We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine spot but nothing outstanding”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #35 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A fine spot but nothing outstanding”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is located on the new side of town, quite a distance form the older more interesting parts. It's relatively easy to get a taxi, but figure on $5 USD every time you go out and another 5 coming back. Another option is to use the metro, which is about a 6 min walk. The property is clean and the staff try to be accommodating. The breakfast is a highlight with many tasty choices including fresh pastries. Sadly, the TVs in the rooms are old, there was not coffee maker in the room and the hot tub was way to cool to enjoy.

SANA was certainly comfortable enough but I think I will try a different hotel when I visit Lisbon again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel (facing the water).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    617
    79
    17
    12
See reviews for
256
673
77
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From the moment we stepped through the doors till the moment we left, we felt welcomed by the staff of SANA Lisboa. The staffs were more than friendly, they were caring and cooperative. The hotels location is perfect as it is close to the airport and hence has a central location. The bar was well stocked and the barman was a very friendly chap with excellent drink recommendations. The room was neat and clean with great décor, just like the rest of the hotel. Our room had a nice view of the city, very refreshing in the morning. We even chatted with a few hotel guests so got to know that the rooms facing the street were a bit noisy. The hotel meal that is the breakfast was great. It was tasty and plentiful and we enjoyed it thoroughly during our 5 day stay here. The hotel lobby was one spacious area and nicely decorated too. They also had WI-Fi, speed was decent too. The piano bar was a great place too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

After just a few days stay for a city break I can trust that I'll get the perfect experience expected from this standard of hotel in another SANA 'concept'.

With no problems whatsoever, the service and food was great. Steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were suprisingly empty when we went to use it, which of course was a bonus.

I definitely would return x

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tash_aka_Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in early March with my girlfriend. Nice and central location and yet still only EUR10 taxi ride from the airport.
We found the staff very friendly, the barman even helping to find where the good spots to go for dinner/drinks. Breakfast was very good, there was a large number of people having breakfast and it was always being replenished and was a great selection.
The room was large, huge bed, although was very firm.
Overall I would highly recomend. Definetely coming back when in Lisbon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tornby, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The overall impression after spending a week at the hotel at a seminar is - well - just excellent. The location is central, only 20 minutes from the airport, close to the city centre and just about 40 minutes walk to the river.
The service at the reception was ok, and my room was spacious and very clean. I had a room facing the street, and as I prefer to switch of the aircon and get fresh air in this was rather noisy, but as that was my prerogative, I can not blame anybody.
But - why can just a very few continental hotels offer coffee and tea-making facilities? Staying for a week this is an asset.
The hotel was immacutely clean everywhere, and I believe that I have never stayed in a place, were I could say that.
We had 3 meals a day in the hotel except the final night, and both the food and service was excellent. Breakfast and lunch was from a buffet, with choices for all tastes. At lunch there was Baccalao in a new way every day, but as they said, there are a 1000 ways to make the dish.
The conference venue was fine as well, but the aircon made it rather chilly, and I feel that this problem wasn't delt with during the week.
The lobbybar was OK, especially with a charming elderly pianoplayer, who made some of our evenings fun with some sing-a-long.
This was my first time to Lisbon, but when I come back - well, the Sana Lisboa Hotel will be top of my accomodation list.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street, as there is virtually traffic on the there all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S-ELinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very good hotel with very well equiped and clean rooms. The breakfast is just delicious! The hotel employees are very gentle and always willling to help. They were flexible with check-in and check out time. Also, the hotel has a great location! Definetely coming back when in Lisbon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaValentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My fiancé and I stay here every time we go to Lisbon and we visit about twice a year since we fly into Lisbon to go to my partner's hometown in Spain, near the border of Lisbon. You can't beat the location, the service is great, especially the piano bar, and the rooms are in great condition. Even the breakfast buffet is pretty good with a variety of food. We will see you soon SANA Lisboa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobe4prez718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#19 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#38 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#63 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing