We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family hotel”
Review of Altis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altis Suites
Ranked #107 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A family hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This hotel was perfect for a weekend with the family.
The location of the hotel was perfect in the vicinity of tourist hop-on-of busses and the subway. The subway was also an easy way to get to/from the airport.

since each apartment had one bedroom and one living room, it was possible to let our son seep in the bedroom and me and my wife could relax in the living room.

Room Tip: Difficult to say. But the view become better with higher floors. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgenFrohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltisLisbon, General Manager at Altis Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for your review. Nice to hear that you have had a perfect family weekend in Altis Suites.

Hope we can welcome you back soon to Lisbon and to Altis Suites.

Season’s greetings,

Ruben Paula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    131
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
161
54
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

When I read the excellent remarks inserted by other fellow travellers, I arrive to the conclusion that we've stayed at different places... Rooms are large, yes. But if you are in family, someone must sleep in the living and dining-room. The distribution is impractical. The garage is terrible, with a very stretch elevator. Location is good, some 20 minutes walk from the Praça da Figueira. Three supermarkets nearby. Good WiFi. You can use the pool of the neighbouring Altis Hotel... but you must get out to the street in order to get there and back home (and in winter Lisbon may be cold). Things were out of order: the refrigerator and a lamp (that was completely broken and should be replaced). Staff has good will, but nothing more. I was left for scary 20 minutes kept in the narrow space between the car elevator and the garage door, simply because they forgot I was there (Americans sue you for something like that). I left some books for friends of mine in Lisbon, and they never found them afterwards. The receptionist generated me an incident with AVIS staff, because he took from me the phone, saying my Portuguese was not good, and then practically insulted AVIS people in front of me (I had to beg their pardon myself later, if I wanted to rent a car). Better help yourself!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoRabinovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltisLisbon, General Manager at Altis Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your review, it was with concern that I have read it.

We will be using it to prevent such episodes from happening in the future (the elevator, equipment and AVIS situations).

Hope you will give us a chance on your next stay in Lisbon.

Merry Christmas,

Ruben Paula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed as a family of 2 adults, 3 children for 6 nights. The suites are useful if you want cooking facilities and the location is fantastic.

BUT- the stay was not without problems
1. We requested a cot. When we arrived (at 11.30pm) we got a camp bed.
We made several complaints about the extremely uncomfortable sofa bed and sloping/broken camp beds. Not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel.
2. The facilities felt tired. Steps at the front of the hotel were a pain with a pushchair. Service felt sloppy.
3. The staff were OK, until we had to make a complaint about a hugely inflated taxi charge they added to our bill and refused to let us check out without paying it, saying we could take it up with the manager when we returned home. We requested a taxi to the airport which they booked, but did not tell us how much it would be - turned out to be 60 Euros (which I would never have agreed to, bearing in mind that we paid 20 on the way to the hotel from the airport). There was no discussing it with them - and several emails to the manager later and not even a response. Time to get the livro de reclamacoes...

It was a disappointment. I'd avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltisLisbon, General Manager at Altis Suites, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for your review and following reviews like yours we have been investing on the renovation of our sofa beds and will be changing the bed toppers and linen shortly (we will keep you updated on that).

Concerning the taxi charge, as I have promptly answered you it was a misunderstanding as we felt you were asking for a car that would fit you all and regular taxis only fit four people. Anyhow, being a misunderstanding we have, as you are aware, refunded you for that cost, reason why I believe the situation was correctly addressed.

Hope we can welcome you back on a next trip to Lisbon.

Best regards,

Ruben Paula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Altis Suites would be perfect for a vacation with famiy, friends, or couples. Hotel is well located - convenient to all sightseeing attractions. Staff is friendlly and helpful. Our reservation included a the breakfast buffet in the adjoining Altis hotel - excellent food quality and quantity, and a wide vareity of breakfast items.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Fantastic accommodation - can not be faulted. I travelled with my two sons over half term for a short break and chose the suites (apartments) to have two sleeping areas. Very large, spotless and stylish. The suites are next door to the 5 star Altis Hotel and give full use of all facilites, including indoor pool, gym, restaurants and cocktail bar. Every star is well deserved, the servie is second to none.

Room Tip: for a family visit, the apartments work out alot less expensive than two rooms, especially if one ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a fantastic apartment, which had a large living area, a huge bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. There was enough room for our family of 4 and was very central.
The rates were very reasonable (about 100 euros/night) with room service daily.
I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment that faces the street as these apartments have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede Holland
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Atis suites. The staff was very friendly and always helped us finding the best places to eat and to see. We had an apartment at the 7th floor at the front. No noise at all. Atis suites is very near bus, metro and shopping area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the front are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desireevd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#52 of 251 in Lisbon
675 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#103 of 251 in Lisbon
654 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#90 of 251 in Lisbon
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 251 in Lisbon
273 reviews
The Vintage Lisboa
#58 of 251 in Lisbon
775 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Suites

Property: Altis Suites
Address: Rua Castilho 13, Lisbon 1250-066, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#84 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the the city centre, the Altis Suites is a Family Hotel located just next door to the Hotel Altis. It is the best bet for business, leisure or long stay travelers, offering all the comforts at home with privacy and functionality. Altis Suites feature 40 luxury suites and 2 penthouses, each with their own living room, bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom and parking. The rooms have a comfortable decoration, modern equipment, 24 hour reception desk, laundry, cleaning of the rooms, room service, broad band internet access, among other services. The clients staying at the Suites are invited to use the facilities of the Hotel Altis, such as Health Club, indoor heated swimming Pool, Restaurant, Coffee Shop, Bars, business centre, Shopping area, hair dresser. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Altis Suites is a member of the Classic collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing