We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal, Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Ranked #27 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had the privilege of staying here for three nights this summer. The moment we entered, we were shown our gorgeous room and granted a table for dinner on the terrace later than usual. For our whole stay we were surrounded by captivating, knowledgable and accommodating hosts, who helped us make each day fantastic, preparing a fresh and complete (at least by European standards) breakfast in the morning, providing us with lunch recommendations, and even joining us for late night conversations and beers on the terrace which overlooks the river and the city. (The terrace alone is enough reason to stay here - it is stunning to gaze upon at any time of day and we did). The location's excellence need not be mentioned; but to help explain, let's just say I won't stay in any other area in Lisbon after staying here: on the cusp of Bairro Alto and Chiado, an area of Lisbon with life, restaurants, and touristic sights to boot.

In short, everything about this place goes the extra mile and the value is undeniable. Should you stay here, your time in Lisbon will be nothing short of surreal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Monte Belvedere for two nights for part of our 2 week honeymoon in Portugal. This guest house is located in a quiet section of the bustling Bairro Alto neighborhood. It was nice being so close to the action but with the opportunity to get a good night sleep. The view from the rooftop was one of the best views in the city. We had the most delicious and authentic portuguese meal at the rooftop restaurant. The view, the food, and the sunset made this experience one of the best of our entire honeymoon! We will definitely stay at Monte Belvedere Guesthouse during our next trip to Lisbon.

Make sure to book a walking tour with Sergio. It is the best way to see the city in a way most people will never get to experience, even locals!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall we had a great stay at Monte Belvedere.

Pros
- Great location (within walking distance of all attractions)
- Lovely rooftop patio with amazing views
- Good breakfast spread!
- Room was clean and nicely decorated
- Friendly and helpful service throughout our stay

We would recommend staying at Monte Belvedere, thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller201408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this bed & breakfast following the advice of a colleague. Convincing arguments were its location within walking distance of most of the spots worth seeing, the proximity of public transport (tram, metro and train) and of course the stunning views from the roof terrace. The welcome on arrival was very friendly and the hospitality by the staff during our stay was great. Among other things by being very helpful in giving advise on locations to go to, restaurants to eat, etc. Next time in Lisbon will certainly be spent here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had a lovely night in Lisbon at the Monte Belvedere. I received a really warm welcome and help with finding my way around the city. The location and the room were fantastic - everything was perfect, homely and clean. The view was amazing. Breakfast was plentiful! I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Lisbon. Thank you everyone at MB!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a small bed&breakfast in a recently renovated house in Bairro Alto.

The location is very good, near to many restaurants and not far from the tram. The staff is very friendly and helpful and is able to advise you in selecting restaurants in the neighborhood.

Rooms (even the breakfast room) are on the small side, but clean.

There is a restaurant on the roof opened when weather allows. The view and the food are excellent. As I understood even if you are in one of the other guest-houses of the same owner, you may use this restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I believe, this place is one of the best places to stay in when in Lisbon: great location, safe and quite neighbourhood, great rooms with comfortable bed and the best staff ever.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vassily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 253 in Lisbon
909 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 253 in Lisbon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#23 of 253 in Lisbon
293 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,506 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 253 in Lisbon
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Belvedere by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere by Shiadu

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say it has the best view of Lisbon! From our panoramic restaurant where breakfast is served every morning for our guests, you will not be indifferent to the Cristo Rei embracing Lisbon, the river Tagus [Tejo], the 25th of April Bridge with lights showing where the Atlantic Ocean begins and also the Basilica da Estrela that stands out between the rooftops of Lapa… However, the main feature of Monte Belvedere by Shiadu is not simply its amazing view! Its 13 rooms, some of which with a magnificent view of the river Tagus , have all the comfort you need for an unforgettable stay and our dedicated staff will welcome you, making you feel as if you were at home. Every day you will enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast prepared just for you! Near Monte Belvedere by Shiadu you will find the Northwind Statue [Estatua do Adamastor] (fictional character created by Luis de Camoes, in his master works The Lusiadas). The higher part of Santa Catarina is one of the most beautiful places of Lisbon and only two steps away from the city buzz. With views over the river Tagus it is said that since the 17th Century this plateau, once known as Monte do Pico or Monte Belvedere, is famous because of its lookout point. According to legend throughout the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, from here one could see the moving ships: this is why still today there is a proverbial saying that is: “Ver navios no Alto de Santa Catarina” [“Watching the ships from the top of Santa Catarina”). Follow your instinct and we will be waiting…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monte Belvedere by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing