We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This being my 2nd trip to Lisbon after falling in love with the place years ago, I brought along my partner and parents to show them what they were missing. Lisbon did not disappoint.
Casa Amora sent a car service to pick us up from the airport, which, after a 20hr flight was greatly appreciated.
Arriving at CA, we were greeted by Luis and Juao and given a tour of our accommodation - the 'house' that adjoins CA. It was amazing!
My partner and I had upstairs that consists of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, while my parents were downstairs that had the large master bedroom, ensuite, living room and kitchen. The place is incredible!
Breakfast was served in the courtyard every morning. We slept in each day and a late breakfast was no problem. All the staff were beyond friendly, very accommodating and nothing was too much of an ask.
Luis' and crew are the most hospitable people you will ever come across.
I am extremely well travelled, and I have never come across such great customer service until now. There is so much history to take in, and the staff are extremely well knowledged.
Casa Amora is centrally located and in walking distance to pretty much everything 'Must See' in Lisbon. Anything else, the staff at CA gave excellent directions to and organised cabs and public transport for us.
My family had such an incredible time, they are planning their next trip and are taking their friends.
For anyone travelling to Lisbon - you will not find a better experience.

To Luis, Juao, Juan, Vlad and crew - A VERY BIG THANK YOU!!

Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Beds are extremely comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Peter ,

Thank you for your comment and the nice words.We really appreciate it and do hope to see you again in the near future.We do miss you to and big hugs to the rest of the family.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at Casa Amora. What stands out most about this guest house is the level of service, the beautiful décor and the delicious breakfasts.

We stayed in the duplex studio, with a double bed on the mezzanine and living space and spacious bathroom downstairs. The living area consists of couch, coffee table, TV and small kitchenette, which is adequate to prepare very basic meals. The studio, like the rest of Casa Amora is beautifully decorated with a mix of modern and classic elegant furniture and décor items.

Stepping out from the studio there is a quiet, leafy park. The Rato metro is a short walk away.

Breakfasts were a real treat. What I enjoyed was the home-made fruit juices and selection of fresh fruits, freshly baked bread and croissants, cheeses and preserves, muesli and yoghurt and Nespresso coffee. There was also a baked rice dish that other guests swooned about but I did not try. Breakfast was served in a pretty courtyard.

From the onset Juan made us feel welcome and did everything to make our stay pleasant. He gave his cellphone number so that we could reach him if we wanted anything. His recommendation for Fado was spot-on and a highlight of our visit. He also assisted with other sightseeing and practical recommendations, organising car rental and restaurant bookings.

Casa Amora is a great base from which to explore Lisbon, and feels like an oasis to return to. I’ll happily recommend this and will gladly stay here again.

Dankie Juan - dit is 'n lieflike gastehuis!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JacoWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Jaco Wes ,

It is not everyday that we get fellow South Africans at the guesthouse so i must admit i do miss speaking a bit of Afrikaans and making inside jokes.

I do hope to see you again soon when you return to Lisbon and wish you all the best .

Regards
Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived very late, but Juan was there to greet us. The room was a loft and was comfortable for three people. It was beautifully furnished. The steps are very narrow getting up to the loft and we wouldn't suggest this room for people who have difficulty climbing. Juan sat with us after breakfast to orient us to the Lisbon attractions we were interested in visiting. He was extremely helpful in giving restaurant recommendations as well. We were surprised to find that the breakfast each morning wasn't ready anywhere near the time stated. From the table not being set, to the server having to run out and buy bread as there was none available things did not run smoothly. It is buffet style and most of the tables are down a few steps from the buffet. This might be a problem for older people. However there is one table on the same level as the buffet. It is located a few blocks from the Rato train station which made for easy access to downtown Lisbon. There was also a market a block or so away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Lovetotravel ,

We are truly sorry that your experience at Casa Amora did not match your expectations regarding the breakfast and the quality of service we wish to provide to our guests. We apologize for the breakfast being 'late' . Maria does go and buy the bread fresh every morning.

We hope that, in spite of your experience with us you had a pleasant visit to the city.

Regards
Juan & the Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is one of the top BnBs we have stayed in. Juan and Luis are such excellent hosts and warm people in general that they had us sold the moment we stepped in. We arrived nearly at midnight but Juan was there to look after us. Juan even helped us park our car! The BnB is so beautiful! From the reception area to the garden where breakfast is served, everything is tastefully done up. We had one of their new duplex suites which is right next to the main BnB. We had a huge living room with a double futon, kitchen and a washroom downstairs and a beautiful bedroom with a massive washroom upstairs. It was like having a personal house! They have a help to assist with bags and that is something a lot of BnBs do not have. The breakfast spread is excellent with fresh sweet cake and a fresh savoury bake, fresh eggs, a selection of cheeses and ham, fruits, fresh juice, yoghurt and tea/good coffee. The location is not very central but it is quiet and safe. It is a good base to explore the city. The hosts have a printed list of suggestions for everything- shopping, restaurants, cafes- again a personal touch that you don't see often. If you go to Lisbon and don't stay here, it would be a sacrilege.

Room Tip: We loved the duplex suite that we got! A living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. With two was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

Dear Gypsicsoul ,

Thank you so much for your comment , we are happy you enjoyed our new Studio Duplex room.We are also happy you enjoyed Lisbon and that everything on your trip was good.

Regards
Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We Been there for a city Trip and searched for a different kind of Hotel/guesthouse. I saw the pictures from The guesthouse on the website and fell in love!!!
This Place is absolut awesome since it is very Special but also traditional and you directly feel welcome there.
They pay much attention to the guests and also make good recommendations.
I would definetly Return here
for Casa amora

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Public Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Nicole,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the sincere comment .

We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful decor, fabulous breakfasts, and magnificent staff for our six nights in Lisbon. Nothing is too much trouble. Juan is so very helpful and friendly!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Fruit, biscuits and a cuppa always available during the stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Marg A,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the sincere comment .

We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for four nights at Casa Amora. Juan goes beyond the call of duty to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The actual guesthouse is tastefully decorated and immaculate. The breakfast is delicious. The location is good - near Rato metro station and next to a lovely green square. Walking distance to tram 28. We had a lovely time in Lisbon and would recommend Casa Amora to anyone wanting to visit the city. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dickydaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanHenning, Public Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Dickydaw,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the sincere comment .

We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
The Casa Amora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#4 of 258 in Lisbon
270 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 258 in Lisbon
407 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 258 in Lisbon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £100 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amora Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing