We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 start staff, great location and great value”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #87 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The fantastic friendly and helpful staff really make the difference at the Real Palacio. It may be more 4 start than 5 in terms of the building/ rooms and similar but for what we paid we could not be happier and the staff could not have been more helpful. From the moment we arrive until checkout and beyond all staff were incredibly helpful from reception, to restaurant to the spa. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble, all helped with suggestions on getting into town and around, printing an urgent contract for my husband when he could not read it on his tablet not having brought a lap top, offered a late check out and more. Our room a suite was a great size, comfortable and quiet. The fed is fairly firm. We used the spa and gym facilities every day and they were great. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the metro and buses. €11 by taxi from the airport, Near an excellent shopping centre and supermarkets. €6 for a 24 hour viva vigram card to use on any bus, metro or tram and and less that 10 min on the metro into the town centre.We really enjoyed our stay at the Real Palacio which was great value and had a lovely breakfast. Yes there are some minor maintenance issues but they do not detract from the stay and are reflected in the good value of the hotel. There is only wifi in the reception areas which they need to resolve. .

Room Tip: Room 302 very quiet with balcony but not the best view. There is no wifi in the room so if your lapt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwimumfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

The room cost around $100 a night, the hotel is clean, quite, we slept well, the location isn't in the think of the action if your a tourist, but there are three different subway stops that are reasonably close to the hotel, which makes getting around really easy, (the day pass on the subway costs 6 Euro, and 50 for the card buy you can ride everything but the tourist buses, a great deal since each of the 3 funiculars costs 3.50 each way, the elevator is included and cost 5, and the 28 tram is also 3.50 each way, we probably would have spent more like 30 euro in one day).

The breakfast was nice to start the day, the only complaint I have is that our room was so hot that we had to keep the window open all night. Also, I should have seen this on their website, but I foolishly just assumed their would be wifi.... there isn't. In the lobby you can get it but it will cost you, in the room that isn't even available.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had a great few days at the Real Palacio mostly thanks to the staff who seemed only too pleased to help with anything we needed. We arrived at the hotel before the designated 2pm check-in time, as we had taken the early BA from London, and noticed the couple in front of us kicking up a bit of a fuss about the hotel NOT having a room ready for them. When it came to our turn, we smiled sweetly to Paulo (the check-in assistant) and asked if we could sort the paperwork and leave our bags as we completely understood our room wouldn't be ready. I think he was so surprised that he let us use the spa to freshen up, and when we returned from our outing sometime later he had upgraded our room!! We also found the location good, very near the big department store and two Metro lines, one direct to the airport and the other into town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnyFarrside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My brother and I stayed here on business and thought the hotel was very good value. The rooms were very clean, and there were many shops/restaurants nearby. I would recommend it to our work colleagues.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The place is quiet but it is a little far away from the center although you can use a taxi that costs approximately 10 euros. The staff is very kind and the breakfast has a good variety of goods. Eating in the restaurant however is rather expensive. There is no wifi in the rooms but you can borrow a utp cable from the reception, although if there is a conference taking place they can run out of them. The conference facilities were also moderate and we also faced internet connection problems.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Fairly good location, good sized, comfortable clean rooms and outstanding service by staff. Breakfast was extremely expensive. Really should offer free wifi in rooms, its only avaiable in a small portion of lobby. Bar service is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barranquitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I was really excited to stay at the Real Palazzio as it was my first time in Lisbon and the first 5 star hotel of our 8 day Portugal/Spain trip. When booking, I was deciding between here and a hotel closer to the water, which in hindsight, would have been better. Ultimately I went with the Real Palazzio due to the spa facility pictures and as a 5 star establishment I was anticipating impeccable service. In reality, the spa leaves much to be desired. The hot tub was filthy (you couldn't have paid me to get in) and everything else appeared to be broken or turned off permanently. The shower in our room made a mess every time you turned on the water because the curtain was like a piece of sheer paper. The room was fine, what I would expect (and have experienced) from a 3 star European hotel It definitely was not like the pictures on the website. There was one staff member that went out of his way to help us with directions, but otherwise I found the staff to be too occupied with talking among themselves. I'd recommend staying in the Bairro Alto or closer to the water as it will also make your sightseeing more convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CjBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,501 reviews
Hotel Real Parque
#127 of 255 in Lisbon
1,326 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
1,413 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing