We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #34 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights to attend a conference that was being held in the hotel so our stay was pre-organised by the conference organisers. We have to say that the facilities were great and the staff were very helpful with a majority being conversant in English. The Hotel lobby was spacious, bright and airy, a good place for a quiet drink or coffee. Our checkin process was quick and painless and we were in our room relaxing quick smart.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy but the deco was a little dated for my taste. The bathroom has all the usual fittings, a shower bath and a very dangerous marble floor with no rubber mat in sight. The old CRT TV should have been retired. The minibar was well stocked but there was no coffee/tea making facility. On the plus side, the room safe was big enough to fit a 15 inch laptop and the large bed was very comfortable. We had a room facing the main road, so there's a little bit of noise intrusion but not enough to keep you awake.

We checked in late so we had room service and our dinner arrived within 30 minutes. The dinner was pretty yummy and the prices are what you'd expect for room service. The breakfast was good as was the gym facilities and the wifi.

The hotel is conveniently located within 5 minutes walk of Parque Eduardo VII where you can pick up the "Hop on hop off" tour buses. The Marqués de Pompal Metro station is also near by and it is only 3 stops from the city.

When travelling to the hotel from the airport, I recommend getting a prepaid taxi voucher from the tourist information desk. It is about €24, which is slightly more than the metered rate but that's a guaranteed price. A lot of the taxis tend to charge well above the metered rate for a trip from the airport so a taxi voucher just avoids any unpleasant hassles.

I can't really fault the hotel and its friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel, it's quieter. Higher floors will give you a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWho08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    626
    79
    18
    13
See reviews for
258
681
77
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed at the Sana Lisboa in April 2013 for sporting purposes (football). We were greeted with a grand lobby and friendly staff who promptly directed us to our rooms. Furthermore, within the lobby, a small bar was situated in the corner and a seating area for people to relax in the evening.

The rooms were of an excellent standard and easily accomodated my father & I. We were able to get a great nights sleep and despite the hotels close proximity to the main road we were unable to hear any traffic during our stay. The bathroom was also spotless.

The hotel is close to the marina and is within a short walk to Lisbon's main bars and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and i could not fault a single aspect of my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for 3 days at this hotel.Reception and staff very friendly, efficient, and very helpful.
Room and bathroom good size, clean and comfortable.
Free WIFI which was usefull
Breakfast was very good with lots of hot and cold options.
The hotel catered for both business and leisure guests.The Hotel is near to Marquis de Palombal square, so close to all buses and metro system and about 10-15 min walk to city centre.
10 minutes from airport.
Lobby area had very nice bar area, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This is a busy hotel with all the standard amenities, but nothing special. It is a little distance from the centre of town, so you need to be a good walker or take plenty of taxis. It is perfectly comfortable but beware the queues for the lifts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I visited this hotel on a bussiness journey. The hotel is very well situated near the places of interest in Lisbon. Breakfast is rich, rooms are spaceous and personell is proffessional. I would like to have sleepers in my room. However the whole stay was really pleasant and I would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Sana Lisboa hotel is a clean, modern hotel in Lisbon with all the latest conveniences such as Gym and sauna. The food is of very good quality with a tasteful mix of traditional and fusion Portugese cooking. Thehotel is located near the Marquis de Pombal plaza which is about a 15 minute walk or 5 euro taxi ride to the Central station and the Rossio square.

Room Tip: I had a front room on the main street that was a bit noisy if you left the window open overnight. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The best breakfast - lots of choice & comfortable setting. Friendly & helpful staff. Modern hotel with very good free WiFi in the room. Very good location near Metro & Buses for short ride to downtown & Belem. Room was large and bathroom more than adequate - not your typical small European room. Room very clean and maid service excellent. Nice bar in the lobby and large screen TV.

Room Tip: Select room near top floor. Front of hotel faces a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnBarbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 247 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing