We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, super service”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #87 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a 5 star hotel, and it deserves to be. Super service. Very nice rooms and a quiet area. Restaurant in the hotel offers good food and service. The breakfast in the cellar restaurant serves excellent food. Lots of fresh-baked rolls, scones and cakes. Fresh cut fruit and overall a good selection. Very friendly staff. The best is its location close to Sao Sebastiao metro station - 2 min walk. From there you can reach several lines to all over the city. The metro station is situated under the "El Corte Ingles"-shopping center. Very nice, good prices and the have lots of popular brands such as, Polo, Lacoste, Hilfiger, Gant, +++++sports, sunglasses bags and so on.. Will be our first choice next time we go to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JensPetterStrommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Where shall I start?! Well, for one this is definitely not a 5 star hotel, as you walk into the lobby/reception area it looks very posh and grand, but that is where it stops.
We arrived at 11am and were told that we would have to wait until 2pm to check in which is fine. We decided to go for a walk returning at 2pm only to be told our room was still not ready and that we would have to wait. We had to wait a further 30 minutes whilst new guest were arriving and being checked in ahead of us whilst we waited.

We were eventually shown to our room by the bus boy who was very helpful and polite, he was one of three members of staff who was polite and professional unlike the rest!
Our room was ok, the bed for me, was to far to hard and the pillows felt like that had been stuffed with cotton wool and very uncomfortable. The toilet seat needs to be renewed as it look old and worn out. The hair dryer was poor and the carpets were very dirty and as for the air conditioning, well let's say we were hot!!

One evening we returned from our lovely day out and thought we would have a drink in the bar. I waited for 10 minutes at the bar asking a member of staff for a drink, he couldn't understand English very well and asked if I was ok to wait for the young lady to serve me, well that was a no go, she gave me a dirty look and totally ignored me walking away, only to return and to serve somebody else who came in after me. I did not get served, so I left the bar returning to my room. She had a miserable look on her face that evening and also at breakfast on other occasions.

The breakfast was good and the staff efficient with clearing up and replenishing food and drink but not the plates, knives and forks. We felt like we were eating on top of other guests either side as the tables were too close together, we had to squeeze past to get seated.

The staff at the reception were unhelpful and rude at times, but a saving grace was the house keepers although one day our please clean our room notice was ignored and our room was not cleaned, leaving us to call reception that evening asking for new towels and toilet roll.

We wanted to use the spa facilities, but again the staff at the reception area within the spa was rude and very short with us. We decided not to use the facilities and spend our money in the hotel.

Overall I would not recommend booking this hotel until some changes have happened with staff and their unprofessional approach to guests.
Lisbon as a city is fantastic I would recommend coming here to see the sites.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay at our hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations and would like to thank you for your constructive comments and feedback. We are constantly reviewing, inspecting and carrying out maintenance work in order to keep everything in good, clean and safe conditions.

Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

If you ever visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us before as we will be pleased to prepare your bed with mattress toppers,

which we trust will help making your next stay us more comfortable and enjoyable.

We were surprised that the staff was a negative point to you, since this is always a positive point out by customers of all Real Hotels Group. At our hotel we have the main concern of be friendly and be totally available to our guests but we will analyze the situation with our team.

Thank you so much for your review.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Made a return visit to both Lisbon and this hotel and once again was not dissapointed. Hotel is in a quieter location but only a short taxi ride (<10 Euros) to main areas in south of city. Hotel is clean and staff are attentative and polite. Breakfast was included and ws a wide ranging buffet from fresh fruit to cooked items. Only fault was the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the qualification of our hotel as a “great hotel”. Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We would like to inform you that it is not sustainable to have terms kettles in each room but these can be provided upon request at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon at Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, just a short walk away from the metro and not much further to walk into the top of the city centre. The room was spacious, clean and well maintained and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing and the one night we ate in the hotel was lovely too, just a bit pricey but what do you expect from a five star hotel. Nice little spa downstairs but the jacuzzi was broken when we stayed and free wifi too....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

To be honest this hotel is no more than a three star hotel and it is beyond me how they get away with calling it five star.On check in we complained that the carpet in our room was badly stained and in fairness they upgraded us to a nicer room.The hotels spa facility is very nice with jacuzzi steam room and sauna...very welcome after a long sightseeing day around Lisbon which is amazing in which we stayed three nights..The bar itself was nice but never seemed to have anyone in it...maybe this was because it was the five star prices of the drinks (18 euro for two Irish coffees) maybe they should extend the happy hour to create more of an atmosphere but the staff are very nice and helpful and i would agree with some earlier reviews that it is a bit away from the main centre of Lisbon..the breakfast is adaquate rather than exceptional...all in all a comfortable experience bit if i were to return to Lisbon it would be more to the centre of the city and to a hotel that holds a correct star accreditation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AnnmarieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that our experience with us was positive.

We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed, although we tried everything and applied different products, but they all are in good hygienic conditions and it is perfectly safe to walk on them barefoot. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly.

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive.

We hope a new visit to prove ours improvements.

Best Regards,
Luis Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A 5 Star hotel; for a 5 star it did not give me any WOW factor, yes its good but ive stayed in much better in Lisbon. the rooms are comfortable with aircon, the staff are helpfull, friendly & warm.. the breakfast room NEEDS to be twice as big as the tables are constatly be rechanged, and some times you need to wait for a table... the food for breakfast is OK but again ive enjoyed much better in Lisbon. as for the A la carte restaurent, poor i sent my main course back, poorly cooked and poor quality... OH and the carpets are generally very dirty, and the wifi is only available in the lounge area.....

Room Tip: find a better hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret that your experience was not the perfect experience.

Usually the comments about our hotel are very positive.

Our F&B makes all the efforts to provide a great service, with a great variety of the best quality products. Usually the service of breakfast and restaurant is praised.

We will share your comment with the departments heads in order to analyze the situation and improve our service constantly.

We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily to assure the best hygienic conditions. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed despite our effort. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly. It´s completely safe to the health of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to provide you an excellent experience, signature of any of the Real Hotels Group.

Kind regards,
Luis Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hotel but I was disappointed at the distance to the centre.. Was a 20 minute walk or so through some rough feeling neighbourhoods. Although the hotel and service itself was fantastic..

English was spoken fluently by all staff we encountered too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment.

The opinion of our guests allow us to improve constantly.

We have to inform you that our hotel is a 5 minutes to the metro station, which is great to travel to the city centre.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Real Palácio Hotel.

Best Regards,
Luis Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Real Parque
#132 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,402 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#70 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing