We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for the price”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #87 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here in Feb 2014 with my mum for 3 nights and we had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good with lots of choice, the bedroom was comfortable and shower hot and powerful.
I used the gym and sauna area which was very quiet and I really enjoyed that.

It is a little bit out of the main city, but that was fine for us as it's nice and quiet area and it only takes 20 - 30 mins max to walk into the center.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as great value for money - it's not ultra luxury if that's what you're after - but clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, though not really five star IMHO. Well located with friendly staff and very clean. Just two niggles: the bed was the hardest thing I've ever slept on that wasn't a floor! And they had run out of breakfast tea on our last morning. Disaster for us Brits!! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lisbon is known for the good quality accomodation, and Real Palacio is probably one of the most responsible places for this fame. They are a five-star hotel close to a major subway station (you don't need to change lines to get to the airport or to the city center, as an example) and you pay just 50 euros for a couple a night. The bed could be a little softer, but it's not a problem at all.

The breakfast, however, is really expensive (16 euro/person, I guess). I strongly recommend you not to get it, as Portugal is one of the cheapest countries in Europe, and you can get a coffee or tea with some nice pastry or sanduiches for less then 3 euro at any square in town. All in all, there is a refrigerator in the room, and you can get some cold stuff in the El Corte Ingles supermarket (just aside the hotel) the night before and eat your breakfast in bed :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felipeomendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here last week and must say that this is a fabulous hotel. Extremely clean and very friendly staff. When we pulled up in the airport taxi the staff were outside to greet us and take care of our luggage. We did not have evening meal in the hotel as we ate out every night. Breakfast was delicious abut as others have commented can get rather busy at peak times. This does not detract in any way to the standard and quality of the food which was first class. Service was really excellent.
The hotel is quite close to the Metro however as we were 4 we nornally had a taxi into the city centre which as about 6 euros.
There have been previous comments about the beds being hard but personally i prefer a firm bed
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ade671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

All was good here..very nice breakfast and towels and great hot water! Good location but not exactly in best spot. The restaurant across the street is great! Only problem we had here was that we arrived before 2 pm and they wouldn't give us our room ( it was cleaned already we found out) unless we paid 40 euros each room for early arrival. We have never come across that in any city. Yes they kept our luggage for us so that we could walk around and have lunch in meantime.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AlixMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel just 5 mins walk from the nearest metro station and in good location of Lisbon. Its intact less then 30 mins from airport. Take the red line form airport, get down at the last stop on the line and its 5 mins walk from there.

We reached hotel at 12pm and understandably the room was not ready yet (their check out time is 1200hrs). Anyways we left our luggage with concierge and went for quick lunch at one of the many restaurants which are within walking distance from the hotel. We were back by about 1330hrs and the rooms were ready. Everyone seemed polite and courteous at the reception with good english.

Rooms are large and spacious and had free wifi as well. Did not try its restaurant as had meals outside. However breakfast was good with plenty of options. However breakfast room is bit small for the size of the hotel. it was and can be crowded especially if the hotel is near to its full capacity booking.
Nevertheless, I would definitely consider it and also recommend the hotel to any friends/family visiting Lisbon in future

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we had a problem on arrival at the dining room, and it was a birthday gift; the hotel couldnt do enough for us and the food was very good and service extra special. we had a fantastic time and are very appreciative to the special treatment we were given. we can only give the hotel an excellent and thank the owner and staff for a wonderful birthday. we didnt like the buffet but it was only 1 night and the other 6 nights we had great food and service; an experience we will never forget. we had a lovely superior room with 2 french doors and a large balcony, loved it.
many many thank you`s. loved lisbon too!

Room Tip: we had room 621, quiet room and very spacious, paid more but worth it; mini bar,hairdrier. couldnt u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Real Parque
#132 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,403 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#70 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing