We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Ranked #43 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as we stayed in the London one, but the difference is huge. This hotel is more like a 4 star hotel at its best. The lobby is nice and so is the pool area. Spa area is tiny and not complimentary for guests. Bit of a negative. Also silly things like you get no complimentary water was also a let down. Found a couple of small cockroaches in our bathroom on the last night which left a little bitter memory of the hotel but on the whole it's was ok. Good thing is its right next to metro station so travelling around Lisbon was easy. Also the staff were all very friendly and breakfasts was very good.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jagbrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review sharing your constructive feedback and as always we very much appreciated.

The Corinthia Hotel Lisbon is located in the financial district of Lisbon three minutes away from the metro, train, bus station and main roads of Lisbon which make it easy to access downtown or other parts of the city.

When reading your review we understand that we did not live up to your overall expectations. Please be assured we will investigate your comments further and we will do our utmost to ensure a more consistent service level in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in a perfectly crafted experience.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 5,934 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nice hotel and we were happy with our choice. The location is not central but the tube station is near so there is no problem with moving around Lisbon. We also found an excellent footpath to the city centre and it took around 30 minutes walk. We had a great room on top floor with amazing view and a comfy bed. The breakfast was really great and the only drawback was a queue in the morning to get to the restaurant.
If you are going to book this hotel based on spa facilities please mind that the pool is quite small and crowded with children therefore swimming wouldn't be your main activity in "Corinthia" Lisbon.
On the whole we would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViolaNysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are very happy that you had an overall very nice stay and that the views over the city and the comfortable bed left such a good impression upon you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future return to Lisbon.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are booking an Executive room is ok. Still problems with the rooms and maid's. The hotel have peculiar rules regarding the ventilation and heating pprogram. Very strange for a 5 stars hotel(on paper). Daniel Silva is the hidden gem from the Executive lounge club.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback and as always we very much appreciate it. We believe the only truly smart way to improve is by listening and taking actions in our guests concerns.

Regarding your comments on the maids they were shared with our Executive Housekeeping Manager to investigate and follow up with actions to improve.

We also thank you for your comments on our team member Daniel at the Executive Club Lounge.
Usually our heating/cooling system provides a good temperature throughout the hotel and we are sorry if it wasn’t up to your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and we will do our utmost to provide you a perfectly crafted experience.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have to start by saying yes this hotel has all the ascetics but it is very far away from the part of town you want to be in and on the weekends the place is deserted. Do not pay extra for the executive lounge it is not worth it. The breakfast is the only good thing there along with the person who does the made to order eggs. The executive lounge is extremely uncomfortable, you are watched the whole time you are there. If you make a coffee they watch you, if you use their computers they watch you. The lounge is to relax and enjoy the view and have a drink and a light appetizer. Especially at night when Joanna was working and heaven forbid you use more than 2 plates for the unappetizing appetizers she does not like it. She was clinking the plates and muttering under her breath. She was really rude. 2 beers at a time are put out, although if you ask they will get more. Very uncomfortable. Too bad Hilton isn't in town there is no comparison to the Hilton executive lounge. Joanna acted like she was paying for the food and drinks. The beds were good but the amenities lacked fragrance. Bring a bathing cap or else you have to pay 4 euro, both men and woman. No access to steam room or jacuzzi all extra and really expensive. There is no one there I don't understand why they can't open that up on the weekend. The breakfast in the lobby was very wonderful and they also had a little area set up for those that needed to catch a flight early. We tried to get advise for sightseeing and the woman was very short. My best advise is to do your homework before. Ride the tram #28 you will see all the great sites. The train is very easy and if you go out the front of the hotel cross the street and walk about 2 blocks down the train is right there. 2 stops from the hotel is a grocery store where you can pick up all kinds of goodies much better than you can get at the hotel. I will not stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for the executive lounge, very uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion and as always we appreciate all constructive feedback.

We were really surprised and disappointed to read the Executive Lounge was not up to your expectation. Usually the Executive Club Lounge is very appreciated by our guests and often recommended by other tripadvisor users. We are very sorry that this hasn’t provided the experience we aimed for. Please be assured we will investigate your comments further in order to improve for the future.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with our standards fully restored and in the spirit of Corinthia the craftsmanship of care.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Staff couldn't be anymore helpful. Nice rooms. Big and clean. Good facility's. Try to make you wear a hair hat for swimming so avoided the pool area. Lift system is a little funny. Nice breakfast. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your experience regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

It is always very nice to learn that our guests enjoyed their experience with us and we are delighted to read that you found the team helpful.

We thank you for your trust on Corinthia and we look forward to welcoming you back in a future opportunity.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent a wet three days in Lisbon. This hotel wouldn't let the bad weather spoil our time in Lisbon. Located in the business district 5 stops on the Metro from town was not a problem. We had a Executive double room on the 21st floor which looked out over the viaduct to the bridge in the bay. Breakfast in the 24th floor executive area was sumptuous and the happy hour each evening with drinks and nibbles with tapas and desserts was a great way to end the day. We may not have seen much of the night life in Lisbon but we were able to catch up with friends and family on Facebook and emails with the complimentary WiFi.
This was our best hotel in our 4 weeks holiday. We will be back to see Lisbon and region again and will definitely stay at the Corinthia.

Room Tip: Better views in the higher floors. Request a Viaduct view and spent a little extra to upgrade to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your experience at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We feel very pride to read your review and understand you had a wonderful experience with us and the Executive Club Lounge left such a good impression upon you.

We also thank you for your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the city.

Kind regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

There is a certain expectation of five star hotels in terms of service, facilities, cleanliness, etc, and the Corinthia meets all of these. Our 22nd floor junior suite was very well appointed and comfortable, and if I would have preferred a kettle to a Nespresso machine that's not a criticism! What set the hotel apart was the friendliness of all the staff which really made the difference: the facilities of a five star with the friendliness of a family hotel. Special note to Daniel our breakfast waiter and Rita at reception. It is well worth booking a room on the executive floors to have access to the lounge which offers an all day buffet and amazing views. Breakfast is excellent, too much to choose from. This hotel was recommended by a friend and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for the executive floors - it is worth it for the buffet alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athectorshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your experience here with us and that Daniel and Rita and all staff left such a good impression upon you. On behalf of the team I thank you for your praise.

We also thank you for your confidence on Corinthia Hotel Lisbon and we look forward to welcoming you back in a future opportunity.

Best regards,
Reuben Mifsud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
1,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.6 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Myriad by SANA Hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
999 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#24 of 255 in Lisbon
2,180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Lisbon

Address: Av. Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro 105, Lisbon 1099-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £92 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city historic center, just a 3 minute walk from "Jardim Zoologico" Metro station, Corinthia Hotel Lisbon features a 3000 square-meters SPA with an indoor dynamic pool (wellness center), a fully equipped gym, an outdoor covered and heated pool and 13 treatment rooms. The Executive Club Lounge, unique in Portugal, with a 360º overview of the city of Lisbon comprehending an area greater than 2000 square-meters.All of the rooms have been tastefully decorated and fitted with LCD HD TVs featuring fully entertainment systems with satellite channels, video games, radio and video-on-demand. Each room has a private bathroom with free luxury toiletries, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities. Wi-Fi access is complementary. Family rooms available, with a capacity up to 5 people, and children until 12 years old stay for Free in Room Only basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Corinthia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing