We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Lisbon Hotel”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Lisbon Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Terrific, central location. Simple to walk everywhere we wanted to go and accessible by the metro. Easy and good breakfast at the restaurant. Stylish, comfortable, quiet rooms (stayed in a single room-406, and a double room with city view-310). Appreciated the complimentary water, toiletries, bathrobe and slippers. Beds were luxurious. Desks were well suited for work (wifi included). Rooms were well lit. Staff was gracious and accommodating (stored our bags, called a taxi at 5am). Only quirk was the design of the showers which got water all over the bathroom unless we were very careful.

Room Tip: Loved both rooms - 406 was a single and small but enough for a couple; 310 was a large suite with pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    246
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
148
574
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. Very close to many dining options, close to the Rossio railway station, close to the elevator viewing tower and close to the city centre.

Breakfast was very nice. As there were many dining options nearby, we didn't have any other meals at the hotel. The service at the hotel was friendly, relaxed and extremely helpful. Our room was of a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room design is generally stylish and minimalist. Safe and wifi (for two devices) was free.

We would more than happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We noticed some rooms were very close to and almost facing the elevator. Room 307 was like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a larger group, occupying four rooms in total, and we all loved this hotel. Sure, the stylish designer rooms have a few poorly functional quirks, like a shower and sink directly adjacent to the bed, but the rooms are beautiful, surprisingly spacious for a European big city, well-appointed -- and the beds are truly amazing, luxurious and fluffy without being too soft. The breakfast is excellent, a buffet with good quality items. And the staff, especially Sara in reception, is highly attentive, service-minded and above all very friendly. With five floors of 5-10 rooms, the Lisboa Carmo is not a small boutique hotel but it still manages to feel personal. And best of all is probably the location in Chiado, on the corner of a nice square with good restaurants, and easy walking distance to Baixa and Bairro Alto. Lisbon in style.

Room Tip: Fifth floor has high ceilings and good views of Lisbon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Good location but required a bit of up and down hill walking. There was a lot of graffiti on the building opposite and in Lisbon generally. Nice hotel with good decor throughout. Safe, wifi and ac worked well. Handy fridge but no tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was good but would have liked additional hot food choice. Massive comfortable king size bed. Flat screen TV was fine but was a bit low at the end of the bed and could be walked into. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Spacious bathroom but no shelves to put your toiletries. The lighting and shower were good but a bit over complicated but you get used to it. Everything was top standard apart from a couple of points that would not stop me using this hotel again. All the doors clashed entrance, wardrobe, bathroom and shower – poor design but I cannot see what could be done about it. There were no tissues. The window was double glazed but noise from the street seemed to penetrate the sides of the frame especially Friday and Saturday night. There was no pool but we already knew that.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors or at the back as they may not get so much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanJames66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and two kids in room 310 and 311. Our rooms were well decorated and kept clean during our stay. Hotel staff was very polite and helpful all the time. The breakfast was well balanced, suitable for kids and adults. We saw just one other family that had kids. The majority of hotel guests were seniors which didn't bother us. The location of the hotel is a plus since it is in walking distance to major monuments, sights and transport lines. It's definitely a recommendable hotel and we were very pleased during our 3 night stay.

Helpful?
Thank Maxis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is very conveniently located in a lovely part of Lisbon. The room (305) was a bit small but smart. Great bathroom with a rain shower. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Slightly pricey for Lisbon (140euros a night for two people).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Made the choice through booking.com and was not disappointed. Our first visit to Lisbon so wanted somewhere convenient. As soon as we arrived could tell that we would have a great time. Super welcome - welcome drinks in the square near Carmo church ( beautiful, well worth a visit) and how amazing to see its outline against the evening sky from our room. Speaking of which - 4th floor, fab bed and linen - excellent shower room - wonderful views.
Had a meal in restaurant on first evening. Good food and atmosphere. Breakfast excellent.
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Sara was brilliant. Professional, pleasant and an excellent English speaker.
All in all a classy and chic experience. Hope we can visit again.

Room Tip: We had great views - 4th floor - 3 windows, 2 overlooking church/ square,1 overlooking castle/ river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
779 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing