We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Door of the Devil”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Layout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Layout
Patio
Patio
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kwoodRoch...
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Door of the Devil”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The door is a massive solid wood beautiful monster with a giant skeleton key from the turn of a very past century. In our four day stay, I never did figure out how to unlock it. This wasn't a problem, since Mario our great landlord/contact lived around the corner and was on call (and my husband was able to master the old lock). Mario assured me that other units had easier access.

I absolutely loved this place (the devil door too). It was very spacious for a studio and well designed. Beautiful brick arches, stone steps and lintels and massive wooden wardrobes. The kitchen was up a couple of steps from the main living area and it was very well appointed-think IKEA in the 18th century. We made breakfast every morning and ate on the very private patio, up a couple of more stone steps. Since my husband and I are both big Americans, I did find the side chairs in the living room a bit small, but the couch was comfy. The TV had more channel options than you need on vacation-get out and explore the city!

The location was great. Just far enough from the bar area to walk easily. Down the hill is a great square with many restaurants, street perfromers and grocery stores. It is a 5 minute walk to the train to Sintra and 10 minute walk to the train to the Atlantic resorts.

This was one of teh best places that I have ever rented in a great location and with a wonderful host-Mario.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Wow thanks Kathy! What a wonderful review. Informative and witty! I am glad you had a good time.
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vesanto
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Thank you Alli for the great review and for your words regarding our business partners also. It is important for us to receive good feed back from the services providers we recommend.
Really glad you had a nice time here and hope to see you soon again!
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thanks for the great and detailed review!
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathryn C
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The PERFECT place to stay in Lisbon”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

WOW, this place was perfect! Mario was absolutely fabulous. His office is directly across the street from the apartment, which made it perfect to stop in if we had any questions. Mario was so helpful & gave us great recommendations for beaches, how to get there and places to eat. The apartment was in a great location, SUPER SAFE & walking distance to BOTH train stations, metro & trolley stop. We didn't even use the metro because we were able to walk everywhere. The apartment was so clean! I have found that with most apartments for rent there is a "cleaning" fee but you also have instructions for cleaning prior to you leaving with seems contradictory. At this apartment, we were not asked to do anything such as "take out the trash" or "run the dishwasher" & there was no "hidden fees"! We were able to leave the window & back door open at night for some breeze but it would have been nice to have a fan to cool off the apartment because there is no air conditioning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No air conditioner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2013
Wow thanks for the great review Kathryn!
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed this really large studio. As you pointed out my office is just in front... all you had to do would be walking in and I would had lent you a fan!
Anyway great to know you enjoyed it. Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabra
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This apartment has a very good location. Nice area and very close to bairro alto, restaurants and shops. The apartment is very well decorated, spacious and clean. However it is quite dark and the lights need to be on all the time. The outside area was nice to have but could do with a facelift. A major annoyance is the level of noise from the apartment above; every footstep or movement could be heard which was quite disturbing. The booking agent is right across the street and was very friendly and helpful.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank you for the review Clare.
Above the flat lives a mature couple in their 60s. I am sorry you found their footsteps disturbing but it is important for future guests to understand that it is not like they spend the nights partying and dancing!
There is less exposure to natural light on a ground floor, true, but that is clearly stated when describing the flat.
The pictures of the patio are accurate.
Kind regards
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California USA
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2013
Thanks Luu, glad you had a good time and all was perfect.
See you soon! Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2013
Thanks Jack, glad you enjoyed your stay and the apartment.
Come back soon, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing