there I wondered what it was superior too!!. If there are smaller rooms than this then two people would be tripping over each other. The breakfast is ok but the orange Juice is not chilled and the water for the Tea is not hot. One morning I spotted why when the staff came out with a bucket of water to fill up hot water dispenser. 15 minutes later the water was about hot enough for tea. The pool area is ok with an indoor pool but has small section of retractable roof which did not retract while we were there. I feel that this hotel is a hotel of two section. The executive club section and the rest. Many of the reviews here on trip advisor relate to stays in executive rooms which get excellent reviews. I have stayed in better hotel rooms than the superior room we got in this hotel. The fitness center is very good as is the ease of getting into Lisbon on the metro across the road. The main gripe I have with this hotel and as mentioned in some other posts is the price of Internet. 15 euro a day for LAN Access in your room, 5 Euro an hour in the lobby,Internet on TV costs 10 Euro per day. They had a special offer of 30 euro a day for movies and internet. This is the main reason I would not stay in this hotel again as Internet access is not a luxury any more and is a requirement for researching places of interest to see while on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments and as always we appreciate your constructive feedback.

We try to ensure the highest standards of comfort for all our bedrooms and suites and we apologize if this did not meet with your expectations. We are continually improving the services and facilities provided in the hotel and will take on board your comments for our future plans and development projects.

Please accept our apologies for the shortfall in our service regarding the orange juice and water for tea temperature. We have followed up this issue with our Food & Beverage department to avoid any further inconvenient to our guests.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the internet. We are currently working in an internet project to improve it in the future.

We normally pride ourselves on the high standards we provide to our guests and please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in our standards during your visit. I hope that on the next occasion our usual high standards will be restored.

Please be assured that we will work on the areas you mentioned. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel is very good, particularly the indoor swimming pool, gym and outdoor sun terrace. With no prompting from us they marked my partner's birthday with cake, mineral water and sparkling wine in the room. Excellent transport links: metro for city centre, trains for Queluz and Sintra and intercity buses all from the same complex over the road. Also buses to Costa Caparica beach from nearby Praca de Espanha. We didn't eat in the hotel, but 5 minutes away is an excellent and cheap vegetarian restaurant, Green Pepper: http://www.greenpepper.com.pt/ We ate there most nights. There's also a supermarket in the nextdoor Twin Towers shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlsHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and as always we very much appreciate it. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to provide our guests a memorable stay with us. We are pleased that you found the transport links excellent.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is amazing. I upgraded to Business Executive and all I can say is this place rocks. The people here are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help you. The room is spacious enough and probably considered large for European standards, the extra ammenities however are what makes this place special. The Executive Club on the top floor has a generous variety of all sorts of canapes, libations, etc., all insanely delicious, a wide variety of newspapers, comfy couches, etc. All I can say is that is is good that they have a fabulous gym because I need it each evening after visitng the lounge. Last night, we were treated with a small band on the patio, lots of fun. I have not tried the spa services, but may have to check out at least one of them as they have an array of 25 or so different treatments. Located a 2 minute walk to the metro and a 5 minute walk to the Zoo, this is now on my list of hotels to stay in again. This was my 3rd trip to Lisbon and by far THE BEST hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty09407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redias, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Madam, Sir

Thank you for your time to comment on your recent stay here at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.
It’s always very nice to learn that our guests were happy with their stay because our main aim is to provide high levels of guest service throughout the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Executive Club Lounge as well as found the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon the best hotel you have stayed in Lisbon. It make us very proud.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Lisbon.

Kind Regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Lisbon

Property: Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Address: Av. Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro 105, Lisbon 1099-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city historic center, just a 3 minute walk from "Jardim Zoologico" Metro station, Corinthia Hotel Lisbon features a 3000 square-meters SPA with an indoor dynamic pool (wellness center), a fully equipped gym, an outdoor covered and heated pool and 13 treatment rooms. The Executive Club Lounge, unique in Portugal, with a 360º overview of the city of Lisbon comprehending an area greater than 2000 square-meters.All of the rooms have been tastefully decorated and fitted with LCD HD TVs featuring fully entertainment systems with satellite channels, video games, radio and video-on-demand. Each room has a private bathroom with free luxury toiletries, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities. Wi-Fi access is complementary. Family rooms available, with a capacity up to 5 people, and children until 12 years old stay for Free in Room Only basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Corinthia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing