We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cost efficient way to enjoy 5 star range.”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #84 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A cost efficient way to enjoy 5 star range.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For a stay outside the city centre this is a good option. You get slightly more than value for money all round. It is in a quiet street but only 5 minutes walk to three metro lines (Sao Sebastio and Picoas) very close to a well stocked supermarket, and a reasonable if long walk from city centre.

The bed is not as hard as some reviews suggest but is probably not 5 star quality either. The hotel does take low cost means to provide a 5 star range and that's reflected in the price the visitor pays.Effort is made to provide a good range of facilities and maintain it.

Most things with this hotel are on the small side, I like that but it could give a feel of overcrowding at times. Staff should be more welcoming to solo travellers. Breakfast seating's cosy at best, overcrowded at worst and the staff really put their effort into fast turnaround! The restaurant evening food is somewhat pricey, but it is good so if you are on a budget it is worth having as a treat.
The supermarket sells great bottles of wine cheaper than one glass costs in the hotel! I think the lack of tea and coffee making facilities is a bit tight, that would make a big difference.
Heating is done by air con, I'm not keen on that.
I like the ambition and effort made, it worked for me and I'd stay here again. I would not recommend to people who are used to staying in 5 star though, this is a budget friendly option

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    878
    270
    73
    25
See reviews for
416
1,024
100
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,B.C
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived late at night without reservations and were greeted by friendly front desk staff. The check-in was prompt and efficient. Our luggage was delivered to our room where the staff pointed out how to operate the safe, the TV, the heating system, etc. Very pleasant and professional.

The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom more so. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet, had a restful sleep. Yes, there are stains on the carpets and some of the hallways have scuffed walls but it not a deal breaker.

The breakfast offers an extensive variety of choices, tasty, plentiful and replenished promptly. We had a late night dinner at the restaurant where the service once again was exceptional. The food is creative, well presented and delicious.

As in most hotels there is a price you pay for convenience, so be warned that that bottle of water in your room will cost you an arm and a leg. Plan ahead.

The bottom line is that the quiet location, the exceptional service and excellent food trumps a few stains on the carpets. I would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for pointing out the quality of service and the professionalism and friendliness of our staff and the terrific taste of the Guarda Real Bar & Restaurant.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palacio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This place was a dump. Staff was polite but never really resolved anything. Carpeting looked like it had been replaced since the '60's. Beds were unbelievably hard and uncomfortable. Internet was spotty and unreliable. Food quality was poor. Location was decent. I will give them that. If this is a four star hotel someone was bribed.....

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWiznit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Ok, here is what happened to our one night stay at this place. Without any exaggeration.
We checked in late night. An imperative reception staff demanded our passports and while i was searching my wife's passport, one of the guys at the reception laughed at me...well...we sometimes forget things :)
By the time we reached our room, we heard really loud moaning sound from a room next to ours. The key didn't work for a while and my wife was so upset when the moaning sound became louder. After a few tries, we finally entered into the room with old furnitures and the sound was worse there. It was so loud! I thought 'it was okay, my neighbours are having just fun'. But no, it was't funny at all to my wife. She hated it. I believe that the rooms have thin wall and have absolutely no soundproofing. To make it worse, the beds were so old and hard. It made noise when i made any movement.The carpet in the room looked at least 10 years old and so much stained. The lights were dusty...well i didn't care those things. I just wanted to sleep, i was tired. But my neighbors' sex did not finish. Their noisy bed and the moaning woman was so annoying. I began to hate it too. They were so loud and i was able to count how many times they made it. Can you stop after 6 cums, please? Jesus! My wife wanted to change the room but we were so much tired. Packing and see all those unfriendly reception dudes again....no we decided to stay. We were so much tired that we no longer cared the hot couple/couples?
Ok, i thought 5-star hotels offer coffee/tea machine. Unfortunately, the room did not have that. No bathrobe and slipper etc. I asked myself if this hotel really has 5 stars. It may technically meet the basic requirements of 5 star hotel....perhaps some years ago. But not now!!! I believe 3 star rating would be fair. Location is not great but not that bad either if you can walk 5 minutes to the nearest metro station. Breakfast was okay (oh by the way, during the breakfast some ladies next to our table were complaining about a loud sex. Not sure if they were from the same floor though. One of them had a teenage son and i can imagine how awkward it was for them to sleep), we liked the pastries. The sausages were yummy. The tea water tasted coffee...it is oookaay :) Wait, i thought that 5 star hotel is supposed to have....okay i should stop at this point because there are many things we did not like. Perhaps their star rating was important when i made choice. Shall we visit again to this place? Nope! But it was a good lesson for us. In Lisbon, hotel star rating is tricky. We will be extra careful when we choose hotels based on its star in the city. We will read reviews and that's why i have opened this account.
Thanks
PS. When we checked out, we were not asked how was our stay. She was perhaps too tired of listening complaints?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that your experience was not the best one. These are a set of observations that happen exceptionally, to which none Hotel can escape due to its operation and daily use.
We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed, although we tried everything and applied different products, but they all are in good hygienic conditions and it is perfectly safe to walk on them barefoot. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly.

About our location we would like to clarify that we are located in one of the noblest districts of central Lisbon, very close to 2 metro lines and in an area much calmer and safe than the historical center.

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a good experience at Real Palacio though couldn't understand where the 5 stars come from?! First the hotel entrance is not grand but staffs were very welcoming and friendly. We've to changed room at first, because the carpet stains was just too bad! The next room was only a bit better? I suggest they should change the carpet soon. However we enjoyed our time there, because location is fairly good, bed and bathroom both were fine though not luxury as 5 stars hotel. I've stayed at 5 stars hotels occasionally so I know what to expect! Anyway, stay there if the price is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88sunny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and the quality of our service.

We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed, although we tried everything and applied different products, but they all are in good hygienic conditions and it is perfectly safe to walk on them barefoot. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly.

Thank you for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you soon, for another stay at the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent two nights and had a fine stay. Breakfast was plentiful and in a quiet setting. The room was clean and a bit larger than one often finds in Europe. Arriving at about 7 am from the US the room was not ready, but they gave us a reduced rate on breakfast and upon returning at around noon it was ready. Staff was helpful in securing us restaurant reservations and with questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, next year, for another excellent experience at the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Real Palacio - a surprise for my husbands birthday. It's not in the centre of 'down town' Lisbon and if you decide to walk everywhere as we did, make sure you've got the right footwear! It's in a quiet location and allows you to get away from the hustle and bustle. The room was great - although the rug could have done with being cleaned. Even if you like a hard bed, the mattress takes some getting used to - ours was pretty uncomfortable and didn't aid a restful night. The hotel staff were very, very friendly and very obliging with our requests. Agree with another guest review, it would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room and at 4 Euros a shot for a cup of tea, room service was a tad over priced. A very good breakfast selection. It would be a nice touch to have fresh tea and coffee served at your table rather than dispensed via large urns - the water is never hot enough to make a good 'cuppa' and the coffee was pretty undrinkable (a shame as the coffee we had out and about was amongst the best I have ever had anywhere!). All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a softer mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff.

Thank you for your constructive comments, which will be taken into consideration.
We would like to inform you that you can get an electric kettle on request at the reception.
We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed, although we tried everything and applied different products, but they all are in good hygienic conditions and it is perfectly safe to walk on them barefoot. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#107 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#60 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#65 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Property: Hotel Real Palacio
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing