We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and happy hotel”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #85 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable and happy hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff who accommodated most of our requests eg extension of check out date if possible. The rooms are hoovered and bedsheets changed every day which is good! The jacuzzi in the spa could be cleaned a bit more often but otherwise spa, gym, sauna and steam rooms were good with Molton brown body and hairwash.

The staff at the spa and those cleaning our rooms along with the receptionists (and most portuguese people) were humble, friendly and very nice to talk to, despite the language barrier.

Breakfast was perfect, variety and a new special sweet dish every day! Pink cupcakes, then blue cupcakes, then rice pudding, etc

Only improvement would be to change the carpets in the rooms. They are clean but have several stains...and the tv is a bit old, no flat screen but I wasn't that bothered.

We're close to a Sheraton and several other local cafes and restaurants. Definitely recommend exploring those instead of the hotel restaurant that was quite pricey and not that tasty food (despite being previously rated as a Michelin star restaurant, apparently)

There's an big department store 5 mins walk behind the hotel.

Overall very happy with our first experience in Portugal, Obrigada (thank you!!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    876
    269
    73
    25
See reviews for
414
1,022
100
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and were generally pleased. The hotel is tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Couple of points:
There is no WI-fi in the rooms- only in the lounge.
They have nice spa/gym but no pool.

Location wise, it's a bit out (40 minutes walk to town centre) but the nearest metro/underground is 5 minutes walk away.
There are quite a few nice restaurants with in 5 minutes walk which always helps..

Overall, would still definitely recommend the hotel. I would rate it as a 4 star rather than 5.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C1ause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

So our room may have been a little dated & the wi fi is only available on the ground floor communal area. Its in the city centre with no views. But the staff were first class, breakfast is an outstanding buffet, the food in the main restaurant is excellent & the bar is just really comfortable. Good quality small gym & a small good quality spa where I got an excellent massage following the Lisbon Marathon. Good location for the underground

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyharry34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Clean hotel with great location. Near a departmental store, supermarket is the pros of the hotel. Easy access to the metro! But, we got a twin bed room insted of double bed room. Back to the hotel at night and it's a bit late for us to join the fitness centre, what's a waste. love the cleanliness anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choy_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel is located a bit up from the city centre, near the El Corte Inglés shopping centre and the São Sebastião Metro station (with a direct line to the airport).

Most parts of the hotel is fairly modern (late 1990s or so), while a small part is significantly older. It does not seem like any parts of the hotel will have any views to speak of.

The friendly staff assigned me a room just above the reception, thus I had WiFi coverage in my room. In most rooms internet is only available via a cabled connection.

Room was modern and nice. My only problem was that the drain plug in the bathtub was stuck.

The restaurant served good meals.

Staff was helpful, friendly and polite.

I would be happy to come back if the price was competitive to hotels located downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed here for combined business/long weekend trip. Rooms OK, but bed was rock solid. Did not have a nice city view as promised on Last minute, My view looked out the back and you could see tiny corner of city. Breakfast choice was good. Good for underground and catching other public transport. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#105 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#60 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#66 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Property: Hotel Real Palacio
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#68 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing