We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The decor of the hotel is mid-century modern, very clean and minimalistic. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine, although I thought they might have lost our reservation. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the entrance to the hotel which had an amazing view of St George's Castle, a few churches and Museu do Carmo (located at the end of the square near the hotel). Our stay included breakfast which was delicious for a breakfast buffet. Fresh fruit, variety of pastries, and the usual eggs, ham etc. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is within walking distance to Chiado district (shopping area) and Barrio Alto (bar and nightlife area) -which we loved-. We were able to stumbled home both nights. Just be aware, Lisboa is a hilly city, our calves were aching by the end of our trip! Great location and great hotel. The only down side is that the internet was hit or miss but once we were able to get a username and password (that worked), it was ok.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor facing the entrance to the hotel! -Great view, but weak wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    246
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
148
574
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Our stay in Lisboa Carmo hotel was absolutely perfect, can't fault it. Great room, clean, stylish, everything working perfectly, great shower, bed. Breakfast great!! Lovely fresh fruit and pastries. Service superb and location perfect for us. Would go back and recommend it hope it never changes!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parisi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. A very comfortable room, great bath room, superb breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. We also had lunch and dinner and the hotel's restaurant and we can highly recommend it. Wonderful service. All guests are couples of all ages, no families when we were there and therefore nice and quiet. Great place to stay for a city trip as it is so centrally located.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a fabulous 2-day stay at the Lisboa Carmo a couple of weeks ago. My review is late because I got sick when I returned, but I have great memories of our time in Lisbon. We had the family room and it was perfect for my husband, daughter and her friend. You will have to get used to the shower and lights -- but everything worked well. Our favorite was breakfast, fresh fruits, nuts, pastries, warm items (eggs and bacon) and of course pasteis de nata -- yum, yum! We also enjoyed dinner at the restaurant one night and another nearby restaurant recommended by the front desk was also good.

My only suggestion is relates to taking a cab to the airport. We decided to use the cab service recommended by the hotel for which we paid 17 Euros beforehand. I think this might be reasonable during rush hour when the traffic is heavy, but we left at 8:00 am in the morning, and based on the cab's meter, which included a supplement for our luggage, it would have cost us less than 11 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The best location in Lisbon! The rooms are small but renovated, the beds are very comfortable. Our room 110 had problems wiht the heating system so it was very cold. The staff is not very professional and kind. The Reception is like a hall, practically doesn't exists. The breakfast is very poor and the only good thing are the fresh fruits and croissants. All the plates, glasses, bowls are very small, like in kindergarten, probably to discourage people from eating too much!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larissa8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A new tourist hotel, very clean and efficiently run. Convenient for all public transportation and within walking distance of most of the sights. The rooms are well designed and the beds large and comfortable. A good breakfast is served in congenial surroundings. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WRB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

It was my first time in Lisboa. High season... I hadn't any choice... but then I faund this hotel, but I hadn't any recommendation.. But now I know - this hotel was the best place for me in Lisboa! Next time i'll stay there. And boys in the restorante are very halpfull :-)))

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
779 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing