We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a calm neighbourhood - not 5 stars though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #85 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a calm neighbourhood - not 5 stars though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent 4 days in Lisbon from in mid april 2013.
We travelled as a couple and was at the same time part of a larger group.

We were all placed on the 1st floor. We had room 128. A clean room with what you would expect and that's basically it. A very old TV with an even older remote control - you couldn't barely see the numbers on it.

This is officially a 5 star hotel and we got our rooms at a very cheap rate.

Ok size room and clean. But we were amazed when our towels were changed. We got a towel with very visible spots on which obviously couldn't be removed in laundry. And there were very visible holes in one of the towels. We haven't tried that before. To be fair the towels was clean enough, but if it was in our own private home, towels in such a poor condition would have thrown out long ago.

The beds were pretty hard.
We don't know what was on the second floor. But one of the nights it was impossible to fall asleep because of loud noises. It sounded like someone dragged furniture around upstairs. It couldn't have been other hotel guests since it lasted for approximately 20 minutes.

The hotel offers free wi fi on the ground floor and -1 floor.
The breakfast buffet was nice with what you would expect, cereal, fruits, bread, pastries, cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and beans, small sausages etc. But the staff was too slow filling up, for instance bringing new pancakes.

We didn't use the spa but others from our group did and they recommended it. The hotel also has a sauna.

The hotel is located a little outside the city centre. But two metro stations are nearby and taxis are cheap. The metro station Parque is a three minutes walk away and the metro line takes you directly to the city centre.
The neighbourhood is very calm and safe.
There is a supermarket a one minute walk away.

Taking the trams now and then is a good way to get around the city. Even though we knew we had to be aware of pickpockets, one person from our group still got her purse stolen. So be careful.
Btw we recommend you to buy a card to the city's transportation systems. You can refill it like an oyster card (London) and it is valid in the metro, tram, buses and even trains if you fancy trips outside of Lisbon as we did.

Actually we were very surprised how friendly the inhabitants of Lisbon were. We were helped many times by people who wanted to help, when they saw we needed help.
We come from Scandinavia where almost everybody speaks english. And when you travel in south Europe people often speak english very poorly for instance in Spain and Italy.
People in Lisbon spoke the best english we have heard in south Europe. It makes it so much easier to travel.

Overall after visiting hotel Real Palacio we got the impression that 5 stars is a quite overrated. We will give it 3,5 or 4 at best, based on comparisons with the 3, 4 and 5 stars hotels we've visited in other cities.
Therefore for a 5 star hotel we think it's rather average and that's why we can't give it more than 3 stars in our review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilla_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    812
    238
    68
    25
See reviews for
359
949
92
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hotel is lovely and lots of shops, bars, restaurants close by, the staff are extremely friendly, and rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. The bed is really comfortable. After a day of exploring the city we thought we would try the sauna/ steam room and hot tub which was included in the price and it was great and so quiet, had it all to ourselves. It was really nice to chill after a lot of walking. I hope to go back soon, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexiBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The ambience, the character, the helpfulness of the staff, the well-appointed lounge (not bar) and bar, and superb restaurant (try the chicken w/ shrimp), the patio, the opulent room with canopied bed, ceiling-to-floor and beyond drapes, bathroom with a bidet and two bathrobes w/ slippers, 3 phones in room. Yes, I was impressed. Location is so very good - about midway between the pier and airport, and yes central to downtown. Has internet access on floor -1. Apparently, there are 5 or 6 floors below ground level and 6 above. I was on first floor that had separate elevator from the rest of the floors. 0 was ground floor. Price was right! Can't say enough about the caring by the staff. They did go out of their way to make my stay comfortable and relaxing. Concierge checked the cab's meter on the day I left for the airport, because I had been overcharged by the cab driver from the pier on the first day to the tune of 45 euros. I was told it should not have been more than 15 e.
I'd give this hotel all 5's EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank day-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have just returned from Lisbon after a short 2 night break with my younger sister. We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, we were lucky enought to get an upgrade to a suite. Although basic, very clean, beds ok.TV a bit old fashioned, buit we werent there to watch it. We were half board for the fantastic price of £95 a night. The food was very well presented and tasty. Posh would be my sum up, and if you like a drink be warned its not cheap at 7Euro for a glass of wine, where in comparision to a small cafe in town 95 cents !! A grey Goose vodka on my last night set me back 12 e !! oh well it was a treat. Lisbon is a wonderful city.My sister and Ii packed in as much as we could. would definatly go back. And to this hotel. the staff were lovely and friendly as are most of the portugese.A small moan ref the wifi , I never got online yet . But well i can live with that for 2 days . Im back in Portugal end of sept for a week to Obidos.need anight in Lisbon, so will be pricing it up x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NellScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip - 2 minute walk to my meetings, so convenient in that respect; also 2 minutes from El Corte Ingles shopping mall; and 5 minutes walk to the park which you can then follow down to the city.

On a business trip, there are certain essentials: Internet access (doesn't have to be wireless, but any reliable working connection would be good); early check-in (12.00 midday is hardly too much to expect is it? Especially when requested a week previously). Some of the staff were very helpful, others less so.

The bedroom (1st floor) was well-appointed, large with a small terrace, but not well soundproofed: noise carried down from the room above which I believe are family suites e.g. chairs being scraped along tiles, so I needed earplugs to block out the noise. AC / heating didn't seem to work - either hot or cold.

Typical buffet breakfast with good selection of hot & cold dishes; coffee was from a large urn so not great (considering the amount of good coffee they consume in Portugal this is somewhat surprising). Bar menu and wine selection both good.

The bar terrace seems to be unavailable due to corporate events during the daytime, which is less annoying as a tourist I guess than it was for me.

This hotel is quite expensive by Lisbon standards, and colleagues subsequently recommended several other less expensive but better hotels which I would try if I visit on business again. Perhaps the hotel is resting on the laurels of its history as a private mansion back in the day; for me, there were too many little niggles for this to be a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent hotel, in a well located part of the city, with a very short walk to transit, shopping and restaurants

Service was great, with very friendly staff, especially in the onsite reastaurant over breakfast.

The room we had was perfectly suited for our stay which easily accomodated a family with a 3yr old.

Great value!

Room Tip: Make time for the breakfast buffet, well worth it and good amount of variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller155019251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

When we planned out trip to Lisbon we considered renting a 2br apartment as our family includes two very young children (5 and 1). We came across this hotel and the suite price was cheaper than the apartments we considered. Our suite on the 2nd floor was absolutely perfect for us: it was spacious and comfortable and the excellent breakfast was a nice bonus. The staff at the hotel was friendly, approachable with any questions and eager to help. The location was convenient and easy to walk to and from with a stroller. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#99 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#60 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#42 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Property: Hotel Real Palacio
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing