We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design modern hotel with a great service”
Review of 9 Hotel Mercy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
9 Hotel Mercy
Ranked #77 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days during a business trip. It was fantastic. I was very impressed by the service. The location is great, being close to stores and restaurants. The hotel offers a very nice breakfast, including fresh mango, several different breads and scramble eggs.

ROOM
The rooms are spacious and very modern.
My room included a large bed, large flat screen TV with all satelites channels, fridge.
Upon my arrival there was a welcome letter and some macarons as presents.
**Note: there is NO hairdryer (or ironing board)

LOCATION
When you exit the hotel you are may 10 or 15 minutes walk to the sea. You can see it from there.
There are commercial streets with restaurants at a 2 minutes walking distance.
For party, there is the disco club SILK, maybe 50m down the street.

TIPS
- Request a room with a view !
- Ensure a king size bed (instead of a double - 2 single beds)
- Bring a hairdryer if you need it
- BRing good walking shoes and avoid the high heels because the streets are in a bad conditions and rather hilly.

Room Tip: - Request a room with a view ! - Ensure a king size bed (instead of a double - 2 single beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at 9 Hotel Mercy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Mercy Hotel in Lisbon. You point out several strenghts of the hotel that are very important for us like the high quality service, excellent food, comfort and attention to details.
We would just like to correct that there is a hairdryer in each room. It is not in the bathroom and that's why probably you thought it didn't exist. The hair dryer is stored in one of the wardrobe's shelves.
So we advise other Guests not to bring their own hairdryer since they will find one in each room.
Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

We got to stay at the Mercy Hotel only because their sister hotel, Lisboa Carmo Hotel, told us that they were overbooked and that they had upgraded us to a five-star Mercy Hotel. Well, we cannot really complain about our stay but I believe it is important to adjust the expectations.

Pricing. After receiving the upgrade, we double-checked the prices on various web-sites and we discovered that the price for the three-star Lisboa Carmo and the five-star Mercy were the same (100 euros/double/night) on their respective web-site, whereas the bookingcom put Mercy's price at 160 euros a night. So make sure to shop around before ordering!

Classification. Mercy is NOT a five-star hotel. It lacks standard five-star amenities, like, for instance, a gym, swimming pool, etc. Rooms are on the small side, ours was approximately 16 sq. m, and, according to the evacuation plan on the door, it was not the smallest on the floor. That said, it was somewhat incongruous to see trappings of a five-star hotel, such as a doorman at the entrance (he clearly did not have much to do and he also had a day off on Sunday!) and table service at breakfast. Had they called themselves a three-star design or boutique hotel, that would have been all right, but a five-star? Come on, get real!

Amenities. As I mentioned, rooms are small. It does not help that, for design purposes, they are decorated in dark colours and the bathroom is entirely black. Comfort and ease of use were sacrificed for design: thus, there is a gap between a stand-alone sink and the wall where objects may fall. Besides, black must be so much harder to clean and, although the hotel has just opened, there are small stains on every surface. It must also be said that the quality of finishings is substandard: in some places grout overflows the joints, while in others it has started falling out.

Staff. The staff cannot be faulted. All of them, without exception, were of a sunny and cordial disposition, always ready to help, to explain things and to be of any assistance. They also speak fluent English.

Location. It is located on Rua Misericordia (hence the name) which is actually the frontier between the chic Chiado and the more rough Bairro Alto. In fact, it is a few steps below the Church of St Roque. To my mind, it was one of the best locations - convenient both for sightseeings and for the night life.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, General Manager at 9 Hotel Mercy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thanks for staying at Mercy Hotel and for sharing your thoughts with us.
We are happy to know that you' ve enjoyed your stay with us as well as the great location of the 5 Star Mercy Hotel.
Lisboa Carmo Hotel, the hotel booked in first hand is a 4 Star Hotel near ours.
As per the portuguese hotel legislation, rooms at 5 (five) star hotels must have at least 17,5 sqm. Our standard rooms range from 22,5sqmeters (the one where you stayed in) to 30 sqm.. At 5 Star MERCY HOTEL there are no rooms with 16 sqm.
Regarding facilities, it is really very common to find charming hotels in the heart/historic area of european cities, like Paris, Rome, Venice and many others, that have no swmming pools or spa. Location is sometimes more important than other facilities. In Chiado/Bairro Alto, premium Lisbon area where Mercy Hotel is located, there are many building and architectural restrictions and we have to adat the projects to the available space and existing structures.
Fortunately, most of our Guests value comfort, excellent beds, good quality service, personalized treatment, attention to detail, efficient tourist information service at the front desk, service table at breakfast, good food at the restaurant, just to mention a few items.
Our prices, as in most of the hotels worldwide, are dinamic and change according to the season but always keeping balance between our website and our dear partners. Third party websites would never accept huge price differences.
In order to make the hotel always more and more appealing, we have just open a Christmas Tree's Exhibition, decorated by famous portuguese stylists so that our Guests can appreciate creativity and art made in Portugal. Our Guests are our "leitmotiv".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Glad we discovered this brand new gem of a hotel. This is the place to stay in Lisbon. Mercy is new, boutique, trendy, in a great central location, with a warm friendly and helpful staff. Our room, while not large, was very well equipped, with beautiful new floors, very modern bathroom, and comfortable stylish bedroom with sitting area, large flat screen TV, and an A+ view from our room to the castle (5th Floor). Bedding and bathroom linens plush. Bathrobes and slippers also supplied. There were many personal touches, including turndown service each night, fruit and chocolate delivered upon arrival, extra help from staff included dining suggestions, assistance ordering flowers as a gift, etc. There is a private trendy little bar/lounge area downstairs with adjoining computer/printer set-up. Free wifi and safe in our room, in addition to a small refrigerator/stocked mini-bar. Everything we needed for our 6-day stay in Lisbon. By far, the staff and ideal location made our stay just perfect! Walk to everything, shopping, restaurants, nightlife and touring the sites. Also convenient to trams and trains for day trips. Along with a quiet, restful night staying at the Mercy Hotel. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: Fifth floor castle view rooms are quieter and the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peixedaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at the Mercy the week after it opened. I can't that of a hotel better situated in Lisbon. You can walk up to Barrio Alto or down to Chiado and many central places. Hip, modern place with rooms on the small side (but probably close to the Lisbon average). The deluxe room is worth the extra money. Amazingly helpful bellboys (Bruno and Renato) who stole some of the fire of the front desk staff (although they were also very good).
Parking is super expensive or nonexistent--leave the car.
They had a problem with odor on one of the floors and the electrical system in one room. I think that they had worked out these problems by the time we had left.

Room Tip: Deluxe room (business suite?) is not huge but worth the extra money. Rooms on lower floors have vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raydee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very best central location, walking distance from most places of interest, close to metro station and to Rossa train station (for a day-trip to Sintra).
Well designed rooms. We booked a Deluxe room, which is probably the minimal acceptable size for a 5-star hotel (around 25/30 sqm), with shower only (no bath).
Continental breakfast included in our rate is of very good quality but minimal choice (table-served, no buffet).
Outstanding service and support from all members of staff at any time.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Wonderful hotel, sleek modern design. Easy access to Metro, Biarro Alto, and Liberdade Avenue (via trolley or St. Justa lift...or walk). Excellent hotel staff, very helpful and accommodating. Renato, who helped us with our luggage and settle into our room, was incredible.

Room Tip: Try to get an higher floor for a view of Sao Jorge castle. Also you must visit the church of Sao Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This brand new hotel is superbly located. Right beside the Chiado & Bairro Alto and 3 mins from a metro station. Pretty much in the centre of it all. It is in a nice location with a few local cafes & antique shops. An easy walk to many great restaurants.
The staff are helpful and courteous. The hotel was brand new & spotless in October 2012. Beds ultra comfy. It was warm-25 C-when we stayed & the AC worked well.
The dark decor of the rooms & bathroom may not be to everyone's taste, lots of black! For a city centre hotel in Europe it was spacious enough. My sister and I had lots of space for two big cases and
many shopping bags!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mazsiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
1,027 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#52 of 255 in Lisbon
168 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
894 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#57 of 255 in Lisbon
1,629 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Hotel Mercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hotel Mercy

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £84 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Hotel Mercy 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary four star lifestyle hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012. The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October. Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 9 Hotel Mercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing