We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect value for your money”
Review of Altis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altis Suites
Ranked #112 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Ede Holland
1 review
“perfect value for your money”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Atis suites. The staff was very friendly and always helped us finding the best places to eat and to see. We had an apartment at the 7th floor at the front. No noise at all. Atis suites is very near bus, metro and shopping area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the front are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desireevd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    128
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
157
53
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was a great alternative to a hotel room. Although I was not there long enough to take full advantage of the entire suite (living room, kitchenette) I was very comfortable. The view from my room was terrible (construction scaffolding within feet of the window), but that was a great reason to leave and walk around. Nice front desk staff. Did NOT like the key policy for the doors. You were required to leave the key at the desk when ever you left the hotel. There was no inroom safe... just seemed less secure this way. However, in all fairness, I had no security issues. Just a level of comfort.

Room Tip: You had construction on one side or the road on the other. Perhaps a higher floor level would be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Perfect value for money ! (we booked a deal including breakfast and internet access)
Very spacious rooms and the friendliest staff we have encountered so far in Portugal (both in the altis suites 4* and in the altis hotel 5* restaurant and breakfast area). A special thank you to the Parking staff and to the maids, who did their best to make the stay with our 7 weeks old baby as pleasant as possible (providing an extra baby bath, etc.).
Upon arrival, the receptionist also tried to give us some extra information on family-friendly excursions, sites-to-see in and around Lisbon.
Actually, we can say that every single question we may have had, during our stay, was answered with a "yes" and a smile. The staff is not only well trained, but appears to like their job at the Altis as well !

The only thing that we can mention as a negative aspect is the flight of steps at the entrance of the building (so not suitable for guests with babies in strollers or wheelchairs, etc.) and since there is no internal access from the suites to the hotel, this means you have to pass this obstacle at least a couple of times per day.
And as for the bathroom and kitchenette in the room, although everything we needed was there (and definitely enough space), it seems as if there hasn't been anything done to the infrastructure in the last 15 years. for example : a toilet with a white plastic seat in a 4* hotel ?? The fridge that is not properly built-in (and stocks no mini-bar drinks ! ).
But these are merely details, compared to the spacious room and the friendly service we got.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelaMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you choose the Altis Suits as opposed to the hotel you are ushered to what looks like the tradesman's entrance and down a set of stairs into a small and dingy reception. The room was OK but a bit tired. Internet access is available at a very expensive €25 per day!! Staff at the hotel were rude but the breakfast was OK. When I next go to Lisbon I'll be looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My family and I stayed at the Altis Suites Hotel. We loved the appartment, lots of space, fully equipped kitchenette, ver clean and the location is great. Breakfast was great, swimming pool a bit old but fine.
The down side is that we reserved appart 11C (a written confirmation was sent to us by email) two months in advance, when we arrived we were told that 11C was already taken and they gave us 10C. That made me have a bad feeling about the service the hotel provides, a confirmation MUST be respected at all times, that shows respect for the clients. Because of that, we feel that we cannot trust staff and for our next time to Lisbon (we will defintively go back) we will search for another hotel.
Another down side is the price of internet, 20 euro per 24 hours is outrageous, these days modern hotels include internet in the price.
To finish, beds are quite hard, but furniture more than adequate.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with view to the street (Castilho), and ask for an upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located at the quite spot couple of short blocks from the Avenida – the main Lisbon street with all its shops and restaurants. The old center is about 10-15 minutes’ walk. We stayed in very nice large and clean two room suite. No problems of any kind with service, reception, parking (we just asked the valets to park our car), etc. The only minuses I should mention:
1. Non-existent view from the window (probably different for other suites).
2. Construction outside our windows started every morning around 8 AM, but we were up at that time anyways.
3. AC in one of the rooms did not work very well, but we did not notice it until the last night and did not ask anyone to fix it.
Overall, a very nice stay in a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yury_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltisLisbon, General Manager at Altis Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Thank you for your comment on your stay and we are glad that we contributed to a good experience in Lisbon.

Effectively works on the nearby building are sometimes disturbing, we are happy that they are close to a finish...

We have already asked maintenance to check the air conditioning on your apartment.

Hope to welcome you back soon to Altis Suites and to Lisbon.

Ruben Paula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed for a week in the Altis Suites in Lisbon. We look forward to going back one day. The suites are more like apartments, quietly located one block from the arterial Avenida Liberdade with access to the Metro a five minute walk along tree lined boulevards. The upper suites offer spectacular views across the roof tops of beautiful Lisbon. One can enjoy a leisurely breakfast on the private terrace bathed in sunshine until late morning. The kitchen, though compact, was very well equipped for everything except banquets. We cooked everything from scrambled eggs to curry to steak au poivre.

The décor and furnishing of the suites/apartments appealed greatly to us. With very directional light from the terrace, tobacco walls, dark teak furniture and wooden floors it felt like a film set from a remake of Our Man in Havana. Beautiful light and shade, little nooks and crannies to admire, very comfortable with a nicely firm double bed. Large televisions in both the lounge and the bedroom. The power shower was very welcome although we felt a little guilty about being unable to prevent water leaking from beneath the shower screen on to the bathroom floor.

At €90/night we considered it relatively good value for money. Access to the adjacent Altis Hotel pool and gym is included in the price.

We only had two issues but one of them is quite serious. We always check out the emergency stairs and were alarmed to find that the emergency exits were actually blocked by the storage of three beds. We mentioned this at reception and the blockage was reduced to two beds, where it remained for the rest of the week. This is not acceptable. We shouldn’t need to be re-learning these lessons.

The other problem is trivial but we were surprised to find that internet access was offered at the extortionate rate of €20/day or €70/week. We pointed out without rancour that at home we could buy almost a year’s internet subscription for their weekly rate. This did result in their giving us one day’s use without any charge – for which many thanks. Having hooked that up we discovered that the bandwidth ran at approximately 0.3mbps, which was hopeless for most business tasks.

The fire escape issue aside, we loved the Altis Suites.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubidenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#52 of 248 in Lisbon
662 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#97 of 248 in Lisbon
645 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#88 of 248 in Lisbon
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
246 reviews
The Vintage Lisboa
#56 of 248 in Lisbon
765 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Suites

Property: Altis Suites
Address: Rua Castilho 13, Lisbon 1250-066, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#86 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the the city centre, the Altis Suites is a Family Hotel located just next door to the Hotel Altis. It is the best bet for business, leisure or long stay travelers, offering all the comforts at home with privacy and functionality. Altis Suites feature 40 luxury suites and 2 penthouses, each with their own living room, bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom and parking. The rooms have a comfortable decoration, modern equipment, 24 hour reception desk, laundry, cleaning of the rooms, room service, broad band internet access, among other services. The clients staying at the Suites are invited to use the facilities of the Hotel Altis, such as Health Club, indoor heated swimming Pool, Restaurant, Coffee Shop, Bars, business centre, Shopping area, hair dresser. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Altis Suites is a member of the Classic collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Altis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing