We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Amora what a fantastic guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Casa Amora what a fantastic guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed there from 19-24/4/201 and enjoyed it soooo much!!! The decor and layout of the rooms and breakfast room is so inviting, warm and cosy.

A very big thank you to Luis and Jaun for being so warm hearted, thoughtful and helpful, you made our stay very pleasant and we also loved the art work in the rooms.

Room Tip: Very charming, studio duplex was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsvstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mrsvstrips ,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your sincere comment , we hope to welcome you again in the near future and that you had a lovely stay in lisbon.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    57
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
517
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Luis, Nita, and Juan are all simply the best hosts that a traveler could ask for. They help with maps, any reservations, food & snacks...anything it takes to make their guests comfortable! They are the gold standard for B&B's everywhere! I would come back to stay again.
Thank you Casa Amora. We enjoyed our time with you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet due to the nice quiet neighborhood location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmercerisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Public Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jsmercerisland ,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your sincere comment , we hope to welcome you again in the near future and that you had a lovely stay in lisbon.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have only positive things to say about this place. High hygiene standards, a very comfortable bed , a lovely patio and the best breakfast I ve ever had! And Juan of course, such a sweetheart,always happy to help with ANYTHING.. I definitely recommend this guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Elsi P ,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your sincere comment , we hope to welcome you again in the near future and that you had a lovely stay in lisbon.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

From great reviews on T/A we used Casa Amora's website to book a Superior Double Room for 3 nights and then 2 nights at the non refundable rate, including breakfast.

We were graciously greeted by Luis, who did everything possible to welcome us. The information he gave was fantastic and very helpful.

He then showed us to our room the first time on the top floor. The steps are steep and he carried our luggage which we appreciated. Just take your time with the steps! This is an older house and space is at a premium.
Our room the first time had a long balcony the length of our room, which overlooked the street and 3 slim sets of doors opened onto it. Just lovely. There is a safe.
The WC, shower recess has opaque glass doors opening onto the room and a hand basin in an alcove. It's tight, but as I said earlier, space is at a premium.

The second time, our room was on the same level as the breakfast area and was just as lovely. There is a bedroom and off that a dressing room and shower, WC and hand basin, again a safe and TV. There is a small balcony.

Everything is beautifully clean and works well. The TV has plenty of choice. Wifi is free and fast.
This is a well cared for establishment and Nita and Luis are a delight. Nothing is too much trouble for them. When I needed new luggage, Luis took care of my old one. A big Thank You!

Spring water and fruit is gratis, just help yourself in the kitchen and there is a honour system for alcoholic drinks.

Breakfast was amazing ( no other words describes it adequately). A generous spread of food. Pot set yogurt, fresh fruit juices, breads, cold meats, Portugese cheeses, quiches, rice pudding,croissants, lovely jams, coffee, fruit. (I am sure I have left something out) Wonderful! All the best quality and there is different food offered each morning. The lovely lady, Nita, I think was in charge of the breakfast and was so accommodating. Luis was also there making sure we had everything we needed. Over the weekend, there was another guy manning the kitchen (on Nita's day off?) and he was equally friendly and helpful.

Rato Metro Station is about 10 minutes max away, down hill from the B and B and this provides easy access to lovely Lisbon. There's a lovely little park at the corner and the aqueduct and nice museum and it's a quiet residential area.

We loved our 2 stays at Casa Amora and give it our highest recommendation.
This place has it all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear barbaraanne56,

Thank you for your descriptive comment and for choosing to stay with us , we are very thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Casa Amora to celebrate a special birthday and our 5th wedding anniversary. We really wanted somewhere special and CA was all we wanted it to be. The biggest problem was that our break was far too short.

Our room was lovely (and very clean), as was the whole of the guest house. It was full of character and just had a lovely feeling about it. We had our breakfast in the small, but perfectly formed sunny garden and conservatory. The choice of food for breakfast was great; eggs on 2 out of the 3 days, fruit, yogurts, different bread, cheeses and meats. Croissants, home made jams and cake, the famous little Portuguese custard tarts and a baked egg dish. You also helped yourself to tea, coffee and juice and there were big jars of little biscuits to dip into.

We decided to catch the metro from the airport and CA (in the Rato district) was easy to find (we did get send excellent details). We returned to the guest house late a few times and the area felt safe). We did have to use the metro or trams to get around from our guest house but this is as you would for any capital city as there is so much to see and it's all in different areas. The transport in Lisbon is great.

The staff were lovely and welcoming (Vlad the cook/cleaner does have an intense stare :). Juan is warm, funny, helpful and a fab character. We loved the places/sights he recommended in particular the quirky Fado evening which felt like a real Fado evening rather than being for tourists and Sintra was AMAZING (we saw the castle and Pena Palace) and Nita the other cleaner/cook is also warm, lovely and funny.

As this is a guesthouse, there isn't anyone on the premises after 5pm but this wasn't a problem. We were told to make ourselves at home, to help ourselves to tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits and the honesty bar and given Juan's number and told to call him at any time if we needed to (which we didn't).

If we sound as if we are gushing about this place, it's simply because we loved it (we don't normally bother writing reviews).

Our room, The Amalia suite, did have a rather quirky bathroom (a large, thick curtain separated it from the bedroom) and the door to the toilet cubicle was impossible to close unless you happen to be rather short/small but we had read about this in previous reviews and it we found it funny rather than it bothering us (there is a toilet just outside the room if you wanted more privacy, which no one but myself seemed to use).

The only problem we experienced was a Canadian couple arriving off their flight very early in the morning and the downstairs front door slammed quite loudly, followed by low speaking voices but it was for a short time only and I imagine, a rare situation. In the scheme of things, it wasn't a big problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscillarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Priscillarose ,

Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to give us a comment on TripAdvisor.We really appreciate it and would definitely wait for your next visit with us.Your description and comment is really special to us and we appreciate it dearly.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We are a family (2 adults and 2 kids ) and we spent 6 nights at Casa Amora. The room was clean, large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent in quantity and quality. The owner Luis is very kind and keen to provide insights or information. Casa Amora is located in the arounds of a metro station and nearby a small public park hence the location is also OK. I recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear DavideT ,

Thank you for your comment and for choosing to stay with us , we are very thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was exactly what we were looking for a weekend stay in Lisbon for the first time. Our hosts Luis and Juan were wonderful as they were a big help in recommending/ booking restaurants, places to see and arranging for our transportation. We highly recommend the 3 hour walking history tour provided by Juan as it was extremely interesting and covered a vast part of central Lisbon. Although public transportaion is available near the property, we used their transfer services at 40 Euros each way to and from the airport and certainly liked the frist class service in a Mercedes and the no hassle factor in figuring out the transportation system as our time in Lisbon was only 2 nights 1 day. The breakfast was fantastic in a beautiful private courtyard with a quality food selection including cooked to order eggs. We booked the double room facing the street on the top floor with the small balcony which was very roomy for Lisbon standards. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. The internet worked great. The location of the property is in a very quiet nice neighborhood near central Lisbon. There even is a grocery store around the corner if needed. Taxi fares anywhere in the city did not exceed 10 euros for us. We really did not have enough time to master the public transportation system which we hear is very good. This is a great alternative to staying in a expensive hotel where you really are treated like family and feel like you are at home. The recommendations provided by Luis and Juan were the icing on the cake. Thanks again for a memorable stay. Laura and Ed

Room Tip: Take the walking tour (if available) offered by Juan. You really get to see and learn the history of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insurebroker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Insurebroker1 ,

Wow that is a very nice comment that you left for us , we are thoroughly grateful.You had a very short stay but as you said we tried to make the best out of it.Thank you for recommending our tour and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Property: Casa Amora Guesthouse
Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amora Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing