We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 2 children in early April 2013 and had two rooms adjoined by a small hall with its own door. One room was a little smaller than the other, perfect for my son. We LOVED this hotel. First, the location is awesome, right in the Barrio Alto across from the Convento de Carmo, it is an easy starting point for walking all the neighborhoods. The hotel has free and easy parking. Second, the staff is exceptionally friendly - carrying our bags from our car parked on the far corner without a second thought. They were always smiling and speak English well. Third, the rooms were spacious, delightful and calming with really comfortable beds like clouds. The rooms are modern and spotless. There is minimal street noise. Fourth, the large European buffet breakfast was delicious in super comfortable seating. I coveted their cork placemats. The only, extremely minor, problem was the shower in the bigger room (411), which was a hand-held shower to mount on the wall stand, was so powerful that when you try to put it on the stand it goes crazy and shoots horizontally and upward. But if you hold it it's fine. In contrast, the shower in the smaller room (410) was great (this from a hot shower enthusiast) with a huge rain-like shower head on the ceiling as well as a more powerful hand-held. If I go to Lisbon again, I will only stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We spend eastern holidays here, employees managed many people perfectly.
Location easy to reach and really strategic, from there you can visit everything only by feet and transportations.
From 4th floor seaside there is a really beautiful landscape.
In front of the hotel you find a nice square and a magnificent church to visit.
Breakfast really good and with many choices.
Room always cleaned perfectly.
Minibar was refilled with water only the first two days..but we don't mind because you can drink tap water.

So clean, nice and really polite employees

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I booked the hotel directly from their website and got fast personal confirmation. We arrived early yet were able to get immediately our room. The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help. Our room was one of the best in the hotel in the 5th floor. We had fantastic views from our two windows; to the river and to the Castelo. Everything in the hotel was new and clean, and having some nice unique "touch" and personality not like the bigger chain hotels. I love the Bairro Alto neighborhood so this was in the middle of this lively area of restaurants and wine-bars. IMO this hotel is real value for money. Thanks for the hotel for the great service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had the luck of staying at the best room of the hotel with a great view. great room, fancy design, very confortable, with two windows to Lisbon, you can seat at one of them looking at Tagus river, reading and getting some sun. Nice people, great service, being great hosts as Portuguese people tradiyional are. We had a very good breakfast hearing Fado, just before going out to Chiado area drinking a coffee at Brasileira and visiting the churches and Carmo Museum. Totally recommended!!

1  Thank halpt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is the place to be in Lisboa! It is located in bairro alto, next to the convento do carmo (a visit of this sight is a must) and near to rossio. If you visit Lisboa for the first time it might be difficult to find the hotel. Actually it is very easy. 1) by taxi: Just tell the taxi driver at the airport to drive to convento do carmo - it will cost you about 7 euros. At convento do carmo you'll find the hotel immediately. Another option to reach the hotel is by taking the aerobus (about 3 euros) to rossio and then walk (about 10 min.) you must be aware though that you will have to walk upwards! to come back to the hotel: accomodation is great, the rooms are very modern and quite large. probably the best thing is the "rain-shower". Another great thing: breakfast! You have a wide variety of food (very important: fresh fruits and lisboan specialities!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamiloVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The decor of the hotel is mid-century modern, very clean and minimalistic. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine, although I thought they might have lost our reservation. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the entrance to the hotel which had an amazing view of St George's Castle, a few churches and Museu do Carmo (located at the end of the square near the hotel). Our stay included breakfast which was delicious for a breakfast buffet. Fresh fruit, variety of pastries, and the usual eggs, ham etc. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is within walking distance to Chiado district (shopping area) and Barrio Alto (bar and nightlife area) -which we loved-. We were able to stumbled home both nights. Just be aware, Lisboa is a hilly city, our calves were aching by the end of our trip! Great location and great hotel. The only down side is that the internet was hit or miss but once we were able to get a username and password (that worked), it was ok.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor facing the entrance to the hotel! -Great view, but weak wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Our stay in Lisboa Carmo hotel was absolutely perfect, can't fault it. Great room, clean, stylish, everything working perfectly, great shower, bed. Breakfast great!! Lovely fresh fruit and pastries. Service superb and location perfect for us. Would go back and recommend it hope it never changes!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parisi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
1,550 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#52 of 255 in Lisbon
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#57 of 255 in Lisbon
1,628 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £85 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing