We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned and...”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #38 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I enjoyed Lisbon and this hotel last year on a quickly planned visit, so I took more time this year and decided it was good enough to go again. The hotel remains a good choice. However, there has been a change of chef and the food, although good, not as good as last year with too many buffet meals for a 4 star. Lilana continues to give exceptional service and create a great atmosphere. Some nice waiters as well including Raphael. The breakfasts now tend to be cold regardless of the time you get down in the mornings, and there is no change of menu. This all sounds bad; the reality is that it is acceptable for the price paid.
The weather this year was below par, and only now, later in the season appears to be picking up.
The city itself remains a great place to visit. However, getting around in the heat is not easy if you are a mature visitor and the pavements both dangerous and slippery. There are very steep hills to negotiate as well. Taxis however are reliable and cheap enough. Public transport better still. Get a Via Viagem card for the Metro but then you need another one for the TST busses. Combining them is not possible. However, with both, you can get to the wonderful Costa Caparica where beaches to suit all tastes can be found, as well as to other destination easily. Sat nav on your phone is a huge benefit as navigating the maze of streets is otherwise difficult. El Corte Inglis is a good shopping centre, with a supermarket 2 floors down where you can get good wines and soft drinks reasonably priced, for day or evening consumption.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing the river for the better view and tranquillity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DrGlenMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel, ideally located, well maintained, good service and friendly staff. The hotel is not huge like the adjacent Ritz but is not too behind when it comes to quality and elegance. The rooms are quiet and beautiful. The room service is excellent and probably one of the most prompt ones ve experienced esp in Europe. The restaurant is not that big but serves excellent gourmet food. The highlight would be the very friendly staff... very helpful and pleasant.
Just walking distance from the hotel is this huge park and right in front of it one can take the sight seeing bus. With malls, shops and restaurants in the adjoining areas I think its ideally located. I felt my stay was too short (and that's how one feels when in a great place) and would love to check in there again. Next time probably for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yadhiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Clean and modern hotel room. Breakfast was very nice although busy, but staff do a fantastic job keeping food and drinks replenished. The hotel is located very close to 'hop on hop off' bus station which is good for tourists. It is A bit far from the city centre to walk, but easy to catch metro which is 5-10min walk away. Would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank getinmybelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The easiest way to get to the Sana Lisboa from the airport is to take the airport bus. The stop is just in front of the hotel. I got a room from the 11th floor and the view to the park was super! The rooms are big, comfortable, stylish. Breakfast is delicious, the staff most helpful and friendly, starting from the booking. Not a single thing to complain about! Choose this hotel if you want some luxury in your life after a long day in the city or attending a business meeting. Rooms are quiet and air conditioning silent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terhikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent hotel.On arrival the check-in staff asked about our visit.When we told them we were celebrating an anniversary they delivered strawberries and champange to our room later that day.A nice touch we thought.Although the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre it is well covered by public transport.It is also across the road from the Parque de Edward VII which is the meeting point for the four lines of the red bus tour.The hotel seems to have been recently renovated and has a very modern and clean decor.We found all the staff very helpful.Breakfast is fantastic with everything you could want in a buffet.The rooms are spacious,bed is comfortable and even though our room was over the main road at the front of the hotel we didn't hear any noise,very well sound proofed.We have stayed in many European cities with nice hotels but the Sana Lisboa was by far the best overall.If ever we visit Lisbon again we already have our hotel picked,great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantasic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great service at SANA Lisboa Hotel, very clean, altough no breakfast included! The breakfast starts at 07.00, which is bad if you have to be somewhere at 07.30. In other places the breakfast starts at 06.30, which is better. May be it is something to improve!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was in a good location, just a short 15 minute walk to the waterfront, down a lovely upscale shopping street . The hotel room was a nice size with two single beds, ideal when sharing with a friend. The breakfast in the hotel was good, lots of variety and the service was good. Ice machine down the hall, and the air conditioning worked well.would return to this hotel if ever in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#74 of 255 in Lisbon
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Lisboa Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £101 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing