We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyed our stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Layout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Layout
Patio
Patio
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
suediam20...
Huntington, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely comfortable apartment with lots of character on a quite residential street surrounded by the wonderful Chiado neighborhood, centrally located in Lisbon with lots of shopping and restaurants. Mario, the Fado Flats representative made our arrangements for travel from the airport and was at the apartment to greet us. He was also easy to communicate with from the states. His office was right across the street and he gave us helpful hints and recommendations. We loved the fact that there were no steps. This apartment is fine for 3 adults. More than that would feel cramped. The sofa bed is not very comfortable, but fine for 4 nights. The bathroom is old, small but also fine for a few nights. We were very pleased and this worked out well for us. I definitely would recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you Sue for such a nice and detailed review! Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally L
1 review
“Lovely but not wheelchair accessible”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a lovely, clean, well maintained apartment right in the heart of things. Mario was very helpful, and arrival/departure went very smoothly. I do agree with other reviewers- whoever lives upstairs seems to start walking about at 6am and spends the entire morning just walking up and down. This was pretty disturbing to holiday lie-ins!
I thought it was important to note that this apartment is listed as wheelchair accessible, but it isn't- unless you don't need to use the loo for the duration of your stay, as both the kitchen and bathroom are up steps. Access through the front door to the main part of the flat is level, however.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you Sally, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
All ancient buildings in Lisbon were built using a wood structure and no concrete was applied. This circumnstance does reduce sound isolation but so is the case in 80% of the buildings in centre town.
As you pointed out studio is wheelchair accessible but it is not prepared (nor advertised) as suitable for guests unable to move without a wheelchair. Fortunately it was not the case.
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifford...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience in Lisbon”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a unique property perfectly located in the Chiado area,we had excellent reception on arrival even though it was a public holiday.The property is well equipped and very clean,the shower tray needs updating,but it is still clean and functional.
We did miss the lack of daylight but the little patio area compensates for this,and the noise from the upstairs occupant walking about early in the morning was a little frustrating,but one should be aware that Lisbon is a City of apartments and that this is a way of life here,after all,we don't complain about the steep steps and streets,all in all a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location.
Liked least: Upstairs noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Thank you Cliff I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Studio is unique indeed and location is unbeatable. Choosing character and a two hundreds years old property you may have to be prepared for some things that cannot be updated as sound isolation: concrete was not used in those days!
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydiaJers...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location and beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Chiado 4 is in an excellent location for exploring Lisbon and the tastefully furnished apartment was superb. It is only 5 mins away from the hustle of Biaxa/Chiado but in a very quiet street so the best of both worlds can be achieved. The only criticism is that if you are a light sleeper you may find that the noise from people going to the upstairs apartments disturbs you, however I think that is likely in any old 17th century building and I think the character of the apartment (Chaido 4 certainly) more than makes up for that. Mario the Manager could have not been more helpful at all stages of our booking and stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property.
Liked least: Noise from the wooden floors in upstairs flats but nothing that can be done about that in an old traditional property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Thank you Lydia, I am glad you had a good time. Best of both worlds is not always possible: either the character, original tiles and wood construction of a 18th Century flat or the perfect sound isolation of a 21st cement construction apartment! Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekatito
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great week at Fado Flats!. Mario arranged our transportation to and from the airport which was done though Cross Lisbon.......wonderful service. What a gem this place is! All previous reviews are on point. Location could not be better. Would stay here again even for an extended stay. The apartment has a wonderful vibe that makes you immediately feel the Lisbon culture. Loved the bottle of Fado wine awaiting us after a long flight. Thanks again for everything Mario.
Until next time,
Tom and Kim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washer and dryer, but no big deal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Tom and Kim, a true pleasure hosting you! See you soon again, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: none!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thanks Farshad, for the great review and very kind words. It was my pleasure hosting you and helping you to discover my home town. You know you are welcome back any time! Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rdlc
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nicely furnished, cozy rental in the baixa-chaido district”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After 2 weeks of staying mostly in small bnbs/pension houses, Mario's apartment felt like we were staying in a palace ! It was roomy, nicely furnished with a fully functional kitchen. We love the fridge (cold drinks finally!), there is even a small sitting area outside by the kitchen but no street view. The apartment was accurately described and represented by the photos in the listing.

Location-wise, it is a short uphill walk from the baixa-chaido stop if you exit from the chiado square. It is close to the train station, funicular station, a big mall (I forgot the name) and atm / grocery stores. My husband and I walked everywhere, we particularly liked going down the steps on Calcada do Duque because of the amazing view.

It was easy to book the property, Mario was prompt in replying to emails. He was really accomodating, I told him that we were taking the overnight bus to Lisbon and would arrive very early. He said that he can meet with us as early as 830 am but I wasn't expecting that we could get into the apartment right away. He gave us short and clear directions about the area and the apartment. He also arranged for our taxi back to the airport.

But be aware - the apartment is on a hill, but that is pretty much Lisbon for you, it is a hilly (and very picturesque) area. Some of the utensils/dishes in the cupboard were dirty but nothing that can't be easily cleaned with soap. There are no windows facing the street and you can get some noise from the upstairs apartment.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartment, and Lisbon in general. I highly recommend Fado Flats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thanks Imelda for the great and detailed review. I try to meet our guests needs (like early check in) whenever possible and helping discovering my hometown.
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;