We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #35 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Excellent hotel, a lot of nice facilities, and modern, tastefully decorated rooms. Great breakfast buffet! Very helpful staff, which helped me to book taxis and gave several restaurant tips. Also a great location -- Parque Eduardo VII just around the corner, and a nice walk from Pombal to the old city center.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Vosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    634
    79
    18
    13
See reviews for
263
688
77
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Our room was very clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. Good choice of English language TV programs available. Bed was slightly hard but not a problem getting a good night's sleep especially after a long day of sightseeing. We had the romantic package, so sparkling wine, bath oils were provided. Full buffet breakfast at the hotel's Contemporaneo restaurant - very good range of food and fresh fruits.

Centrally located, near to Marques de Pombal square. El Corte Ingles (with a cinema - English language movies with Portugese subtitles are available) and restaurants nearby. Rossio Square is about 20-25 minutes of leisurely walking down Avenida Da Liberdade. We went for good tours on two consecutive days with Inside Lisbon Tours - the Sana Lisboa hotel is one of the two major pick-up points for their day tours, eg. to Sintra/Cascais and Obidos/Fatima. The hotel is also a few steps away from Carristur's yellow Hop-on, Hop-off bus stop as well as the airport bus stop.

Concierge and front desk staff were absolutely wonderful, patiently attending to our queries, assisting us with our tour reservations, and even went to the extent of providing valet parking. This may only be a 4 star hotel, but the staff certainly provided 5 star service.

Will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulubelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Excellent hotel in a fantastic position for most of the sights in Lisbon.

The staff are great and could not be more helpful. The room was nicely decorated and very pleasent to stay in.

One slight downside would be the bed - very very hard. However after a day of travel and sight seeing I still slept like a baby!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearonthebounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We are a middle-aged couple from Russia and the USA.

We usually stay at 4-star (and occasionally 5-star) hotels and resorts.

We stayed at 4-star Sana Lisboa Hotel in Lisbon, Portugal 11 nights (December 28, 2009 – January 8, 2010).

We reserved a standard double room and paid an average daily rate of 90 Euros (room, buffet breakfast, all taxes and fees included).

We booked our room directly via the hotel (Ms. Cristina Nunes, Reservations Manager) and were very pleased with the ease of booking and timely responses to our questions presented.



The Sana Lisboa Hotel is quite centrally located one block from the Marques do Pombal statue, the Edward VII park, the wide and beautiful Avenida da Liberdade with its many shops, restaurants, and hotels, and the Marques do Pombal metro station.

The Sana Lisboa Hotel is within a short walking distance of the El Corte Ingles department store and the Amoreiras Shopping Center (with its 350 shops and varied cafes and restaurants).

And, for those of us who love art, the Sana Lisboa Hotel is also within a short walking distance of the Gulbenkian Museum and the Museum of Modern Art.



All Sana Lisboa hotel employees that we encountered (reservations, reception, piano bar, cleaning, fitness center, restaurant personnel) were very professional, nice, helpful, and hard-working.

While Sana Lisboa Hotel is a 4-star hotel, compared to the other 4-star hotels and 5-star hotels that we have stayed at in Europe and elsewhere and also compared to the six 4-star and 5-star hotels in Lisbon that we visited during our stay (we had reviewed these hotels via the internet and thus were curious to see what they looked like), in our estimation Sana Lisboa Hotel is a SUPERIOR 4-star hotel!



This was our first trip to Lisbon. We very much enjoyed not only the Sana Lisboa Hotel but also the Portuguese people and culture and the fresh fish (seabass, dorada, turbot, swordfish, calamari) that we ate daily!

In addition, we want to mention the inspiring bronze sculpture exhibit entitled “Nuestros silencios” (“Our Silences”) by the Mexican artist Rivelino (born 1973) that was on the street near the Praca Marques de Pombal from November 23, 2009 to January 10, 2009 – for more information about this exhibit that will continue its tour in Madrid, Barcelona, Brussels, Rome, Berlin, London, and then return to Mexico, see www.nuestrossilencios.com, www.rivelino.com.mx, or www.rivelino.es.



Our comments regarding our 11-night stay at the Sana Lisboa Hotel are as follows:




HOTEL LOBBY

The hotel lobby was spacious, clean, and had a light feeling to it. The piano bar added to the ambience of the lobby, and the piano player definitely made the piano bar come alive with his quite varied playing and lively personality! For those who want more privacy and quiet, on the -1 conference rooms floor and the -2 restaurant floor there is also comfortable public seating.

The hotel lobby had a broad range of newspapers in various languages.




HOTEL ROOM

Our hotel room was on the 11th floor.

The hotel room was a nice size and included a desk/chair and a small round table with two chairs.

We had a beautiful view of the castle (Castelo de Sao Jorge) and Tagus river.

This view proved to be quite important for us since one of us had a middle ear infection on New Years Eve and could not go out to celebrate – watching the impressive fireworks from our room window that ran the full length of the room made a New Years Eve in the hotel room much more tolerable!

The room was immaculately cleaned on a daily basis and supplied with nice toiletries.

At our advance request to Reservations and Reception, a small electric teapot (enough for 2 cups of tea or coffee), 2 soft bathrobes, and 2 pairs of quality house slippers were placed in our rooms – it is our understanding that these items are not automatically placed in the rooms but are quite willingly supplied upon request. Having stated this, it appears that there is a deficit of the electric teapots since our group had 3 rooms and only 1 room was supplied with a teapot – as a result, we passed the electric teapot back and forth between our 3 rooms! When people are staying at a hotel for more than just a few nights (in our case, 11 nights), a teapot in the room is a quite nice and important addition – thus, we hope that the hotel will invest in a few more teapots to have on hand for its guests.



FITNESS AND WELLNESS CENTER (GYM, JACUZZI, SAUNA, TURKISH BATH, SOLARIUM, MASSAGE)

The fitness and wellness center is open from 7 a.m. until 10 p.m. daily.

The gym, jacuzzi, sauna, and Turkish bath are included in the hotel room price.

The solarium room and massage room are available at additional charge.



(A) GYM - While the gym was not large, it was adequate. However, the gym could become much more functional (at a nominal expense) if the hotel would improve upon the following:

- the workout station itself should be better to allow for a broader selection of exercises (for example, pull-ups were difficult to do because of the worn condition of the cable; it was not possible to do seated pulls);

- a broader selection of weights is needed for the workout station and barbell, for example, a set of 1.25 kg weights and a set of 2.5 kg weights;

- dumbbells are needed.



(B) JACUZZI/SAUNA/TURKISH BATH - This area is also not large but is quite nice and peaceful. There are also 2 loungers and 2 showers in this area (in addition to showers in the women’s and men’s locker rooms).

The jacuzzi and sauna worked during all 11 nights of our visit.

The Turkish bath worked only 2 nights during our visit, and this was a shame since the Turkish bath is always our favorite at a hotel – thus, we will look forward to a fully-working Turkish bath during our next visit to the Sana Lisboa Hotel!

In our estimation, the Jacuzzi, sauna, and Turkish bath themselves are not large and will accommodate comfortably not more than 4 people, regardless of what the manufacturer’s specifications state. Even so, during our stay we did NOT have any problem whatsoever finding a place for ourselves in the jacuzzi and sauna and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We liked the fact that the sauna/jacuzzi/Turkish bath are co-ed, i.e., for both sexes to enjoy together, since recently at another European hotel we could not enjoy the sauna together because separate saunas were located in the male and female locker rooms.



(C) ATMOSPHERE – The Fitness & Wellness Center has a nice narrow and long lobby area with 4-5 tables and many large delicious Granny Smith apples there for you to snack on (water is supplied as well). There is also a telephone there so that you can call to another room, reception, etc. if you want.



COMPUTER/INTERNET/COPYING/PRINTING ROOM NEAR RECEPTION

Internet access costs 5 EUR per hour or 10 EUR per day, and since this is expensive for us we were NOT looking forward to going to a nearby internet café to check our e-mails. However, when checking in at reception we learned that each room is entitled to 30 minutes of internet FREE OF CHARGE on the hotel’s computers. There are two computers and a copy/print machine in a small room behind reception. Every day we simply asked at reception for our 30-minute internet “coupon” (with login and password) and we easily logged on and off to check our messages.



PIANO BAR/CONTEMPORANEO RESTAURANT/ROOM SERVICE

The piano bar, Contemporaneo restaurant, and room service were expensive for us, but this is quite typical for many upper-scale hotels. However, since the FULL BUFFET BREAKFAST was included in the room price, we ate breakfast at the hotel every morning. And what a truly wonderful, delicious, fresh, and varied buffet breakfast it was! A hot station (with eggs, beans, hash browns, bacon, sausage, mushrooms/cherry tomatoes, grilled tomatoes), a cold station (with various quality cheeses and meats/cold cuts), a fruit station (with fresh pineapple, two melons, watermelon, oranges, grapefruit, kiwi, apples), dried fruits (prunes, apricots, raisins) and tasty large walnuts, many fresh breads, croissants, pasties and desserts, jams and honey, great Delta coffee, many teas (including decaffeinated), chocolate milk, sparkling and still water, and juices (apple, orange, peach). The only thing that we truly missed at breakfast was smoked salmon – we discussed this matter with Mr. Vitor Costa, and he said that previously the buffet breakfast included smoked salmon but that it was eliminated. Therefore, it would be nice if the hotel could bring back smoked salmon, if not daily then at least every other day. To finish up regarding our breakfast comments, it should be noted that the breakfast buffet is extremely well managed and the staff are extremely efficient at removing used plates and utensils timely, preparing clean tables, keeping food supplied, and keeping the food area clean. We can objectively state that of all of the hotel buffet breakfasts that we have ever tried the Sana Lisboa Hotel buffet breakfast is TRULY SUPERB!!!!!



It should be noted that if you use room service, a 5 Euro room service fee is automatically added to the bill. This fee may be warranted when a full meal is ordered (although we prefer to tip instead at our discretion), but when a cup of tea or coffee is ordered you end up paying more for the room service fee than you do for the tea or coffee. Thus, if you want a cup of tea or coffee the piano bar might be your best alternative!



AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION TO/FROM HOTEL

When arriving, from the airport to the hotel, we used the Aerobus bus (the bus stop is located immediately outside the airport exit) and paid 3.50 Euros per person for a total of 7 Euros – the bus drops you off almost directly across the street from the Sana Lisboa Hotel.

When leaving, from the hotel to the airport we had planned to use the Aerobus bus once again, but when we were waiting at the bus stop (which is almost directly outside the hotel to the left) an official taxi drove up to where we were standing and said that he would take us to the airport for 9 Euros – since it was only 2 Euros more than what Aerobus would have cost, we gladly took him up on his offer.



GROCERY STORE/24-HOUR PHARMACY NEAR THE HOTEL

There is a reasonably-priced “Mini Preco” smaller grocery store located on Avenida Duque de Loule (not more than 5 minutes walk from hotel), as well as a larger grocery store at the El Corte Ingles department store (not more than 10 minutes walk from hotel).

Also, if you need a pharmacy in the middle of the night (like we did), there is a 24-hour pharmacy at Avenida Duque de Loule 1 (up further from the Mini Preco grocery store noted directly above and on the same right-hand side of the street walking from the hotel) – if you buy something after the pharmacy’s standard hours, a quite nominal and official 1.50 Euro surcharge is automatically added to the bill.




SUMMARY OF SUGGESTIONS FOR SANA LISBOA HOTEL

(1) Have more teapots on hand so that guests (especially longer-term guests) can make tea/coffee for themselves in their rooms.

(2) Make the gym more functional as noted above.

(3) Add smoked salmon to the buffet breakfast menu.

(4) Try to keep the Turkish bath in better working order.

Since the above four remarks are the only small “deficiencies” that we found with the hotel, this just goes to show you that we barely had anything to complain about, which was GREAT!!!!



OBJECTIVE COMPARISON OF SANA LISBOA HOTEL TO OTHER LISBON HOTELS

Since we were in Lisbon for 11 nights, we decided to check out other hotels (4 star and 5 star) in case we wanted to return to Lisbon but stay at a different hotel (simply for variety, i.e., NOT because we were dissatisfied with the truly wonderful Sana Lisboa Hotel). Therefore, we checked out six hotels (including the hotel rooms, the restaurants, the fitness centers, the spas, etc.), five of them close to the Sana Lisboa and one of them in a significantly more remote area. While we intentionally are not reflecting which specific hotels we reviewed, we do want to state the following. In our objective estimation, it is hard, if not impossible, to find a Lisbon hotel better than the Sana Lisboa Hotel when it comes to having a STRONG BALANCE between price and quality/quantity of services rendered and facilities provided. Thus, for us, the Sana Lisboa Hotel is a hotel that we will definitely revisit on any future trips to Lisbon!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravellersSPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Excellent rooms and very quiet even though our room faced the busy road.
King size bed with lots of pillows. Bathroom has a shower/bath combo and all the amenities you will need.
The rooms offer a fabulous european buffet breakfast with great cheeses, breads and vegetables!
There is a Metro stop less than a block away so you can get to the nightlife in Barrio Alto very easily.
I would stay at the Sana hotel group again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinisterhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The Sana is not trendy or stylish but it's very contemporary, clean, and quiet. I was only there one night but compared to the much more expensive Fontana Park Hotel, this place was a delight. DO stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElSerracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We spent a week at this hotel around New Year's eve. I was here before and that time I was satisfied, that is why I booked the same place again. It was a good decision.

The location is great, a 10-15 minute easy walk to the river, taxi is very cheap to main downtown (around 5 EUR), neighbourhood is safe and nice. Restaurants and shopping malls can be found within walking distance.

Good things:
- staff is very very helpful and polite (they searched open pharmacies for me at night, so on)
- breakfast is good quality
- location is central
- room is very clean
- bed is big and comfortable
- internet was free in the computer room
Some minor point to improve:
- sometimes waiting queue for breakfast is too long and could be shortened

Whenever I come to Lisbon again I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pengemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
246 reviews
SANA Capitol Hotel
#63 of 248 in Lisbon
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
563 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,978 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 8, Lisbon 1069-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Lisbon, SANA Lisboa Hotel is a modern hotel offering spacious rooms with contemporary decor and equipped with all conveniences, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The hotel's excellent location on Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo (in the Marques de Pombal), within walking distance of both the business and the historic centre of Lisbon makes SANA Lisboa Hotel the hotel of choice in Lisbon. With 11 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 900 people, SANA Lisboa Hotel is also the hotel of choice for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing