We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, with an AMAZING staff!!!”
Review of 9HOTEL MERCY

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
9HOTEL MERCY
Ranked #69 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location, with an AMAZING staff!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The location was great. We were just a few blocks from the 28 tram and literally right next door to the Bairro Alto which is where all the night life is. The hotel room was not cheap but my boyfriend and I both agreed that this was one the friendliest hotel staffs we have ever encountered. Pedro, one of the front desk staff, was our main source for recommendations on what to do and how to get around the city. He was a HUGE help. The staff treat you like family and genuinely want to help make the most of your visit in Lisbon. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lisbon. I would also recommend visiting Cascais if you have time. It's a small fishing town just a train ride away from Lisbon with a beautiful walking path right along the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    288
    63
    20
    15
See reviews for
72
454
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff at the Mercy Hotel should get an A+ for customer service and customer experience. During our short stay they made our visit into one of the most enjoyable holiday breaks we have had for many years. Not only that but the hotel itself is located in the best part of Lisbon for visitors; near lots of great restaurants, bars and the waterfront. Also it is located only 6 minutes walk down a hill to the main train station, where you can catch a train every 15 minutes to the historic town of Sintra. The rooms and facilities are of a good standard and easily comparable with premium branded hotels. The restaurant is very cool, serving some very original and trendy Asian fusion dishes at reasonable prices. Above all else, Ines, Alla, Ronnie, Pedro and Joao (the staff) make you feel like you are part of their family when you stay at the hotel. The big hotel chains could learn a lot from this team, namely how to treat customers in a flexible and genuinely hospitable way. Well done Mercy, we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

First of all some good points - staff and location.
STAFF
Staff was just excellent, very helpful, very attentive always with a smile. Strong point of Mercy.
LOCATION
Probably one of the best possible locations if you look for the good base for exploring Lisbon. At the edge of Chiado with plenty of restaurants and cafes in the closest neighbourhood.
ROOM
I have decided to take a room with the castle view. The room is on the 5th what means that indeed there is a direct castle view. The problem is however that the window is very small. Unfortunately, so was the room as such. It was advertised (booking.com) as a 23 sq m room. It might be possible but the corridor probably took most of this - therefore the room as such - I mean: usable space, was probably not bigger than 13-14 sq m. As I have spent there just one night - it was my last day of my trip around Portugal - I did not care that much. But I do not think I could stay more than 1 night there. The aircondtitioning was very effective but very noisy. One could turn it down and open the window instead - which was a good solution in the middle of the night - in the evening however I could feel all the flavours of the Asian restaurant (hotel restaurant) whoich was right below the windows. And finally one small thing - there was a Nespresso machine in the room - but you have to pay for each capsule used. This is not a real financial issue (1 euro per capsule when you pay over 180 Euro per night does not hurt your wallet) but I always have a sort of a bad taste feeling when the hotel tries to charge you for such small items.
In general - I do not think that I will come back to Mercy. Lisbon offers plenty of good and very good hotels and this experience was not really satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomasz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F, Gerente geral at 9HOTEL MERCY, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments which deserved our very best attention.
I have already informed the several departments at the hotel about your queries. Namely, the noise by the AC has already been solved.
We are working on the other issues in order to improve our product and service and satisfy our Guest which is our main goal.
We wish you a nice summer and thank you for your cooperation.
Best regards
General Management
Mercy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Mercy Hotel is located perfectly: Little under a ten-minute walk to the bay and the main shopping areas. Of course it's also literally directly next to the Bairro Alto where you'll want to be in the evenings for dinner or drinks. The hotel staff are genuinely lovely (and speak their languages) and very keen to help, which makes the stay all the more pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for one night in June and loved it. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful when trying to navigate your way around a new city and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself is very modern and stylish and there are nice little extras, for example a free welcome drink and chocolates on the pillow which adds a special touch. Highly recommend the pancakes for breakfast. Hotel mercy also has valet parking at €22 per day which is helpful as there's pretty much no parking in central Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloe_symes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

New hotel in Lisbon very modern first time at that hotel
Great location Barrio Alto
Room very big for Europe and very design very clean
I did not try the breakfast
Staff efficient
Highly recommended same category than the Sofitel (can be a second choice)
under 150 Eur can be a good rate for that type of hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed for one night at the Mercy Hotel for an impromptu stopover in Lisbon. I know LIsbon well and knew the location I wanted - which was why this was my choice. It is billed as a 5-star. And on the surface it has all the makings of that rating - including the cocktail on arrival! But it still needs to get a few things right. The breakfast, although beautifully presented, was small and rather boring with very little choice. The room was smaller than I expected - with very little space around the bed and no real work area if you are there on business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
961 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#75 of 248 in Lisbon
106 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#53 of 248 in Lisbon
487 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 248 in Lisbon
1,460 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9HOTEL MERCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL MERCY

Property: 9HOTEL MERCY
Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 9HOTEL MERCY 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9HOTEL MERCY is a contemporary Four Star lifestyle Hotel, very charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally well-known and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012.The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the Castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon and a Terrace bar opened for your pleasure from April to October.Also available a lounge bar, an internet corner and Free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 9HOTEL MERCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing