We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, with one strange exception.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masa Hotel Almirante
Ranked #173 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service, with one strange exception.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Comfortable hotel. Location near a metro stop, several food shops nearby. Staff very helpful with requests, with one strange exception. For the first few days of our stay, the towels that were removed for washing were not replaced, so our stock of towels gradually depleted. Asked twice about this at reception; first occasion no result; second occasion "would tomorrow be OK" - er um no it wouldn't - so the staff did then manage to find a set! (This was not a language problem, the staff's English is good) Miraculously, normal towel replacement service was eventually resumed. Wifi only available in the hotel lobby, but is free and worked fine in that location. Some refurbishment going on which seemed surprising in July/August. Breakfast selection a little basic. Hotel-organised shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianRGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    72
    53
    24
    37
See reviews for
49
71
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have not just long been back and i can say that the hotel was ok for the length of time we were there. But the breakfast selection could do with a bit more variety but saying that the hotel was undergoing a refurbishment which caused a bit of disruption but that did not worry us very much. I cannot fault the room that we had or the staff in the hotel as they were all very helpful and friendly and they all spoke very good English. The distance to the local metro station of Anjos was very close to the hotel. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and recommend it to anyone going to Portugal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel were quieter than facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wozza624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been there for some days, I liked all the staff (we were much well received by Rone), that is very kindly. It has a very good price. THe location was OK for us, because is close to one subway station. The only things that could be improved are the breakfast (I didn't like the yogurt) and don't have much variety, the cleaning of the carpet floor and air conditioning ducts; and the bathroom when you make a shower you must be very careful otherwise will wet all the floor. The one last thing that definitely I thing that would be better if they set wifi for all the hotel, because it only works on the lobby. But its a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Россия
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

we liked a lot that hotel is very budget and located 20 min walk from the river. on the same street 5 min walk we enjoyed amazing seafood restaurant "Cervejaria Ramiro". street is full of small hops with fruits and grocery. 20-30 min walk is the castle. there is small inconvenience- there are homeless on this Almirante street and in the evening it is not very comfortable to walk, still all people are friendly. Metro stop is right at the entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deseomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would like to make several comments about this hotel. First, the location was convenient for our needs as we had come to Lisbon for the Optimus Alive festival. A metro stop is just outside the hotel and we took this to the train and to our final destination of Algés. The breakfast is basic, fine for our needs, but if you require an elaborate selection I suggest you go elsewhere. I do have a complaint about the false advertising. The online photos are not accurate. Apparently they are simply the plans - for renovation. But there is NO GYM.This is listed, not only in the write up but there is a photo of the nonexistent fitness room. I chose this hotel based on this amenity and was quite disappointed there was no gym.

On the positive side, although not in the middle of things, this hotel was convenient for moving around Lisbon and the staff was friendly and competent. I must highlight one employee in particular who was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Roni checked us in upon our late arrival and was still working the following morning when my daughter and I had an issue with concert tickets in Lisbon. I was quite upset and although this had nothing to do with the hotel, he went out of his way to help us find a solution. And when I thanked him, he simply said, "I am just doing my job." I truly appreciated the help I received and for this reason alone I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
695 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is terrible, because this part of the city is known as not very safe at night. Anyway if you are looking for a cheap option but you should avoid after getting dark.

There´s some transports alternatives just a few meters from the hotel, but no attractions around.

The breakfast is basic, but acceptable.

The decor is old and the cleanness acceptable, for a 3 stars hotel.

For a single night or two can be acceptable if you don´t demand too much from it, but will no be a memorable stay on a good way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location. One thing that bothers me about the hotel is you have to go to the lobby to connect to the Internet and at times, the connection was difficult to make. I think most hotels are over that and this one should be , too.
The staff was courteous and helpful and the breakfast was just okay. The hotel is starting to wear out and is need of a facelift but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The price of a room is reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#105 of 248 in Lisbon
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dos Anjos
Hotel Dos Anjos
#230 of 248 in Lisbon
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#160 of 248 in Lisbon
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Czar Lisbon Hotel
Czar Lisbon Hotel
#174 of 248 in Lisbon
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#151 of 248 in Lisbon
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
America Diamonds Hotel
America Diamonds Hotel
#115 of 248 in Lisbon
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masa Hotel Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masa Hotel Almirante

Property: Masa Hotel Almirante
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 68 | Arroios, Lisbon 1150-020, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Almirante)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masa Hotel Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lisbon, The Almirante is within easy walking distance of downtown and only 15 minutes from the airport. Design for business and leisure travelers alike, each of the 59 comfortable rooms offers individually-controlled air conditioning, sound-proofed windows, mini-ba, cable TV, safe-deposit box and direct dial phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Masa Hotel Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almirante Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing