We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious hotel, but with small and dated rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #34 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious hotel, but with small and dated rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a well located hotel with reasonable facilities. While it is spacious, the rooms are very disappointing. They are small and poorly decorated with terrible colour schemes. The curtains and carpets look grubby, the furniture and furnishings are basic and the bathrooms are just okay. I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that didn't have flatscreen TVs. The rooms have pitiful 20 inch box TVs. The hotel restaurant serves good quality food and offer two or three course menus which are good value. However, the service needs improving. I dined alone and was ushered to a table where I didn't want to sit. I asked to sit at another and was promptly told it was was four people. However, other lone diners were seated at tables for four, five and six. The service was rushed and unfriendly and the waiters seemed to assume that people dining alone didn't deserve the same attention as larger groups. This is a business hotel and business travellers often dine alone. This is something that the restaurant staff need to learn. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culchavulcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    606
    76
    17
    10
See reviews for
251
655
76
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I am right now at Sana Lisboa with my family. I arranged taxi service to pick us from the Airport. We were delayed, our taxi driver (Pedro) checked with hotel to make sure. Any way we arrived late but greeted with excellent service. As soon as I mentioned my name, they already had my reservation pulled up, they already knew I was on my way. They handled checkin very efficiently and professionally. We arrived around 10:00 AM, since our room was not ready (asked for connected room for us and kids) they directed us with all kind of information to spend next few hours in Lisbon. Unfortunately we are in Lisbon during the hottest time (temp went up to 104 deg F) but enjoying every hour of it. A lot of things to do.. Tune in for details of day trip to Sintra.

Room Tip: The hotel do have Spa, but did not visit it when the temp outside is 104 who needs a spa :). No swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNabi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location just 1/2 block of Marquis de Pombal Square. Room was comfortable, staff was attentive and food in hotel restaurant was good. (Although the breakfast buffet was getting boring after the eighth day.) Only complaint was the Euro-design bathroom. It was almost impossible to turn on the sink without the water sloshing out and the bathtub was so deep that we were concerned about falling while getting in and out. Finally the "shower" was little better than a trickle (as are most European showers). None the less, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My parents stayed in this hotel between the 5th of June and 13th of June, and this is what they have to say about Sana Lisboa:

The hotel is a 4 star and it is centrally located. Lodging is excellent, we had a large clean room, the bathroom was spotless and the consumables they provided were top quality.

Breakfast was excellent and they had a large variety of products that could please the most critical guest (pastry, fruit, cheese, meat, eggs, even champagne on request). The young employees that help with breakfast are always paying attention to the guests needs and try to solve any problem that arises as soon as possible.

The average price per night including breakfast was 87, this is a more than fair price for the service they provide. They also offer a room equipped with a computer, card reader and printer and the guest can use it at any time.

Reception is 24/7, of course, but they are kind of cold, not very talkative, maybe because of the large flux of guests.

Last but not least they have free wifi in the room, we stayed on the 11th floor, but wifi was very good.

We would go back, and we definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namiko_Mika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights to attend a conference that was being held in the hotel so our stay was pre-organised by the conference organisers. We have to say that the facilities were great and the staff were very helpful with a majority being conversant in English. The Hotel lobby was spacious, bright and airy, a good place for a quiet drink or coffee. Our checkin process was quick and painless and we were in our room relaxing quick smart.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy but the deco was a little dated for my taste. The bathroom has all the usual fittings, a shower bath and a very dangerous marble floor with no rubber mat in sight. The old CRT TV should have been retired. The minibar was well stocked but there was no coffee/tea making facility. On the plus side, the room safe was big enough to fit a 15 inch laptop and the large bed was very comfortable. We had a room facing the main road, so there's a little bit of noise intrusion but not enough to keep you awake.

We checked in late so we had room service and our dinner arrived within 30 minutes. The dinner was pretty yummy and the prices are what you'd expect for room service. The breakfast was good as was the gym facilities and the wifi.

The hotel is conveniently located within 5 minutes walk of Parque Eduardo VII where you can pick up the "Hop on hop off" tour buses. The Marqués de Pompal Metro station is also near by and it is only 3 stops from the city.

When travelling to the hotel from the airport, I recommend getting a prepaid taxi voucher from the tourist information desk. It is about €24, which is slightly more than the metered rate but that's a guaranteed price. A lot of the taxis tend to charge well above the metered rate for a trip from the airport so a taxi voucher just avoids any unpleasant hassles.

I can't really fault the hotel and its friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel, it's quieter. Higher floors will give you a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWho08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed at the Sana Lisboa in April 2013 for sporting purposes (football). We were greeted with a grand lobby and friendly staff who promptly directed us to our rooms. Furthermore, within the lobby, a small bar was situated in the corner and a seating area for people to relax in the evening.

The rooms were of an excellent standard and easily accomodated my father & I. We were able to get a great nights sleep and despite the hotels close proximity to the main road we were unable to hear any traffic during our stay. The bathroom was also spotless.

The hotel is close to the marina and is within a short walk to Lisbon's main bars and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and i could not fault a single aspect of my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for 3 days at this hotel.Reception and staff very friendly, efficient, and very helpful.
Room and bathroom good size, clean and comfortable.
Free WIFI which was usefull
Breakfast was very good with lots of hot and cold options.
The hotel catered for both business and leisure guests.The Hotel is near to Marquis de Palombal square, so close to all buses and metro system and about 10-15 min walk to city centre.
10 minutes from airport.
Lobby area had very nice bar area, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.4 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#35 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing