We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and quiet hotel! Perfect location!”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and quiet hotel! Perfect location!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A nice hotel with perfect location. We liked our room. Comfortable beds. The rooms had flatscreen TV, wireless internet and minibar with 2 free bottles of water each day. The bathroom had an excellent shower, hairdryer and a scale. Breakfast was superb with fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juice and fresh bread etc. The hotel also had a restaurant, we didn´t eat there but we had drinks every evening. We were satisfied with everything we ordered, but service was a bit slow though. Next to the hotel was a nice square and the hotel had outdoor service there as well.
I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    247
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
151
580
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A Hotel with perfect location in Lisbon. Very nice breakfast, we stayed on the first floor and the room was also nice. The only thing to complain about is the lack of speed in the bar. It took quite a while to get what you ordered, if you got it... The hotel offered a pickup at the Airport, it cost 45 Euro for 8 people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

To start with the best: The Location. In the middle of Lisbon where you have all the restaurants, bars and sights really close by. Just drop off the front door and you have plenty of them already on picturesque Largo do Carmo. The metro is some 200 meters away and the tram is about the same. The rooms are spacious and and furnished in a modern contemporary style - very chic. If you search for something to complain about - the lights. Although plenty of them available you can not overcome the dimmed atmosphere even by switching on all of them at once. Though perfect for honeymooners or couples.
Back to the many positive aspects: The breakfast is just lovely, many different things to choose from, e.g. excellent fresh fruits, great pastry and even dark rolls - something hard to find elsewhere in Lisbon. The staff is friendly and you are welcomed with a delicious drink at the bar. I have been in many Hotels in and around Lisbon and this was the most pleasant experience so far. Would I return: For sure!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilike2travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I found the hotel on Trip Advisor and made a reservation based on reviews and location. We came on an early flight from Madrid arriving at the hotel before 11AM. Check in is at 2. They graciously stored our bags and when we returned at 2 they were already in our room. Breakfast was wondeful and the front desk could not have been more helpful. NuNo Lapa at the desk went above and beyond. The hotel has a nice bar where we had a glass of wine as well.

Our ship was not boarding until 3 and naturally check-out was earlier. We packed our bags and left them in the room and went out for the day -- we retuenred at 2 and the bags were stored and ready to pick up. The hotel is well located. As a matter of fact around the corner is an excellent seafood restaurant called Aqui Ha Peixe. Chef was fabulous and his wife made us more than welcome.

I would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located in the midst of everything. It is on a hill, not very steep, and we had wonderful views from our room towards hte Tejo river and the Castelo de São Jorge. The room was charming with all the comforts one could expect and some unexpected, like sleepers and bathrobes. The large rainshower directly into the room, with a glass door (and a curtain to be drawn in case of privacy) was a great charm. The front desk personnel were just great and very helpful. We had a problem with Booking.com, before our arrival, they canceled the hotel due to a problem with my credit card, but I've called the hotel directly from Paris and spoke with Sara who solved all our difficulties. There were two things that didn't work properly: one was the wifi which was out most of the time, and the other one was the bed, that although confortable was too soft for our taste, but this is a minor flaw. Breakfast, which was included was delicious and full of different choices, and I cannot forget to mention the delicious "Pastéis de nata"... A Great stay in a lovely city!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catasalaverry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Rooms are small but very well planned and designed. Great location for the site seeing and restaurants. Not far from ''party''' district. Breakfast was OK, Capuchino for additional 1EUR fee.
Things to be improved - quality of the WI-Fi (connection was lost on regular bases) and slow check-in/ check-out process at the reception.
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pierre et Miquelon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel and the staff are fabulous. It was worth every minute I spent in search of a good hotel in Lisboa. The location is great and the rooms are so nice. Modern minimalist style, high ceilings, with white, grey colors. The bed was big and comfortable. We had bath robes and slippers waiting for us.The staff was very polite and always willing to help us. Nuno at the front desk arranged all the excursions for us.The Maria do Carmo restaurant was nice with a staff that went out of their way to make the experience enjoyable. Rita and Tania were great. Tania let us discover a local cherry liquor called Ginja d'Alcobaça, much better than the one from Obidos.The breakfast was memorable, with fruit, pasteis de nata, viennoiseries,bread, ham, chourizo, cheese, yogurt and much more. It was an unforgettable stay. I'd love to go
back there and would recommend it to anyone in search of a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aptsppb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#31 of 251 in Lisbon
793 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing