We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dom Sancho I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dom Sancho I
Ranked #190 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Initially, the staff placed me in pensioner a few streets down after arriving at the hotel. I was very disappointed as a pensionare is lower than a hotel. After a little complaint, I was moved back to the hotel when the water was working again in the hotel. The blue line is about a 500 meter walk. it is close to Roissy Square and walking distance to most places. The metro in Lisbon probably won't be as utilized by a tourist. There are only 2 lines that are away from tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GitaK0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    179
    102
    21
    22
See reviews for
43
164
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Dom Sancho I is a nice little pension / B&B, but it's not really a hotel as such. It's really easy to find being just 10 minutes from the main Rossio square. The airport bus and the Avenida metro station (on the Blue line) are just moments away, or you just follow the very well dressed tourists as it's sandwiched between a Gucci and a Prada! Check in was swift - staff speak very good English. Our room was clean and basic, but VERY small, with barely space to move around the double bed. The bathroom was even tinier (the door didn't open properly because the loo was in the way!) There was very little in the way of storage space in the room, but luckily our cases fitted under the bed, otherwise goodness knows where we'd have put them. There was a small desk and one chair (in a room for two people...) and a small flatscreen TV with a good range of channels in a range of languages.

Following reviews on TripAdvisor, we had been wary of a room at the front of the building due to the heavy traffic. However our room was on the third floor, not far from reception, and it faced onto the back of another building, so although there was a large window there was no natural light and no fresh air - the room was incredibly stuffy so we had to keep the air con on all the time we were in the room, including at night. There was a safe in the room but we had to pay €2 a day to use it, and the code was given to us by the receptionist (meaning that he knew the code to our safe - I didn't feel very comfortable about this)

In terms of the basic requirements of a hotel - a good sleep and a good shower - Dom Sancho I doesn't score well. Our bed was comfortable, but the noise from the aircon and the noise from other guests coming back very late and having loud conversations with the receptionist, who was not considerate enough to stop it, meant we often got woken up. To make matters worse, from 7am we were able to hear chatter and the crashing of crockery from the breakfast room. So sleep was generally lacking for all four nights. The shower was poor - it was over the bath and although water pressure was good it tended to run hot and cold. It was impossible to actually run a bath without the shower being on as well.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, preferring to eat at one of the many cafes nearby. Bela Ipanema, just opposite, was excellent. On our final day, we checked out at about 10.30am and we were able to leave our bags in the storage area (which was secure) until that evening when we returned to go to the airport.

All in all, Dom Sancho I is in a superb location, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the beds are comfortable. It's just too noisy to be relaxing - if it weren't for the en-suite bathroom this would be, essentially, a hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would be very noisy due to traffic; rooms elsewhere are near to reception or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckysimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dom Sancho I for two nights recenlty. Pros: Well located, clean, decent size rooms and good price. Cons: bed was like sleeping on plywood, water went out every morning for a period of time, lots of hallway noise, Portuguese breakfasts are basic but Dom Sancho I may redefine basic. Be aware that reasonably priced parking is several blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacala, Mozambique
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Hotel inn, is a small 2 star Inn located within one of the most incredible avenues in Lisbon downtown. Just a walk away from restaurants, worls class musicals, Rossio Sqr. and absoletly all the handy good stuff in town. If you go to Lisbon stay here, don´t worried about luxury, because there is a staircase away from you, right there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emídio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

A very nice, clean hotel in a great location. My only problem was that I was in the room right next to the kitchen and was woken at 7am by the banging of pots and pands from next door.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent four days of our vacation in Lisbon at the Dom Sancho. It is really well located on the ave.liberadade. in downtown Lisbon. It is right across from the subway and several bus stops are located across from the hotel. It is a two star, but the rooms are very clean, the building very secure and the advice from the front desk excellent . The breakfast was satisfactory. While staying in Lisbon we would recommend that you buy a Lisbon Card, that will give you up to 3 days access to the subway and bus systems, as well as deep discounts to museums and the aquarium. It can also be used to travel to Sintra, which is about a 30 minute train ride from Lisbon. We would stay at the Dom Sancho Again. It is the old story you get what you pay for. It is not a five star, but it is in a five star location. Prada, Gucchi, Versace, etc are all locate beside this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The rooms are very tastefully furnished for a hotel in this price bracket and so the outstanding feature is good value for money in an excellent location. Handy for the metro and airport bus, you are also within walking distance of the city centre sights. Breakfast adequate, although it's cleared away promptly on the stroke of ten. There is genuinely fast free wi-fi and the staff are accommodating. The downside is that the hot water supply is limited - it's piping in the evening but can be tepid in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard_Coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#147 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#153 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#196 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Botanico Hotel
Botanico Hotel
#144 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom Sancho I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Sancho I

Property: Hotel Dom Sancho I
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 202, Lisbon 1250-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dom Sancho I 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Sancho I is located on the tree-lined Avenida Da Liberdade, close to Lisbon's shopping and entertainment districts. It offers comfortable rooms with dark wood furnishings and wooden floors.Each room is equipped with air conditioning and a work desk. All rooms at the Dom Sancho are fitted with flat-screen TVs.A varied buffet breakfast is served each morning. Dom Sancho Hotel provides a 24-hour front desk and a car rental service. Laundry and ironing services are also available.The hotel is close to the historic Parque Eduardo VII, and is less than 20-minutes by car to Portela Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dom Sancho I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dom Sancho i Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Dom Sancho i Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing