We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dom Sancho I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dom Sancho I
Ranked #188 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Don't turn away because this hotel is located in the first floor. First of all the staff is very helpful. If you need any advice don't hesitate to ask at the reception. Good chance is you can even buy your ticket here as I did for the tourist bus. The breakfast buffet is cheap but has all the basics you need. The rooms are not big but they rarely are in capitals. However the locations makes fully up for the lack of space. You are right next to a metro and only 10 minutes away from the very core of Lisbon. I would stay here anytime I'm in Lisbon. I felt like being in a home away from home

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    179
    103
    21
    22
See reviews for
43
165
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great location. A walk away from the subway system which takes you to and from the Airport, Downtown, and connecting trains.I would recommend the breakfast however, if you're looking for the authentic breakfast experience there are plenty of options close by to choose from.
Staff were friendly, and helpful. With most European hotel rooms they were small, but what do I care?! I'm in Portugal!! Stayed 6 nights at the end of October 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The rooms were rather on the small side but considering the price one would hardly complain.The location was very good for us as it was only a block from the Hard Rock Cafe which is where the majority of tourist busses pick up. (Viator etc.) The lock on our door didn't work but by the time we came back from a day out sightseeing it had been replaced. One of the reception staff had limited English,but the others were extremely well spoken and all were VERY helpful in regard to tours,sights etc. Breakfast was basic but enough to get you started for the day, I think if they had some eggs,even if hard boiled ,it would have made a big difference to just bread or rolls every morning. My general opinion is Small but Cosy rooms with friendly staff,I would stay there again if in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main road or you may end up with a view of the back alley and clothesline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is centrally located. Main attractions and the main plaza are all a walking distance from the hotel. You must take a few steps up before reaching the lift that takes you the 2nd floor where the hotel is located. The rooms are small but clean. The front desk was very helpful and accommodating. He recommended the breakfast and wi-fi package as a cheaper option. Very fast and reliable wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Lisbon. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy overall. The location is very good. Situated on the picturesque Avenida Liberdade surrounded by upmarket shops, the central area of Lisbon is a pleasant 10 minute walk. Avenida metro station is 2 minutes away and there is a bus stop for the Aerobus to/from the airport nearby. The hotel itself is situated on the 2nd floor of a grand residential block. It is fairly basic but has a warm, cosy feel to it. The rooms are not massive in size but are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms perhaps could do with some updating as water leaked from underneath the bath and flooded the floor. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to share tips about their city. We didn't have breakfast included but could pay 5 euros for breakfast if we wanted. We did this 1 morning and it was ok, nothing special. Just the usual standard continental cheese and ham, breads, tea/coffee, orange juice. Was probably worth 5 euros but not spectacular. My only real critisism of our stay is that because the rooms are located on the same floor as the breakfast area, you can hear clattering and banging of cups, plates etc from the staff from about 7am so not the place for a lie in! All in all though, a good hotel in a very good location. We paid just 20 euros per night. You will struggle to find a hotel of similar quality in this area of the city for that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manc_Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Excellent location in the high rent district. The main square, Rossio, is a short 10 min walk away. The subway is a block away and resturants and shopping are all around and a few blocks to central Lisbon. The Dom Sancho is a basic 2 star facility, friendly and clean. Nice but simple buffet breakfast can be added. The 24 hour desk was always helpful and English was spoken. Internet access was available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The place is clean, but small. It is well located, the rooms are clean but small, beds are not so comfty, if you have back problems you better think twice about staying in here.
They have a "breakfast buffet" package, which is ok, but the brekfast is pretty basic and plain. If you like to eat lite breakfast then it is fine, but for the same price you can eat a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#142 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#153 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#196 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Botanico Hotel
Botanico Hotel
#147 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom Sancho I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Sancho I

Property: Hotel Dom Sancho I
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 202, Lisbon 1250-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dom Sancho I 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Sancho I is located on the tree-lined Avenida Da Liberdade, close to Lisbon's shopping and entertainment districts. It offers comfortable rooms with dark wood furnishings and wooden floors.Each room is equipped with air conditioning and a work desk. All rooms at the Dom Sancho are fitted with flat-screen TVs.A varied buffet breakfast is served each morning. Dom Sancho Hotel provides a 24-hour front desk and a car rental service. Laundry and ironing services are also available.The hotel is close to the historic Parque Eduardo VII, and is less than 20-minutes by car to Portela Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dom Sancho I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dom Sancho i Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Dom Sancho i Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing