We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SANA Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #112 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The only knock on this hotel could be that it is not in the middle of downtown Lisbon and buses and undergrounds are a couple of blocks away. But, a taxi in LIsbon is relatively cheap -- about $7 or less just about anywhere. Airport is only $12 or so. The hotel itself is fairly new and modern. Very clean and comfortable with typical 4 star qualities. Breakfast was included and outstanding full buffet. The hotel staff was particularly helpful and kind in fluent English.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    277
    116
    20
    9
See reviews for
117
156
39
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Location wasn't the best, however service, cleaniless, friendly staff was awesome! Will stay again, good value for your buck. Will recommend to friends and family. Vou recommendar este hotel aos meus amigos.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEKKKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed recently in this hotel in Lisbon. The last time I stayed in the Tivoli Hotel at the Avenida da Liberdade and that was a very good hotel on a top location. I would have wanted to go back there, but someone arranged this hotel for me. I had a suite on the 11th floor and every 3 minutes I heard the snoring of a plane passing the hotel. Some of them were really close by - it is a landing route for planes and close to the airport. I opened a window to get some fresh air in my room but it became very, very noisy by the trafic and all the planes (even in the middle of the night around 4 am) and I decided to close the window again.
The suite was good and the room service was very efficient, however I will never forgive them that they served me old bread for breakfast in the weekend in my room!
The hotel has 12 floors, but the lobby wasn't as big as one would expect from a hotel like this.
I only had a reasonable view because I was on the 11th floor - the hotel was situated in a poor area, not very close to all the nice places that Lisbon has to offer (except of the Gulbenkian Museum and the warehouse El Corte Ingles (still you need a taxi)...
When I saw the prices of the rooms I thought they were highly overrated for the quality.
Don't get me wrong, everything had been taken care for and it wasn't uncomfortable, my suite was nice and it was clean, but the rest of the hotel was not very special...

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isabellebigandstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel was great but it was such a pity there were no leisure facilities, such as a pool, gym etc. I was based here for three days when my husband was attending a conference here. Directly behind the hotel is the university hospital and behind that is a small park with a cafe. I walked here a couple of days for my 50cent coffee, very nice to sit here in the sun. We walked from the hotel all the way down to the water front on one day which was a lovely walk through a couple of big parks and the main streets of the city but you can also get a taxi down for 5 euro or use the very efficent metro.
I have to also mention a lovely lady called Emanuela Pinto who works in the hotel, she had very little english but was so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the front as it is noisey with the main road behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed two nights with a group recently.Location is not far from town. Buffet dinner spread was pretty decent and food tasty. However, bfast was a letdown. The spread was not much and the rolls were below my expectation.
However, staff was friendly. Rooms were pretty decent in size.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChanML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
262 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stay in Lisbon often, sometimes when I fly and sometimes when I have to work there.
The Sana Metropolitan is a good option with good central location (car or taxi), nice staff, nice rooms and also a nice breakfast.
One other reason I recommend is that there is not very difficult to park outside, for free.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a coach trip. The room was medium sized but the bathroom was good. We were high enough not to notice any noise from a main road directly below our window.
The breakfast and the evening meal were buffet style and had a very good selection of foods in a large and pleasant dining romm. the Staff were attentive to our needs and the wine was good value for a hotel.
The hotel, I suggest, may be diffiucult to find if you are coming independently. It is in the suburbs of Lisbon and it is this that is its main draw back. It is a good 40 minutes walk downhill into Lisbon long a not-to-obvious route into the main part of Lisbon. The taxi fare is about 5E if you do not go in the rush hours ( which could easily double the fare ).
There a only two lifts for non-conference people and these seem rather small in size ( for about 6 people ). For a large hotel this seems inadequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
Lisbon Marriott Hotel
#113 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 3K Europa
Hotel 3K Europa
#77 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel
3.3 mi away
Vila Gale Opera
Vila Gale Opera
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.4 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#33 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Metropolitan Hotel

Property: SANA Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Rua Soeiro Pereira Gomes | Parcela 2, Lisbon 1600-198, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#85 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a strategic area of Lisbon, 10 minutes both from the city centre and the airport, SANA Metropolitan Hotel is distinguished by its spacious, contemporary decor, a restaurant with a select range of dishes and attentive service. A cosmopolitan Hotel which offers special comfort for both leisure and business trips to the city, SANA Metropolitan Hotel is the ideal hotel for those who want to be close to major roads into and out of the city, and at the same time reach the centre of Lisbon. The large private car park, spacious and quiet area in front of the hotel and two floors with 12 rooms for meetings and events make the SANA Metropolitan one of the best options in Lisbon for accommodating large groups or organising major events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Metropolitan Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing