We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just GO!”
Review of Goodmorning Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goodmorning Hostel
Ranked #6 of 481 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

what can I say? I've been to 71 countries and have stayed at one too many hostels. and goodmorning hostel pretty much tops it all. even it would put a good number of 4 or 5 star hotels to shame with amazing and awesome staff.

I stayed for 5 nights. wonderful decor that many of my friends loved (as I posted pictures via instagram). great living spaces - living room, dining room, television room and kitchen. and the sleeping quarters are adequately sized. so were the bathrooms. and everything was so clean.

the staff (including the cleaning crew as well as the owner) are beyond amazing. a very warm welcome by joao. the staff would greet me every time I entered. would take time with almost every guest as with showing the whole place. laura even took the time to write down a lengthy page detailing how to get to sintra. and which buses to take to see each sight. and even where to eat. then how to get back from sintra to lisbon via an alternative and scenic coastal route. anna would make great waffles! and breakfast time was something to look forward each morning.

since I am deaf, and manuela also happened to know portuguese sign language (which is different than american sign language). we were able to communicate with each other, and manuela took the time to teach the other staff my name sign. how cool is that? she also took the time to take me to a deaf organization, which was quite nearby.

the hostel's location is perfect. close to almost everything. within walking distance. and getting from/to the airport was a breeze via metro.

manuela, joao, laura, anna, mia, joao pedro, benedita and others that I didn't get names. THANK YOU very much for the amazing hostel experience!

and absolutely a BIG YES that I'll stay at goodmorning hostel next time I'm in lisbon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d240i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Goodmorning Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in early july and i can say that this was the best hostel experience i've had in over 5 months of backpacking through europe.
The staff are all amazing! They are never too busy to help you with anything you need. Its a really social place with a good vibe and everyone went out to bairro alto for drinks until sunrise.

The little touches like free sangria, roasted chorizo and waffles for breakfast really make the difference. Well equipped kitchen, clean rooms and bathrooms.
Great location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great interior designed hostel with really cheery helpful staff. Start your day with free waffles and end it with free sangria. Just don't end too crazy at the pub crawl or all of the previous will be uncomfortably placed in the toilet or random street.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Une staff adorable, a l'écoute. Un endroit qui respire les vacances et le bon vivre. Incontournable :)

A lovely staff, who cares about every one. A wonderful place where you really feel on holidays with friends from everywhere :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hostel shows what customer service is all about! First of all, they treat you as a buddy-friend, and they are willing to answer all your questions. They answered my questions thoroughly and gave me plenty of suggestions.

I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm for two nights and a double room for my last night. The 6-bed dorm was spacious. Each bed had its own lamp, socket and a place to put random stuff on. The beds are really sturdy too! It does not creak and squeak as much. A super plus especially because I was assigned at the top bunk. The lockers are huge (bring your own lock) and the room has enough space to accommodate the luggage even if we are all in the room.

The common bathrooms were well-maintained, spotless and never runs out of tissue paper. The bathroom had a hook where you can hang your things, although in my opinion, a couple of more hooks/hangers in the shower stall can help. There are 3 shower stalls, 5 toilets and 6 sinks. I never saw the bathroom full.

The double room was huge, and the bathroom was super huge as well. The double room is located at the top floor. So just expect to carry your luggage up there. Both the double room and the dorm did not have airconditioning, just fans. Not sure how the heat and humidity would play up during the summer months in Lisbon.

Breakfast was super duper excellent! Fresh waffles done everyday - lace it up with syrup or jam. There's bread, cornflakes, coffee, tea. Better than your average hostel. They also make it a point to chat with you during your breakfast. They also have free Sangria or sausage nights, which make the hostel perfect for chatting with fellow backpackers. A great environment to meet people for solo travelers like me.

Location is super superb. Near Rossio Square, and near the Rossio train station which is your jump off point to Sintra. Near restaurants, ATMs, and there is a convenience store nearby. Just a couple of steps away from Restaurodes station - just watch for the sign. Keep note of the address.

A warning though, the building had no lifts. I had to haul off my luggage to the third floor reception. The staff extended their help when they saw I needed a helping hand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Amazing stay at Goodmorning...the room was great - very spacious double with private ensuite and clean. The service was outstanding - enjoyed sangria night with the staff and waffles in the morning. Perfect location in the centre and fantastic experience - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is my honest review.... here we go.
Location: is great but you need to look out for the sing (parallel to the building) and then walk into a shop and ring the door bell.
Customer service: it was great and useful. First time in lisbon.
Beds: Very comfortable and spacious room in my 8 mix dorm. Huge lockers
Cleanness: extremely clean place
Bathroom: big and hot showers... the way i like it
Extras provided: Wifi was quick and 3 computers to choose from. Free... You can store your food in the fridge but my was stolen (eaten). With my name on it, it was still gone. Laundry price is good, 6 euros but they have lost my sock. Only had one returned to me... HMMM
Noisy: I found it not to be noisy as there was 24hrs customer service available and opening doors early hours of the morning
Breakout area: huge and friendly group I had
Suggestions: Count your laundry items and maybe introduce fresh fruit for breakfast... for those who eats healthy.

Room Tip: Great stay. Loved the pub crawls from outside company who organised it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 253 in Lisbon
2,768 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 481 in Lisbon
571 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 481 in Lisbon
278 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 481 in Lisbon
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodmorning Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodmorning Hostel

Address: Praca dos Restauradores 65 2nd Floor, Lisbon 1250-188, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 481 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £18 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Goodmorning Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lisbon's main avenue, Av. Da Liberdade, with all main transport at your doorstep and very close to everything, great monuments and the best nightlife.The Goodmorning building is beautiful and steeped in history. Come in through a little souvenier shop and enter our big common areas with huge windows that let the sun shine in. Wake up for a walking tour around Lisbon and come back to our comfortable sofas to relax at the end of a visiting day.We have free walking tours, free Wi-Fi everywhere, free lockers and safes, free bed linen, free common kitchen, TV/DVD room.Please note:Check in: 3.00 PmCheck out: 11.00 Amcredit cards not accepted as payment upon arrival, cash only pleaseBreakfast: included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Goodmorning Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing