We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #367 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Downtown Design Hostel and we really liked it. We'd go there again!

- The buffet breakfast is very good, there's eggs, cheese, jam, cake and much more.
- The location is great! When you're in the common rooms, you've a beautiful view to the Rossio Place. Altough, the hostel is situated right next to a peep show, but it wasn't annoying (no noice, no weird people, nothing). The hostel is on the 3th floor: no elevator, only stairs.
- We shared the bathroom and sometimes (especially in the morning) we had to wait.
- One thing: we wanted to go to Sintra (a tour the staff offers) but we wanted to go a whole day (there's a lot to see) first it was ok for the staff, later not any more, they were available between 14h and 17h. So we said no thanks and took the train (which was also cheaper €5 in staid of €12)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa_vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend and me spent 5 nights day in Downtown Design Hostel. This hostel has really great location, but everything else is overrated. Only 2 bathrooms are available, first is near the lounge area (which is nice) and it is really small, and the second one is in the part where most rooms are (where we also had room). Only one bathroom (that means one toilet, one shower...) on cca 10 people? Not enough.
Our room had only bad and one chair (no closets, no shelves and nothing to put things). Breakfast was OK, but sometimes there was nothing to eat or drink and we have to wait for them to bring or cook...or leave hungry.
But the worst thing happened when we were leaving - we couldn't pay with credit card or any other card, only with cash. Of course, we didn't have enough cash and had to go to cash machine. The girl on the reception didn't speak English and it was quite complicated. We heard afterwards (from one hotel owner in Portugal) that they probably do that because they don't want to pay state taxes. Whatever, but it is strange not to be able to pay with credit card in 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location. Clean sheets. Good breakfast. Nice staff. The only problem was the bathroom. There are 2 bathrooms and one of them is quite small and a bit weird coz' it was so close to the lounge area. Also it smelled musty, though it was clean.
The staff guys have special tours. I went to Sintra with them. They took us from the hostel direct to Sintra. Then came back to get us back to Lisbon. It costed about 8 euros. Quite cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent double rooms with nice decor and comfortable, excellent breakfast, staff too available, I recommend 100% a splendid view, very well located near the nightlife, and the monuments of Lisbon recommendations by the staff very pleasant relation to places for lunch and dinner

Room Tip: Family room for groups of 3 or 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in Downtown hostel twice and although it is very well located (Rossio square) we had a problem to find it for the first time. The room was clean, with shared bathroom, nevertheless the bathroom was clean and tidy as well.
The breakfest is free so it was nice start of the day with the scrumbled eggs :) .Free wifi in the lobby was included.
The airport bus as well as the subways is very close to the hotel and the beach is also 15 mins walk.

Room Tip: Haven´t seen any other rooms, but it feels like all the rooms are equipped with the similar stuff, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed in Lisbon for two nights in March of this year during a month long tour of Europe. I visited 10 European cities and stayed in hostels in each of them. Out of all of the hostels I stayed in, this was absolutely the best. Here are the reasons why:

Location: You cannot get more central than the Downtown Design hostel. Right on the Rossio, you are steps away from the metro, Barrio Alto district, the tramlines, and shopping.

Breakfast: The best hostel I've had. Delicious scrambled eggs, pastries, toast, and coffee.

Rooms: Airy and large, super comfortable, right next to a well kept shared bathroom.

Management: Rui is an incredible kind and hard working guy. He gave us fantastic recommendations for things to do in Lisbon and its surroundings, as well as restaurants. The best part of our trip was when he took me and my friend with whom I was traveling out to Sintra. We paid 8 Euros each for the transportation and the opportunity to spend time with a friendly local full of great recommendations.

10/10. If you're staying in Lisbon, do not overlook this place. I had a perfect stay and absolutely will stay here next time I come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwtzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hostel beds are very comfortable
breakfast very good and the staff very available to receive and acoselhar customers in their questions.
The cleaning and the beds are always in very good condition for a hostel, the location is close to everything the night Lisboeta and historical areas

Room Tip: Superior double Room 402 or 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
536 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#236 of 255 in Lisbon
533 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#57 of 255 in Lisbon
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#8 of 503 in Lisbon
457 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Passport Lisbon Hostel
Passport Lisbon Hostel
#143 of 503 in Lisbon
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rua dos Sapateiros 231 3D, Lisbon 1100-578, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel located in the most important square of Lisbon Downtown, with an amazing view over the historic parts of Lisbon. We wanted to raise the quality standards of an hostel so we created a comfortable place with a distinct design where you can enjoy your days in Lisbon. We have a special breakfast with fresh bread and fruit, cereals, eggs, toasts, milk, coffee, tea and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Design Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing