We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but wonder where they get the 5* from”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #86 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Booked a 3 night special deal through our airline so for me the price-quality ratio was good. Had I paid the usual advertised price I would have been extremely disappointed.

The hotel claims on their website that they are 5*. Sorry, but to me it was 3,5 at the most.

Staff at reception are friendly. They have a huge problem with their elevators though. They can only be operated (for going up) by using your room key card. This would often not work, but once you realised the doors had already closed and wouldn't even open anymore. Luckily both times I got stuck a staff member quickly came to the rescue.

Had a room on the front side of the building with french balcony. Like to sleep with fresh air so had the balcony doors open. The previous reviewer already mentioned the xmas lights on the outside wall, but luckily they didn't touch our windows. The hotel seems to be on the flight path to and from the airport though, and flights continue throughout the night. This makes for a very restless sleep!!

Breakfast was not included in our rate but at check-in this was not confirmed. They had to recheck when I asked and was then told that the breakfast price per person would be a whopping EUR 20. Needless to say I never saw the breakfast room.

The room itself was not as clean as one would like to see it. Lots of stains on the carpet and in the bathroom. The room was of a good size though. And yes: the mattress is very firm. Pillows are good and comfortable. I found it strange that they still use blankets on the bed rather than duvets (comforters), not what you'd expect to see in a so-called 5* hotel in 2012...
The glass in the mirrors must have been second choice: depending on the angle you look in them the room goes to funny shapes :-)

A few doors along from the hotel is a good-sized supermarket. Bottled water costs EUR 0,12 here, better than the EUR 3,- a bottle they try and charge you at the hotel...

Public transport in Lisbon is very good and the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Picoas metro station (yellow line).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed fot 2 nights while travelling to Lisbon, very clean hotel with great friendly staff. Not to far from city centre and ideal for metro travel from airport and to/from city.

Great value for money, lovely room kept well clean.

Fantastic selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stayed for 2 nights when it was quite windy. The hotel had placed some Christmas type lights hanging on the front wall - these lights were banging the window frames all night long and caused such noise which made sleeping literally impossible. Otherwise ok, but would not give 5 stars even if the room would have been quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here with friends as a trip to celebrate my birthday. Fantastic from start to finish. We were on the fourth floor in good sized rooms overlooking the rear of the hotel.. These were always spotlessly clean. Beds could definitely be described as firm! Not a problem for us though.One my actual birthday they left a bottle of fizz and cake in our room for when we returned at the end of the day!
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and although the food could not in any way be described as Portuguese style it was absolutely delicious. Came with a free bottle of wine! Breakfast in the mornings was another delightful experience. We were hitting the room at about 9.30 so not experiencing queues. The fare was beautifully presented, always plentiful and really set us up for a day of sight seeing. ALL the staff were absolutely fantastic and could not have made our stay any better.
5 min walk to the metro. You can buy a card similar to an Oyster card and reload it with money. We believe that each trip regardless of distance seemed to cost about 1.15E. Easy to get to and from the airport and access the centre. Try Tram 28 and Tram 15 out to Belem to experience the sights of the city. A day pass might allow you to hop on and off more but we were happy to just sit.
Huge Cortes Ingres v close to hotel but also a Pingo Doce supermarket if you just want to pop in for something.
Try Campos Restaurant, 19 Rua Fillipe Folque for a traditional Portuguese food experience.
A beautiful city which we will definitely be returning to in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Real Palacio provided excellent value for money for our party of three couples on a winter break. whilst not bang in the centre it is close to about four metro stations. (Sao Sebastiao on the red line is about a five minute walk and is ideal if you arrive at the airport. Aeroporto is the first stop on this line Sao Sebastiao is the last). Probably about a 20 minute walk into town but might take longer coming back as it will be uphill. I say probably because we just used the metro all the time. The Viva Viagem card with credit for five days cost about 25 Euro each and can be used on tram, bus, metro, and "Elevadors" considering one trip on Elevador Sao Juste cost three Euros fifty I felt it was outstanding value for money.
Back to the hotel, room comfortable, good variety of breakfast choices, both hot and cold. I am told the gym was fine. There is a little cafe (Bica e Agua possibly ) about a 1 minute walk away where we got incredibly cheap wine and beer.

All in all the Real Palacio was a great location, maybe four stars rather than five, no pool.

Room Tip: Get the daily travel card, eat at least one pasta del nata (custard tart) Book a tuk tuk tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonrakerSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My partner and I took a short break here in early spring and were delighted with the location, the hotel, and staff. Although the room didn't have a double bed they made one up from the two singles. The location was ideal and being not far from the underground system, the metro, we popped in and out whilst exploring. The staff were always very helpful and friendly and even recommended a local festival to go to.
Bit disappointed with the restaurant which I felt was overpriced. I guess it depends whether you enjoy cooking at home....if you do, you may find it better to look outside the hotel as we did, apart from the one night we ate in.
All in all it was well worth the money and would return again.
Thank you staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good location within walking distance of the Gulbenkian museum one of Europe's finest. Rooms are a tad small, but after all you are just going to sleep there. Also an easy walk to the Cortes
Ingles super shopping center. Not particulary close to downtown Lisbon. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Outstanding buffet breakfast. We were there for 3 nights on a Vantage tour

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,502 reviews
Hotel Real Parque
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
1,330 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,413 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £30 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing